Travel Blog: Lazar's Gorge - Unknown Gems Of Serbia

in #travel7 years ago

My Travel Blog Series: Lazar's Gorge, Eastern Serbia


Canyon of Lazar’s river, more known as Lazar’s Gorge (srp: Lazarev Kanjon) is located near town Bor in Eastern Serbia. It is deepest and longest canyon in that part of Serbia. Because their sides are very steep and rocky, it is still unexplored in some areas.

IMG_0804.JPG

Who was Lazar and why there are so much places in Serbia named by his name and name of his family. In short, he was one of most known, most powerful and most successful rulers of Serbia. He created one of largest medieval state – Serbian Empire. Upon his rule, Serbia was rich, powerful and respected. It all came to the end in Battle of Kosovo in 1389 and Lazar's tragic death. After that battle, Serbia will wait for more than 500 years to become independent again.

IMG_0726.JPG

IMG_6105-Pano.JPG

Lazar’s Gorge is known as home for many caves, pits and coves. It's rocky terrain is astonishing view of untouched nature. Thanks to relatively small altitude above sea level, foliage is rich and beautiful.

IMG_0790-Pano.JPG

Due to its rocky sides and limestone walls, it is not advisable to visit lower parts of canyon during winter. During summer, you may encounter snakes, one of two poisonous species which lives on territory of Serbia. That is probably why I never hiked bottom part of Lazar’s Gorge… I have irrational, unreal fear of snakes. Probably too many horror movies at my younger days.

IMG_0724.JPG

Those facts never stopped me from walking his sides and exploring paths and tracks along canyon. Because… it is a beautiful place. Moreover, as you climb higher, view from sides of canyon is utterly pretty and overwhelming. For me is more inspiring to be on top of the canyon than being restricted by stones and rocks around it's bottom. At least, this is official story you will hear from me ;)

IMG_0786.JPG

Most of the paths for exploring Lazar’s Gorge starting from parking in front of Zlot Cave also known as Lazar’s Cave – another amazing place which I will cover in second part of this blog entry.

IMG_0778.JPG

Excellent path lead up to the canyon into his rocky sides filled with bushes and trees. This is a good place to fill your water supplies. You will not find water or any refreshment on the trail. Path is moderate hard, some 9 km long, with medium steep parts. Most of trail is easy, very well secured and properly marked. There is no real danger of getting lost or getting hurt.

IMG_0801.JPG

As always on hiking path, proper hiking boots and clothes is must. Even though on all trails today you can see people wearing ordinary shoes or even flip flops, this is not very advisable here. Maintenance of trails in this area is voluntary job of local mountaineering club. They do great job, but they are mountaineers and occasional climb or decent on rocky terrain they may find quite acceptable. To be honest, I never find part of this trail that can be challenge; it was always easy walk and enjoyment in astonishing view.

IMG_0797.JPG

At few places along path you will find viewpoint with amazing overview on Lazar’s Gorge. Use that places to rest, refresh and enjoy in spectacular view at rocky canyon.

IMG_0809.JPG

IMG_0784-Pano.JPG

And when you return to starting point, you may refresh yourself in small restaurant near entrance to the cave. It is a nice place and, even though it is not designated for camping, they will allow you to rise a tent and rest for a night. Keep in mind that this place is one of favourite picnic area, so you may have company of happy locals, singing and offering you large amounts of beer while they asking many questions about your trip. Don’t worry, contrary of some mass media news, Serbians are very friendly, helpful and in general, very excited to hear story of your life.

IMG_6101.JPG

Just one last remark. As I never been in Lazar’s Gorge bottom, I cannot share experiences from there. But I did spook with many people who walk those paths and most of them consider that hike to be hard and challenging, opposite of trail on canyon side. However, their pictures from bottom of Lazar's Gorge ensured me that this area is equally beautiful and worth visiting. Maybe next year I found enough strength and finally visit canyon itself. If I do that, you will be first to know, promise ;)

IMG_6113.JPG

Hope you enjoyed our little walk through one of largest canyons in Serbia. If you are traveling across Serbia, this is one of places you must visit. As bonus, one of largest and, by my opinion, most beautiful caves in Serbia is at that exact point. Stay tuned for story about Lazar’s Cave.
Until then, best regards from your fellow stemian traveler.

U5dtkxR5jWuo6F4m19MqyPyx9i8HjVp_1680x8400.png


All photos in this blog entry are taken with Canon PowerShot SX50 HS. If you are interested in photo info, just request info in comment and I'll provide exact parameters and post processing techniques for each photo.


!steemitworldmap 44.029424 lat 21.962359 long Lazar's Gorge! D3SCR

Sort:  

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 97.0% @foovler upgoat, thanks to @dejan.vuckovic
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=dejan.vuckovic
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-blog-lazar-s-gorge-unknown-gems-of-serbia


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Thanks for posting these lovely pics of Serbia!
Hope to see more from you. :)

Thank you very much. Soon I continue this story, stay tuned :)

You're most welcome!
And yeah, sure. :)

Good post with excellent photos @dejan.vuckovic

Do you not find it cumbersome to carry around a big heavy camera while hiking? A good camera phone could do the job don't you think?

Thank you my friend!
For most travels I was carrying compact camera - one of Canon PowerShot series. I was using that series from it's beginning with S2 model. In last year, I upgraded to Sony A6000 and after some experimenting, only lens I have on long walks is Sigma 19mm. That combo is around 0.5 kg (1.1 lb). Combined with Gorilla Tripod and few spare batteries - my gear is still well under 1 kg. Quite acceptable imho.
My full gear (few lenses, full sized tripod, lights, batteries, covers, remote shutters etc, is no more than 3-4 kg which is quite acceptable for bike rides, even long ones.
On other side, I used some very good phones including those who was advertised as killers of DSLR's (iPhone, Lumia etc) and results was not even near to those with good compact camera. My opinion is that one day phone will be capable to replace medium class camera, but it will never replace top class DSLR or MILC cameras.

This is a really informative post. I like it a lot. I'm giving you a shout-out in today's #traveldigest.

Thank you so much @choogirl, that's great news :)

Very nice @dejan.vuckovic, keep coming with that beauties! :)

Odlične fotografije @dejan.vuckovic, samo nastavi ovako! :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Time for a new - > Breaking News!

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

This post has received a 2.59 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @dejan.vuckovic.

I do not know how this story has missed me :) Beautiful nature and fantastic view!

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50