Woes of a Baker 🍰

in #travel6 years ago (edited)


Today was a rough day...emotionally.


One of the main points of sharing this adventure was to openly admit the hard days.


The last four years, well since we've moved to Missouri, I have not had a properly working oven. That's been challenging as I'm someone who found a bit of my identity in preparing delicious baked goods.

I use "find my identity" pretty loosely. My identity is in Christ. But it's a term I think a lot of people can identify with.

Need a yummy baked good...call Stacie D!

Want to barter for something good...call Stacie D!

Having a rough day and need a treat...call Stacie D!

If you ever visited my home...you could better believe there would be a hot beverage and a warm pastry...especially scones.

All of this allowed me to hone my craft, and ultimately start a great collection of baking equipment.

I had a pan for scones that could fit 16 at a time. A spring cake pan, bundt pan, tiny little cake pans. Four 9×13 dishes...and some for holidays too.

And of course, a beautiful mixer we affectionally named Suzie.


These past few years though I've learned a few things about myself.

1.) I enjoyed having a break from baking bread. I made two loaves almost daily for 4 years in Wisconsin.

2.) I am completely comfortable baking in other's kitchens! You can still treat people using their ovens! (@thefarmerswife 😉)

3.) No matter how healthy I bake...it's still better to just not eat that many scones...

But that number 3 has been weighing heavily on me. We've had some major break throughs with our health lately, and I'm not in a hurry to break that. So recently I've been thinking that baking isn't essential to me like it used to be.

But here is the catch...

The RV has a working oven...and I can fit 99% of pans inside that little thing...all the pans I saved in storage totes under our tiny home.


Pizza Pan

Sigh...

So, today brought challenges I wasn't expecting.

How many pans do I bring onto a RV if I don't bake like I used to? Is it still important enough to me? Will it all come flooding back the moment I pull a perfectly browned tin of muffins out? Will our waistlines explode?

I guess time will tell. I do know that I'm tired. And I've realized I've given way too much ownership to baking.

Until the next bit of adventure comes tomorrow, I hope you all are having a wondeful day!

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

This post is supported by 23.29 SBD @tipU upvote funded by @freedompoint :)
@tipU voting service guide | For investors.

I was going to suggest some cast iron pans because they're great for baking in too, but #1 Not sure if weight is an issue in the RV and #2 you don't really want to start something new with so much on your plate... Hmmm...

Funny enough, I've never baked with them so...well maybe cornbread a couple times...but I always forget! I do have a few we were going to bring though because they are so versatile...you can cook with them anywhere. Thanks for the reminder!

You know that as soon as you get rid of them you will find that you wish you had them to use! Seems to always work that way!

Yes! Isn't that the truth!

I used to give it more ownership. I used to bake two sometimes three loaves of bread for my crew when they all lived at home. Then they started to leave and start families of their own and I continued to bake like they were still at home. I ended up looking like Humpty Dumpty and our health started to suffer for it. So now we are on a health kick, and not so much baking and eating a more vegetarian diet. No processed foods and raw foods. I also mulit-purpose my pans and baking utensils. Less clutter in the cupboard.

So you know my woes! I should really look into more multi-purposeing what I have. It has been nice being healthier, and the waist line being in a place it hasn't been since before I became a mom...I don't know if I want to risk it. Plus it could be a flood gate...we're comfort eaters and there's nothing like a big change that makes us crave sweets.

Congratulations @crookedroadhome! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I vote for taking your favorites along. Personally, I don't see anything "unhealthy" about homemade bread. But that's me.

It's more of eating too much. Baked goods taste so good! And then after awhile my pants get too tight!

Oh yes, it can be hard to eat baked goods in moderation! I won't argue with that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52