Balboa Park

in #travel7 years ago

San Diego On The Swift: Part Deux

IMG_5777.JPG

Of all of the places that I glimpsed on my two hour, fly through the sites tour of San Diego's points of interest, Balboa Park was the one that had me digging in my "I wanna stay and look" tourist toes. We had been driving to and fro under the Cabrillo Bridge (the park's historic entrance) all week, so imagine my glee when my nephew parked his vehicle and before I knew what was happening, discovered that I was trotting across the beautiful arched structure that I had been admiring all week long.

IMG_5769.JPG

As we were strolling at a breakneck pace across the bridge, my nephew casually dropped this tidbit of touristy, mind-blowing info: "There are seventeen museums in Balboa Park."

"What?! That's like four more than a baker's dozen!" I replied most derpily.

IMG_5779.JPG

As I processed and nerded out on the sheer volume of available museums to peruse had I the time to do so, I began to notice the Spanish replicated architecture that made up the park's buildings. In that moment I became the Gawker of Seville. It was pretty early in the morning, so the park was fairly empty, and I instantly imagine-transported to a Medieval Spanish scene. That bit of fancy was interrupted when I saw this advertisement for the San Diego Museum of Man:

IMG_5780 (2).JPG

How could someone not want to investigate that bit of Hannibal Lecterism? Of course, if there was a glass of Chianti sitting on a side table I might have felt concern, but alas, I did not get to peruse the man-eating-man exhibit, and moved on.

IMG_5785.JPG

IMG_5797.JPG

IMG_5801.JPG

There are archways, courtyards, fountains, and inspiring bits of landscaping everywhere your eye turns in Balboa Park. There's the Old Globe theater in one section where you can take in the dramatic arts, and the world's largest pipe organ beckons all with is gargantuan profile. Statues, trees, gardens, and a carousel all vie for your attention. I guarantee that there is museum that spotlights something that interests a person, be that the arts or model trains. The San Diego Zoo is a part of Balboa park, and as there are bathrooms and refreshments available in the park, I'm fairly sure that I could live there happily for a few months in full observation and glean mode.

IMG_5803.JPG

Let's just say that on my inevitable return trip to San Diego, I know where I'll be spending a good chunk of my time!!

And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's slightly-petulant-because-it-couldn't-hang-out-all-day-in Balboa Park iPhone.

Additional conciliatory addendum: Many apologies regarding the quality of the images, I took every single photograph whilst power-walking. It shows.

Sort:  

Ah-HA!

My dear @generikat, am I surprised to discover your affinity for this place?

No, not at all... And so, I will now proceed to tease you a little bit... :D

The last time I spent considerable time at the park was for the San Diego Maker Faire. I volunteered, both for the fun of it, and so I could get in for free. You've now reminded me that I need to write some articles about the museums.

After running errands for the Faire until noon, I spent the rest of the day in museums. I visited the Model Railroad Museum for the first time. It is on a basement floor, and covers a huge area. It contains some of the largest layouts that I've ever seen. One of my "side projects" is developing lighting for model railroads, and I saw some inspiring examples of lighting.

I also visited the Air and Space museum, filled with fascinating memorabilia. Old aircraft, NASA artifacts including historic space capsules. They had a special Leonardo DaVinci exhibit there at the time.

Oh, yes, there's more! :D
Just let me know the next time you're in town... :)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Oh @creatr, the anguish that your descriptions of Balboa park grandeur caused me to experience are legend, lol!!

I just got to observe the beautiful packaging of the delights that the park offers, you however, have experienced and enjoyed it! How cool that you volunteered there! I love model railroads!! Ahhh! I am positively drooling at the prospect of getting explore just a fraction of all that you mentioned, how blessed you are!

Your forthcoming museum posts are so anticipated, not to mention the fact that I would love to read about your model railroad lighting projects!

You will be notified most promptly of my imminent return 😊

And thank you as always for the illuminating and enjoyable comment!

Aw, shucks, you're making me smile broadly today...

I will try to get a Park Museum post into the queue for you. :D

Awe, I hope you are still smiling!

And I am totally looking forward to your Park Museum post!!!!

Thanks for the reminder... ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42