Take a Jog With Me Through the World Renowned CalTech Campus ๐ŸŽ“

in #travel โ€ข 6 years ago

Both the real Albert Einstein and the fictional Big Bang Theory television show characters have enjoyed their time at CalTech.

20180414_133736.jpg

Caltech (California Institute of Technology) operates the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory. The university's departments include Physics, Astronomy, Applied Physics, Engineering, Geology, Chemistry, Biology, Entomology, Neurology, Pharmacology, and Humanities.

20180414_134312.jpg

Besides all that, it's a beautiful campus and a lovely place to take a jog for locals, like myself.

20180414_134028.jpg

This photo is for @enjar, who said he'd be interested in seeing what I call "the birthday cake building" in my last post about the CalTech turtles. What do you think? Does it look like a birthday cake? ๐Ÿ˜‰

20180414_134002.jpg

Here we have a guy doing some sort of exercise with a type of sword (maybe?) with a red tassel on the end. I don't understand it, but it's certainly a lovely, sunny, breezy day to slay some imaginary dragons!

20180414_133909.jpg

There are olive trees all around and they provide shade for a pleasant lunch in spots like this one.

20180414_134143.jpg

Who says you have to study all the time?! Looks like one of the students took some time out to do a little doodling ๐Ÿ˜„

20180414_134711.jpg

20180414_135710.jpg

20180414_134819.jpg

So much great architecture!

20180414_135827.jpg

Great architecture... And palm trees! ๐ŸŒด๐Ÿ™Œ

20180414_135755.jpg

With mountains in the background!! ๐Ÿ˜ฎโค

20180414_140723.jpg

But what did you expect? After all, we are on California Blvd in Southern California! ๐Ÿ˜‰

20180414_135648.jpg

They have it all. Obviously, even their own cannon. I feel safer already. ๐Ÿ˜‚

20180414_135038.jpg

Yes, everything folks. Even a pay phone! I haven't seen one of these in years! Have you? ๐Ÿ˜ฒ

20180414_135142.jpg

But it looks like even when you are surrounded by mountains, palm trees, beautiful architecture... real life is still not perfect. But good news folks! The student bulletin board is offering help. Just a thought, maybe you would sleep better if you stop procrastinating?! ๐Ÿ˜

20180414_135424.jpg

Stressed out CalTech students take note: These resident turtles don't look like they have a hard time sleeping. Look at this little guy with his legs in the air! ๐Ÿ˜ณ

20180414_135401.jpg

Maybe it's time we all take a pit stop and recharge here by the turtle pond and learn a few lessons from nature.

Thanks for joining me on my jog around CalTech today!

steemusafooter.png

Sort: ย 

I can see what you here saying. It does look like some kind of fancy cake. Someone spent a lot of time over designing that building lol.

As far as the student places like that could have a sword fencing class. Places like that usual do have activities you just donโ€™t find at other kinds of colleges.

I wonder how many people who decide to procrastinate end up going to that workshop on procrastination! Why itโ€™s the perfect cover story. I would have stress over not being able to complete my work.

Lol, yes, I too wonder how many procrastinators never get out the door to the workshop...or are late ;)

I used to work at my Alma Mater and I love, love, love being on campus. Your photos are great. I was planning on writing about USF (pronounced U-sif by the sillies...lol) and UF as well. College campuses always make me feel this intense sense of reverance for education.

Cool! I've never been to USF, but would love to one day โ˜บ College campuses are always fun places ๐ŸŽˆ

I'm heading up to the UF area today. Posts to follow. Maybe one day I will make it on a college campus tour. There really is a special vibe on campuses.

Enjoy! Yes, I agree about the vibe. I guess we all would like to go back to that period of youth & discovery every once in a while.

great pics - thanks for sharing!

loved this line, haha:
"I don't understand it, but it's certainly a lovely, sunny, breezy day to slay some imaginary dragons!"

Thanks @cryptobols :)

Wow, how cool!
What a beautiful campus! I dont think I would want to be in class, I would be hanging outside all the time. ;)
That turtle doing yoga is hilarious! That sure is a lot of turtles in one pond! I wonder if they feed them... They must if there are THAT many!
:D

Haha! Turtle Yoga ;) Yea, I don't know what they eat, but they sure must have a lot of fun in that pond, because they sure do multiply :)

Thanks for taking us along thatโ€™s a pretty impressive liking campus

You have taken me all around Milford, time to return the favor with bringing you Pasadena @tattodjay :)

Woow.. It is amazing.. it's great to be able to go to school there .. of course with very complete facilities will lead us to more intelligence, look more calm atmosphere there to learn and play. i like it ..

Thanks aamsteem :)

Great tour, the turtles may have been the best Architecture of all but a lovely Campus...
b.a.

Haha! Yes, those turtles! ;)

Wonderful experience it was so walk with you so cool pics you shared this is great to see :)

They have a gorgeous campus!

Yes they do @debralee! I guess if you have to do that much homework, you might as well do it in a pretty place. :)

Lots of Postmates deliveries for me to that neck of the woods. I really enjoy the campus. Very peaceful.

Great to meet a fellow local SoCal Steemian! Following you @zingali :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52