Seven Rila Lakes - Part two - Water World [My Travel Blog]

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Seven Rila Lakes - Part two - Water World [My Travel Blog]

We continue our little adventure across National Park - Seven Lakes of Rila. Finally we reached lakes and our travel will about to become more visual and even more beautiful.


Click on image for full size

[In first part of our little adventure in Rila National Park, you could read about the events that preceded our visit to Bulgaria.
You may witness our climb from 1500 to 2300 meters and how we experience that part of our journey.
It was beautiful, it was relaxing, it was fulfilling. But even more beautiful part of our journey were about to happen.

If you missed First Part - Getting some altitude, you can find it here.
]



We walked just few hundred meters from our position, and around some hills we found first lake. It was in front of us, calm, beautiful and mysterious. It was sparkling, but I had impression that it is not because of beautiful sunny day. It was like strange glow from inside. All glacier lakes are the same and there is no two who look alike. They are differently same as twins are the same but different. Each one of them has his own soul and taste.


Click on image for full size
Seven Rila lakes are complete proof of that that every lake is world for itself. Seven lakes located in very small area, all created from same snows and ice from same surrounding mountains. Each one clear as only mountain lake can be, but again, each one different and unique, with his own feeling and story.


Click on image for full size
Names of Rila Lakes does not came from legends or old stories. They are simple, they describe most distinctive feature of that lake. I cannot say that that diminish them, quite opposite. They are so beautiful and mystical for themselves, that they do not need mystical names and legends.


Click on image for full size
Salzata (The Tear) is highest of all lakes, located at 2535 meters altitude. It is also smallest of all of them. Name came from crystal clear water. When you look at this lake, without any problem you can see all the way to the bottom, it is that clear and stunningly beautiful.

Click on image for full size

Okoto (The Eye) is named by his shape similar to an eye. Located at 2440 meters, it is deepest cirque lake in Bulgaria with amazing depth of almost 40 meters.

Click on image for full size

Babreka (The Kidney) named by his shape have steepest shores of all lakes. It is not so hard to approach his water from one side, but other will stay unreachable for most visitors.

Click on image for full size

Bliznaka (The Twin) is the largest lake and one of lowest at only 2200 meters. Named by its feature which may full you to think that these are two lakes connected with wide river, it is amazing view and most photographed lake in this blog. His shores are tame and full of green - a perfect place for rest and some easy time. Even though this lake is quite low, only way to reach it is to walk all around National Park, so many people decide just to see it from distance. That's why this lake is perfect if you want to have some quiet time and if you need some alone time with yourself.

Click on image for full size

Trilistnika (The Trefoil) named by it's irregular shape is next to The Twin lake and except irregular shape, his trademark are low shores. Located pretty low, it is most likely be one of lakes you will see at the end of your journey.


Click on image for full size
Two last lakes are Ribnoto and Dolnoto (The Fish Lake and the Lower lake). They are located lowest of all lakes at only 2100 meters. Fish lake is also shallowest of all seven lakes with only 2.5 meter depth. Near them is also last mountain hut where you can refresh before you go back to starting point of your journey. Refresh well, since you will have to climb again before final descent. But do not worry, it is only hundred meters climb, and hardest about him is that it will came at the end of one full day.


Click on image for full size
If you manage to push that oval rock into the lake - let us know - we tried but it was stuck somewhere :)


Click on image for full size
So each lake is a little world for itself. They are amazingly beautiful, and to be absolutely honest, I did not expect such beauty. I did not expect that Rila National Park is so calm and peaceful and fulfilling. I did not expect amazing hospitality in each mountain hut we visited. I did not expected that whole area is clean and untouched to the last rock. I must admit - Bulgaria and Seven Lakes of Rila deserve score of pure 10, without any hesitation.


Click on image for full size
What I can tell you about Seven Rila Lakes? Go there! Go and enjoy amazing nature and one of most surprising area I ever visited. Viewpoints from where you can see almost all of seven lakes are something you will remember forever. Rila lakes are another pearl of nature you must see to believe that it exists.


Click on image for full size
At the very end, our cyclist friend took climb very well. As I told you - he is damn strong man, and he took that climb and walk with stamina and a lot of dedication. At some points, he was volunteer to carry extra weight we had. He passed our first test and went one step closer to his wish to climb Mont Blanc, highest peak in Alps.


Click on image for full size
But... for next day, we had some surprise for him... It would be such a pity to get so close to highest peak of Balkan peninsula and not to climb it.

So, stay tuned; in next blog entry we will climb one divine mountain: Musala.


Click on image for full size


All photos taken with Canon PowerShot SX50 HS, and post-processed in Adobe Lightroom CC
All photos are clickable - click on them to see them in full resolution
This blog entry is part of my Travel Blog series. All my posts are !originalworks
I have many more travel stories in my bag, so stay tuned.

To see all mine travel entries, click here to visit my @SteemitWorldMap author link.




Sort:  

Oh my gosh! Wow those pictures are absolutely stunning. I want to be there and just walk around and take in the beauty of it all. Thank you for taking me to a place I have never been and sharing such beauty

Oh, I am so glad that you enjoyed, it is best compliment I can have. That mountain is amazing, I will visit it again one day :)

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Thank you very much, that's great news :)

Yeyyy! That is my country and my mountains! You captured them very well, the only thing you missed is the view with all seven of them from the hill! I you are planning to visit Bulgaria again, I would love to give you some tips :) if you need them of course :) btw I was checking the traveldigest and seen your picture, and recognized immediately the lake :) had to check who wrote about it! You did it very well. Congrats and thank you for promoting my country :))

Beautiful country you have, we had some fabulous time there and one day we will go again for sure. What impresses me most is how welcomed we were everywhere and how friendly all people are. For sure I'll check some more destination with you next time :)
PS. It is not over yet, we spent one more day in near vicinity ad sow much more ;)

Nice! Looking forward to more pictures :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 28 January 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

How beautiful!! The pushing the rock photo made me laugh!!

Hehe... yes, the rock was so tempting :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=dejan.vuckovic
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=seven-rila-lakes-part-two-water-world-my-travel-blog


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow! Just wow. These are all so beautiful! I would've tried to swim in at least one of these lakes (I have a thing for wild water). Thanks for sharing. :)

Thank you @katrina-ariel and about that swimming... they are cold, really cold, freezing cold :))

Water is looking so clean and clear. The last photo is breathtaking, was that taken in Musala ?

No, this is Rila Mountains. Musala - peak of Balkan mountains. is very near. I point that this is Musala in Balkan, as I am aware of meaning of its name and that there is dozen places with same name across the world :)

The first photo looks like the lake looking down from Snowdonia, the highest mountain in Wales, UK

Stunning photos!

Oh, UK is for long time on my list, I hope that I will see that area one day :)

Gosh, this looks like a lot of fun and your images are of pristine quality. I would absolutely love to go hiking with you some day

Thank you, and You are welcome to join us mate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41