Oh the Places You’ll Go

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

With the arrival of the New Year, lots of people make resolutions.


Not me!

I start mapping out my travel wish list!

image

Source

There is a whole huge world to see, and I don’t feel settled until I have loosely mapped the year’s travel plan. I say loosely because I am an opportunistic traveler. Without children I don’t have to plan my travel around school breaks, and I am fortunate to have a very flexible work place when it comes to taking time off. (I just tell my boss when I will be gone!) This makes jumping on unexpected travel opportunities a little easier.
When the new year rolls around, I grab a blank calendar and begin considering my options. First, I make a mental list of places to visit. Next, I find out what day important dates land. (For example a birthday on Friday could mean a celebratory long weekend trip.) Next I add locked in trips to the calendar. These are vacations tied to specific events like a concert or a family obligation. Once these are locked in, I think about how much time needs to fall between vacations to determine what months look best to book other trips.

Here is a rough plan for 2019

image

Source

February/March:

image
Thinking a three day weekend escape. Leaning towards Oregon. We’ve been north to Canada every few months the past couple of years. It’s been almost five years of no love for our southern neighbors. It feels time to change this.

April:

image
This is locked in! Heading to SoCal for Disney and a two day beach music festival! Every year we go to California at least once. It is 100% my happy place and I am super excited this trip is confirmed. ☺️

July:

image

Source

I have never been to the Midwest! Hoping to change that in 2019 with a possible birthday trip to Chicago. Not sure if this trip will happen, but thinking 5 nights seems reasonable. What do you think Midwest people? Does 5 swealtering summer nights in the Windy City sound like a good plan for a first timer?

September:

image

Source

I haven’t been back to Arizona in years. It is a state that really deserves a longish visit. Between the desert, Grand Canyon, Native American culture and old west history there is SO MUCH to see! If I accept just getting in a little taste, going to Sedona in 2019 seems like fun.

November:

image
Australia via Hawaii. My mother in-law turns 70 this year. She lives in Australia, so going back for the celebration is pretty much confirmed. However, instead of flying straight there we are toying with the idea of a Hawaii stopover. This seems like a brilliant way to break up the LONG trans pacific flight. I am already watching airfares in the hopes of nabbing a good deal.

These plans are fluid and will certainly change over time. However, setting travel goals always gives me something fun to anticipate each new year. ☺️

Have you planned fun adventures for your 2019? I’d love to hear about them in the comments!


All photos taken by @dfinney unless otherwise sourced.

Proud Member of:

steemsugars, steemusa, teamaustralia and steemsilvergold

965A0014-7ACC-4A7F-B5E5-558BC6093A28.jpeg
3EE1A351-4C12-411D-8BF9-DCB40D9F139A.jpeg
8EC69332-A7E3-43B9-8C3A-05BA4DFD985E.png
50B34327-D46E-45F2-8136-B88B2221BB02.png
2C0B49F8-DA33-4B07-A8DD-8983CC952CFB.png

Sort:  

tumblr_o1l9oxxDXY1u8jy4io2_400.gif
You just received a 100% upvote from @rewards-pool. Thank You for being apart of the @rewards-pool community

Woo hoo! Upvotr yourself hard @rewards-pool! 😘

Oh, this is a great list! I do much the same!!

I already have had my first mini trip at the beginning of the year, but, the first week in February, I am headed off to South America and a hop over to Bonaire to do some diving. It has some of the best coral reefs in the Caribbean.

I am jealous of your trip to Australia! If time were permitted, I would be tempted to take a cruise ship over and fly back. Oh, the sea life is so tempting! :))

Although having Hawaii in the mix is tres excellent. I haven't finished my list of places, but, I will add to the list as opportunities arise. 2o2o is the year I hope to take a sabatical from working and take month long trips to different places.

Hey! A girl can dream!

This was a wonderful read! Thank you!

!tip

Your trips sound wonderful! I have never done a cruise but think it would be excellent. Sometimes I watch that crazy show Below Deck Mediterranean and wish to me 23 again so I could work on a charter yacht!

A sabbatical sounds amazing! I hope it works out . So many spots can only be really appreciated with a long visit!

Oh, yes!!! I would love to work on a charter! But, when I see shows like that, I know they work so haaaard!!!

The last trip you show I love most. So this is how you get through the cube live this year!

This is how I get through cube life every year! 😂🤣

I was hoping to see Spain on that list.

Oh man. ME TOO! 😂🤣😂 I went to Barcelona once 20 years ago... way too long ago.

Italy was on the list (though still not Spain) but it got displaced by mother in-law birthday.

My mind is already scheming to get it in 2020. 😉

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Thank you @travelfeed and @for91days!
Besos! 😘

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dfinney from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

🎁 Hi @dfinney! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Prose With A Side Of Sepia Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78