Completing the Iceland Ring Road — Day 6: Jeweltones from Vatnajökull to Vik

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

crimsonclad-rr61.jpg

In which I walk mirrored black shoals, touch diamond edged ice, and sway in the music of the mountains.

We're down the last few entries in my stream of conciousness travel logs of my recent trip completing one of my bucket list goals: driving all the way around the Icelandic ring road. If you haven't read the series and want some beautiful pictures and some context, no problem — links to all previous entries are at the bottom of each post. This entry has a few more DSLR photos to go with the cell phone photos, but I'm still saving large sets for editorial in-depth posts. I am loving going through my journal and rewriting my thoughts and feelings here to share with you. Thank you for sticking with me, reading my insane walls of text, putting up with my sometimes meandering point of view, and enjoying the ride.

Day Six of the Iceland Ring Road Mission by the numbers.

Around 6 hours of driving.

About 475 kilometres traveled.

 

  • Hopes and dreams crushed after finding out the "Viking Village" I had my eye on was a movie set built of old telephone poles: ALL OF THEM
  • Kilometres Hiked: approximately 25
  • Current running total of all-soup meals: 16
  • Seals seen playing in the ice and glacial water: 6
  • Random stops to stand in the middle of the road to gawk: 4
  • Times caught in the middle of an Icelandic horse herd movement: 1
  • Vikings found: 0

After a fitful nap disturbed by my sobering brush with a very long fall, I set up in a crevice in a mountain pass and spent the night under the aurora.

      I didn't actually plan to go much further than the cabin tonight. I still have that bubble in the back of my throat; the one that isn't vomit, but sure as hell isn't sunshine and rainbows either. It's a light pressure, snugged gently all the way around my windpipe, reminding me: you could die this easily... just a little squeeze, and you sleep forever. It's fucking morbid, but so is slipping soundlessly off a cliff into the swirling foam beating against the black boulders knifing up through the rapids because you want to take a pretty picture. I toss and turn for a while, opening my eyes unsure if I've slept, but I feel a bit better when I check the time and see it's two in the morning. Starting over under a neon sky, smarter and better today.

      After a slow drive in scattered, blowing snow up into the mountains above Egilsstaðir, I step out of the car and am almost immediately knocked out by the door being slammed back into my body with the force of the wind. I hold it awkwardly open with a foot while trying to stretch my tripod's legs out, but it's aluminum and being blown all over the place and it's like trying to wrangle an exceptionally weirdly proportioned cat which screams wordlessly and mournfully and repeatedly. Wait, screaming? It takes me a minute to realize the curved slice of the road down the mountain channels the blasting air into nonsensical scales, and the bowl of the waterfall is humming long and low. The wind picks up the mist like moist lips blow lightly over a jug. It is one of the strangest sounds I've ever heard. I can't decide if I like it or not, but I'm focused on the sky above; no one ever prepared me for how fast the northern lights move.

      At some point, I roll back into bed and wake up much later than I should. Today is the longest remaining section of travel, and I've got some seriously good stuff earmarked for stopping at. A viking village finally. One of the most famous rocky cliffs in the country. Glacial lagoons. Open roads, the most incredible weather, black earth and blue sky and white ice and a gold heart. I practically float to the car.

       Each stop puts me behind, and claims a tiny piece of my heart in exchange for the gift of the diverse land and beautiful expanses. I can't adequately describe the trembling bliss I feel standing on the centre lines of an empty road, spinning carelessly and deciding which route to continue at random. No timeline and all freedom. I have to point out here, in the summer, this wouldn't be possible — I was warned that the country gets overrun with tourists seeking the midnight sun. But now, in the forgotten months full of nothing at all special, my trip is extraordinary and full to bursting with everything incredible.

       In the afternoon, I leave silvered footprints on the soft black sand that runs from the water to the base of Vestrahorn, one of the most photographed vistas in Iceland. I stand still with a childish grin and outstretched fingers as my hair is blown around my face by a herd of the Icelandic horses who course down the path to part and rejoin seamlessly around me. And when I finally hike the length of the outcropping to the 'ancient' village, I realize it's a scrap wood film set and there is nary a viking in sight. For fucks sakes.

       I stop at Jökulsárlón — another tourist haven — this one is full to bursting with tour buses and a spread of humanity as varied as the sights I was marveling over earlier, but frankly, I'm officially selfishly conditioned to expect everything be empty, just for me. Instead of milling around in the swarm, I sulk in the small coffee shop at the edge of the lagoon, overlooking the glacier. It happens to be ironically (and infuriatingly) completely empty except for myself. I spend some time tracing F roads with my finger on my phone screen, and find a second lagoon just up the road, even closer to the glacier.

      There are some hairy (ugh, sorry) moments as I see a few more sheep out in the rocks heading towards the car (What are they doing on a glacier? Where are they going? What the fuck are they eating? The sheep here are clearly gangsters,) but I hike down the hill and find the isolated, precious haven I hoped for. Aquamarine water, citrine sunbeams, and dazzling diamond ice shards. It. Is. Breathtaking.

      I spend so long turning each crystalline chunk over in my gloved hands that only the sinking sun snaps me out of my reverie. I blaze the rest of the way in a race against the fading light — the two most important things I was told by the car rental agent was to always have the lights on, and neverjust pull to the shoulder of the road. With a week of night driving under my belt, how narrow the roads are, and how black the early evenings without the moon are, I get it. There's just enough time to watch the last vestiges of light recede beyond the horizon from the deck of tonight's cabin before I rummage through my suitcase for a few last soup packets and collapse in exhaustion.

All of these photos, stories, and words are my own original work, inspired by my travels all over this pretty blue marble of ours. I hope you like them. 🌶️
crimsoncladsig.png

DAY 1 | DAY 2 | DAY 3 | DAY 4 | DAY 5

!steemitworldmap 64.214921 lat -15.713047 long Northern Lights and Colour from Vatnajökull to Vik, Iceland D3SCR

Sort:  

Wow crimmy, you really went above and beyond. I would take a snatch strap and an ice spike or something, and a giant mallet. Hammer that sucker into the ice. snatch it, wrap that around wheel or wheel rim so you can lever it out. Rev engine super gentle. it would pull itself out of the hole I guess? You could maybe even lever it under the tarmac/asphalt. Or find a tree.

I don't see many trees there. I'll stick with the iron spike.

Those roads look super high quality. I wonder how horribad it would be riding there.

Anyways, glad you had a good time with this step in the journey, looking forward to the next one. Have a lovely day.

Much love, @sammosk.

the roads are actually shockingly good, all considered! Everyone in the country seems to be employed working on converting gravel and dirt F roads into beautiful highways. I imagine that immigration looks much like, "Welcome to Iceland, here's your excavator!"

The ring road was always good, but it's interesting that they're developing the F roads as well. Have you been to Iceland more than once to see how much the country has changed? I'm worried that I won't recognize it when I got back - I was last there in 2012. :\

By the way, I admire your prose. Oh to be able to write like that. :)

I haven't, no; I do hope to get back in a year or two in the opposite shoulder season — moving out of winter, instead of into it — but many roads that were said to be pretty rough were being actively graded (passed a ton of equipment) and in some places past Akureyri were being paved in huge stretches.

It only makes sense, with all the excess tourism. Did you happen to visit the Westfjords? That was always a lesser-traveled destination, and I hope it still is.

I did! I spent the first two days up there. It was my FAVOURITE. Hands down. So quiet and so mysterious. Small town life in the fjords, oh my heart.

Oh, wonderful! I'll check that out. I'm sorry you didn't see foxes though.

Another interesting chapter in your Iceland story Crimmy.
Beautiful photography as ever.
Great stuff babe. 😉

two more days, and we can travel the world again~ <3

Iceland is so strikingly beautiful and desolate... small wonder so many science fiction movies set on "other planets" are filmed there. Awesome photos... as a fairly dedicated hermit, I would like to visit Iceland someday.

As a fairly dedicated hermit, provided you aren't within a one hour radius of Reykjavik or Akureyri, you could easily live the dream life. I had a hard time tearing myself away after seeing all the faces of the country in a short period; it was a whirlwind of every conceivable type of weather and landscape all at once and I really appreciated that experience. You could absolutely imagine traveling from world to world rolling down the empty highway. Highly recommend shoulder season!

Omg those Nordern lights! You also have a great eye for photography! It's awesome :) You have my follow!

thank you so much! that's so kind of you to say. There was a definite learning curve on how to capture them properly with the way that they shift and fluctuate. :/

Obligatory: No soup for you.
Oh that low sun on the ice. And wind. And all the things. Must not look at Icelandic real estate.

Am I being inflammatory by saying that pretty much every homestead outside of Reyjavik and Akureyri has a waterfall, and that the geothermal water and heating is amazing? Nahhhh.

I was pretty close to out of soup at this point as I was taking thermoses of hot water everywhere and making small meals 4 or 5 times a day. I never take a suitcase when I travel, but I did this time; a small one full of cliff bars, chocolate, soup mix, and jerky. I estimate it saved me about $600.

Your reply did not help me one bit. I had to scroll up and hide the photo as I type my reply. This is not good.
Since you know you had a vehicle then a suitcase is not a bad idea. I've travelled enough to get pretty high-speed/low-drag: carry on only wherever possible. Though my commitment to that is usually proportional to the number of transport changes I need to do.
I like experiencing the local food culture is part of my journey, but the more I get back into the outdoors the more I go your way and take stuff I know works with my body. We have these things called "One Square Meal" which are pretty decent for the weight/size but a little pricey. Those things are awesome except they use a guar gum binder so that can get a bit taxing on the digestion if you tried living on them. I gave up on jerky. I dislike most of the commercially made stuff after I started making my own. However, many countries biosecurity laws won't let you take homemade jerky over a border.

Dayum, Crimmy! AWESOME Shutter-Bugging, I need to really check this out in detail once I get some more time! 100% up-DOOTS for you! :D

dooting intensifies

Thank you, underground! I always like seeing you pop up now and again :D I can't wait to get to the really great stuff off my actual camera. I'll need to space it out, or you guys are all going to get really burned out on Iceland.

Up-Dooting really makes me "intense", very true ;)
Of course, I need a willing participant since I lack my own LOL!!!

Can't wait to see more, it's a very beautiful place! :D

aren't there up-dooting services around? 👀
oh lord I'll just stop before I start saying something like it's the oldest profession on the platform :|

lmfao!!!
Stop Crimmy, you're Killing Me! :D
Be safe in your journeys, please ;)

Bravo Crim!!! Love love love the pictures and the stories!

thank you so much~ I'll drive up your way some day!

Goodness that's so pretty goes to look again

you got the sneak peek so it's slightly less effective
wrinkles nose

These posts are really something Crim. Beautifully written with gorgeous photos to back them up. Well done.

thank you choo~ I really appreciate your support with my work.

This is a lovely post, stunning photos

thank you for stopping by to say so! you have some great photos yourself~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60716.93
ETH 2594.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55