🐢 Talking With the CalTech Turtles 🐢

in #animals6 years ago

20180406_103952.jpg

The California Institute of Technology is a beautiful place filled with beautiful minds! The school is world-renowned and dedicated to advancing science and engineering. Let's just say, simply put, the folks here are smart. Really smart.

I'm not one of the smart folks who attend the school as a student. However, I'm smart enough to recognize a good thing when I see it. So, occasionally, I will get some exercise by cutting across the campus while on a jog and enjoy the gorgeous scenery and architecture of the campus.

I'm not the only one who has figured out the beauty of the campus. Even turtles know a great thing! CalTech has a pretty pond with a small waterfall where turtles congregate, swim, sun themselves and hold conferences 😉

Last time I visited, I counted over 50 turtles! And that was just the ones I could see! It was pleasant and relaxing to sit on a rock and visit with them for a while. So here is a friendly hello from the Caltech turtles! 🐢😄

20180406_103947.jpg

Sort:  

How fun to have a turtle pond to visit! Great photos!

Thanks Melinda 😊

CalTech use to be one of my dream schools! So many beautiful minds are there. Great to see they create a wonderful exterior for people to enjoy as well.

Yes, it is a beautiful campus @enjar. Next time I'll have to take some pics of thr architecture. One building looks like a big birthday cake 😊

A birthday cake!!! I had no idea. Yes if you happen to get some photos I would love to see some!

Will do! Well, it looks like a bday cake to me. Not sure if all would agree, it doesnt have candles sticking out of the roof or anything 😉

Excellent pictures you shared amazing experience that was so cool :)

I find it amazing that the turtles like to hang out on campus. That is neat, thanks for sharing it! :)

🐢guess they are turtles of the "smarty pants" variety 😉

Many university campuses are truly beautiful environments. One of my favorites is UC Santa Cruz. I'm curious how there came to be so many turtles as Cal Tech.

I havent seen that campus yet. I will keep it in mind in my travels. Yes, Ive wondered the same thing about the turtles. I imagine some college student buying 2 baby turtles in Downtown LA for $5 and then letting them free & then the population growing for generations. Maybe thats all wrong, so I will try to ask around & find out the real story. 😏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51