Sort:  

Am I being inflammatory by saying that pretty much every homestead outside of Reyjavik and Akureyri has a waterfall, and that the geothermal water and heating is amazing? Nahhhh.

I was pretty close to out of soup at this point as I was taking thermoses of hot water everywhere and making small meals 4 or 5 times a day. I never take a suitcase when I travel, but I did this time; a small one full of cliff bars, chocolate, soup mix, and jerky. I estimate it saved me about $600.

Your reply did not help me one bit. I had to scroll up and hide the photo as I type my reply. This is not good.
Since you know you had a vehicle then a suitcase is not a bad idea. I've travelled enough to get pretty high-speed/low-drag: carry on only wherever possible. Though my commitment to that is usually proportional to the number of transport changes I need to do.
I like experiencing the local food culture is part of my journey, but the more I get back into the outdoors the more I go your way and take stuff I know works with my body. We have these things called "One Square Meal" which are pretty decent for the weight/size but a little pricey. Those things are awesome except they use a guar gum binder so that can get a bit taxing on the digestion if you tried living on them. I gave up on jerky. I dislike most of the commercially made stuff after I started making my own. However, many countries biosecurity laws won't let you take homemade jerky over a border.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60796.19
ETH 2601.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57