You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Balboa Park

in #travel7 years ago

Ah-HA!

My dear @generikat, am I surprised to discover your affinity for this place?

No, not at all... And so, I will now proceed to tease you a little bit... :D

The last time I spent considerable time at the park was for the San Diego Maker Faire. I volunteered, both for the fun of it, and so I could get in for free. You've now reminded me that I need to write some articles about the museums.

After running errands for the Faire until noon, I spent the rest of the day in museums. I visited the Model Railroad Museum for the first time. It is on a basement floor, and covers a huge area. It contains some of the largest layouts that I've ever seen. One of my "side projects" is developing lighting for model railroads, and I saw some inspiring examples of lighting.

I also visited the Air and Space museum, filled with fascinating memorabilia. Old aircraft, NASA artifacts including historic space capsules. They had a special Leonardo DaVinci exhibit there at the time.

Oh, yes, there's more! :D
Just let me know the next time you're in town... :)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Sort:  

Oh @creatr, the anguish that your descriptions of Balboa park grandeur caused me to experience are legend, lol!!

I just got to observe the beautiful packaging of the delights that the park offers, you however, have experienced and enjoyed it! How cool that you volunteered there! I love model railroads!! Ahhh! I am positively drooling at the prospect of getting explore just a fraction of all that you mentioned, how blessed you are!

Your forthcoming museum posts are so anticipated, not to mention the fact that I would love to read about your model railroad lighting projects!

You will be notified most promptly of my imminent return 😊

And thank you as always for the illuminating and enjoyable comment!

Aw, shucks, you're making me smile broadly today...

I will try to get a Park Museum post into the queue for you. :D

Awe, I hope you are still smiling!

And I am totally looking forward to your Park Museum post!!!!

Thanks for the reminder... ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41