Ciqikou (Porcelain) Village, Chongqing, China

in #travel6 years ago

image.png

Ciqikou Village is a market in Chongqing that dates back one thousand years. The name Ciqikou a remnant of the porcelain trade that was once centered here. Porcelain can still be found among the eclectic shops that line the alleys. Aside from gifts and clothing, the market has a robust foodie scene. From noodles made while you watch to flowerburst cotton candy, the treats are seemingly unlimited.

China 2015 974.JPG

China 2015 1004.JPG

Our Yangtze River Cruise ran from Yichang to Chongqing. From Chongqing, we had an afternoon flight to Shanghai. We had a few hours to kill before our flight, giving us time to navigate the market on our own. Walking into the market is a bit overwhelming at first. While we were visiting during bumper season, the market was still crowded late morning. I would imagine that it is hard to move through the market at all during peak season.

While there were normal gift shops that sold everything from paintings to figurines, the real artwork I admired was the handicrafts. Some not even in shops. One young lady was spinning grass into a jungle of creatures. I watched for a few minutes, mesmerized by her ability to nimbly weave the grass into a variety of animals. Her artistry available for pocket change.

China 2015 993.JPG

China 2015 994.JPG

Near the entrance to the market is a temple along with an interesting statue out front. There were a couple of other statues in the market as well. There were two that struck me as humorous.

China 2015 966.JPG

ciqikou1.jpg

For the foodies, a quick culinary glance of the gastric possibilities to explore...

ciqikou2.jpg

ciqikou4.jpg

ciqikou5.jpg

ciqikou6.jpg

ciqikou7.jpg

ciqikou9.jpg

ciqikou8.jpg

ciqikou10.jpg

ciqikou12.jpg

ciqikou13.jpg

ciqikou14.jpg

I didn't take many photos of the shops, but I did get a few. I really enjoyed watching the girl who made animals out of grass. I also had the opportunity to watch a scarf maker at work at her loom. The scarf shop was really nice. There was also a shop where you could purchase framed art. This included both paintings as well as silk thread pictures. I ended up buying a silk thread picture later in the trip, which is currently hanging on the wall in my living room. Below are examples of what they look like. In the second photo, they are the pictures in the foreground.

ciqikou15.jpg

ciqikou3.jpg

Being an ancient town, the market is woven into surrounding structures creating an interesting blend of commerce and architecture. There were a couple of structures whose architecture really stood out to me. I will include photos of those as well.

ciqikou11.jpg

ciqikou16.jpg

ciqikou17.jpg

I didn't take much video in the market, but did find a video compilation that navigates the market nicely. I will share that video from youtube below. The rest of the photos and video are my own. They may be reproduced with prior permission.

I hope you enjoyed this trip through Ciqikou Village Street Market. It is an interesting link between past and present. Rich in food tradition as well as gifts, temples and plenty of people watching. The village is generally open from 8:30 am until 10:00 pm.

Sort:  

Hey @coldsteem !

You have an interesting story with your travel.

Thanks for sharing.😃

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=coldsteem
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=ciqikou-porcelain-village-chongqing-china


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This market really fascinates me. Real travel. Lots there, but not completely faked and precious from tourism. The grass sculptures are AWESOME.

When internet surfing takes back over your life, check out Food Ranger channel on YouTube. The guy is a Canadian living in China. He travels all over Asia trying street food. (Now he's in Mexico). The best videos are in China because he speaks Chinese, so the vendors relax and open up. https://www.youtube.com/user/thefoodranger

LOL. He visited this place and did a video. I almost used his video here, but it was a bit longer and only food oriented.

Very nice photos! Shanghai has such good culture making it a very eye opening travel experience! I bet that it's even more happening at night!

My guess is a resounding "yes." Plenty of food places, so I am sure folks come down and hang out at night.

Some great photos once again. I have eaten many different skewers in my days, love the caramelized strawberry ones the best. Have you worked up the courage to eat any of the deep friend insects yet? Quite the experience

No thank you. No insects for me. Unless it is accidental and I don't notice. I definitely seek out local flavors, but I have limitations.

Haha I hear ya, but how does that saying go, "When in Rome?!?"

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

mucho gracias amigo, feel free to add a few more zeros next time ;)

What is rewardpoolrape?

The street food stalls look quite colourful and enticing.

Did you try many of the foods on offer?

We did. I can’t remember what all we tried. I remember skewed and ice cream. And we bought some sesame candy for later. Like the video I posted at the three gorges dam, they beat it out right in front of you.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

@coldsteem, thanks for sharing Porcelain Village. I feel like I was there.

Your photos are great and they did a great job of drawing us into your story.

Thanks for sharing about

  • the food
  • the handicrafts
  • the people
  • and the culture

@sumatranate

Thanks for stopping by. Glad you enjoyed it.

Your travel blogs are awesome! I posted one myself today. Thank you for always taking pictures, and the time to tell us the story. I know what it takes, sometimes I just want to check out and be there, in the moment, so I do. Safe travels, I look forward to more pictures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44