Museum of the Bible - Washington DC

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

6209AB7C-BB9D-4420-9D0B-3C0F0EF49F61.jpeg

I am in Washington DC for the Blockchain Summit. I had a bit of time to kill yesterday, so I took the metro a few stops so I could visit the Museum of the Bible. It is the newest Museum located just south of the National Mall.

8E8163A0-D3A2-495F-B435-2D6452F65F09.jpeg

The massive entry way into the museum has giant bronze scrolls on either side. The security checkpoint has two magnetometers along with a star-of-the-art X-ray machine that can examine fifteen bags at a time. I didn’t have any bags to check so I was through the checkpoint quickly. It was a slow morning apparently.

After clearing the checkpoint, I purchased my ticket. Purchased may not be the most accurate word. Admission is free. But the sign has a suggested donation of fifteen dollars. So I just paid the suggested admission fee. It seemed an appropriate price point as long as you don’t compare it to the many free Smithsonian museums nearby.

I decided to start on the sixth floor and work my way down. The sixth floor was quick since all I saw was a restaurant and a long hallway with a great view of the city. I checked out the view and headed down to the fifth floor.

The exhibits sort of run together in my mind from there. I visited an art gallery and a gallery with amazing artifacts dating back thousands of years. I watched a several movies about the history and archaeology of Israel. I watched a few Bible related movies. I saw a hall filled with ancient bibles and the history of how the Bible was preserved and handed down. I visited a walk-through interactive Old Testament film series. In all, it was an impressive, interactive and extensive experience. Well worth fifteen dollars.

The museum is located at 400 4th Street SW, Washington DC 20024. The phone is 866-430-MOTB.

The museum is open Monday - Saturday from 10 am - 5 pm. You could easily spend the entire day. Groups are allowed early entry starting at 9 am. On Sunday there is no early admission. The museum is closed on Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years Day.

If you are trying to plan what to do during your visit to Washington DC, I would highly recommend this museum. It was fun, informative, entertaining, interactive and extensive.

The first photo is my own. The other photos are from the museum of the Bible website.

Sort:  

Thanks for posting about this! We've talked about taking the kiddos to DC and I wasn't aware of this new museum. I definitely plan to check it out if we make it over there :)

My brother-in-law's company was instrumental in putting the cases that hold the artifacts in the museum.

image.png

Here is a link:

http://schmitz-n-schmitz.com/museum-of-the-bible/

Very proud of my brother-in-law Robert being part of this museum.

Semper Fidelis brother. Have a great week.

Semper fi. To my fellow sergeant of marines. That is awesome. I was truly impressed by the exhibits here.

Elvis' bible! Amazing. I'm so fascinated by this museum!

I've wanted to go out of pure curiosity (I am not religious) and glad to know it's free. They are well funded, so I don't feel too guilty about not donating (the folks from Hobby Lobby are board members and the biggest donors). There's a blockchain conference? Cool. I'm in DC this week - flying out tomorrow morning.

Sorry. Just saw this. Yes. At Georgetown. Just finished up tonight.

looks like a great museum :)

I definitely need to add this to my list next time I go to DC.

Wow, that sounds like a nice museum. Great picture of the hallway. I have always wanted to go to the Ark in Kentucky, but I'm not sure we'll ever make it there. Thanks for sharing a review of the museum.

My wife wants to visit the ark as well. Maybe this summer.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=coldsteem
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=museum-of-the-bible-washington-dc


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in the latest edition of the #TravelDigest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60313.79
ETH 2889.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47