Exploring forest with my newest gadget - Garmin Fenix 5

in #travel7 years ago

Last year was financially very good. My beginner's luck in crypto investment boosted my income, which was already higher thanks to bonuses for some heavy work in my company. So for New Year, I decided I earn some new gadget for my collection. It took me a month to decide from list of nice things I would like to have but definitely can live without them (my definition of gadget) :)

DSC09004.jpg

Finally, a few days ago I found a big sale of newest Garmin Fenix 5 watches and decided that I really, really, really want one. So, yesterday, another one Garmin becomes my possession. I had to test it immediately. And what test is proper for an outdoor watch than take him into the real world.

DSC08229.jpg

Near my home, is a small forest area. Some nice walking, hiking, cycling and even horse riding trails are there. You can bet that at every time of the year you will find a lot of people just walking, running and cycling around that area. So I went there for a short walk and to test what Fenix 5 is at the first sight.

DSC08231.jpg

The first impression: oh boy that watch is huge. Like - really big. I didn't try it before on-line order. I just check the size and compare it with the sizes of watches I already have. As my usual watches are a couple of robust big pieces from G-Shock series, this one was, by specifications, even smaller. But, it does not look smaller :) It's not too big for my hand, but we are on the edge here.

DSC08240.jpg

So, I started 'Hike' program on watch and went into a little walk around the forest. As you can see, there are two types of paths there. There are trails through forest, and a couple paved paths around the area. As winter here in Serbia is very mild, all paths are more or less muddy these days. I wanted to walk one of the forest paths, but pretty soon I realized that it will be very dirty experience ;)

DSC08914.jpg

So, after using those puddles for couple photos (yep, how to make the photographer happy - give him a puddle) I decided that this should be a test of the watch not test how much dirt my washing machine can wash, so I get back to the more urban area of forest.

DSC08995.jpg

So, after a short walk, I went for a coffee in near shop and to summarize my quick test with some epic views of Belgrade.

DSC08926-Pano.jpg

First, and most important - I am very happy with that watch. Even though my first impression was that it is really big, I stop noticing it after a minute. Next, it is so packed with features that I doubt I will use them all. I mean, it has stress meter?! Ok, I may use that in my workplace from time to time ;) But for sure I do not need golf and true swing improving program :)

Capture.JPG

Connected with PC and Garmin site, this watch can give you some nice analysis of your efforts and it can track all your activity habits and, most importantly, it can give you advises how to improve. That's a great feature. Basically, you have your personal trainer, completely dedicated to you, forever. It can count your fitness markers as FTP and VO2 max, it can give you a training plan and much much more. And while outdoor, it can help you to navigate with compass and maps. You can even have a video of your activity, like this one:

So, my first impression is - wow! I expected a lot, and this is even more. Watch is packed with features I will use. When I count how many features I do not really need - there are just a few of them. All other are handy and can be used at least from time to time. It will be a great companion in my outdoor activities, and it will help me to maintain and improve my training. And, last but not least - it is stylish and with different watch faces, it can look however you want - elegantly, sporty or even completely geeky.

Fenix 5 is one very nice gadget, well donne Garmin, well done ;)

Capture2.JPG





Sort:  

Nisam nikad posedovao nijednog garminka, ali svi su oduševljeni - koju god spravicu da imaju.
Nek te služi kako svakom Garminu i dolikuje!

P.S. čim su te pustili u kafić znači da se nisi mnogo izblatnjavio :D

Imao sam nekoliko, ali je ovo prvi snjihov sat i prijatno sam iznenadjen koliko su napredovali - user friendly im nikada nije bio moto, ali stvari se menjaju na bolje :)

PS. Sedeo sam u basti ;)

I like the definition! :D

Hehe... well, it's true ;)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 15 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Odmah sam znala o kojoj šumi pričaš. 😊

Moracu jednog od ovih dana do Zvezdarske sume, tamo nisam bio godinama ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.19
ETH 2615.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73