Travel around the World for Free, Next to Free or maybe get Renumeration?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago
  • I just turned down a paid Captain job sailing for 3 months around Vancouver Island. Are you a sailboat Captain?

come sail.jpg

  • I've owned Sailboats for most of my Adult life, Nothing I Love more than setting sail and blowing around the worlds Oceans.

But owning, operating and Maintenace costs can be daunting unless you are well off ( Which I never have been ).

  • This might surprise you, But the biggest hassle was finding people who would commit to even a day sail, Long trips were out of the question. No one had the time to just go...

I used to cruise the Victoria, British Columbia Harbor and scan the causeway for people brown bagging it. Ah Drinkers, So I would pull up and offer to take them sailing!
There was always a level of disbelief, But a little convincing of my honest offer and their acceptance was always followed with....Wait here were going to the store for supplies :-)
And off we went! No one going thirsty or hungry on this voyage.
I have too many stories to relate here, and it wasn't my intention, to begin with.
But eventually led to my being banned for life from that harbor ( too much fun was claimed) LOL

  • My point today was make you aware of ( almost ) every sailboat owners need for reliable crew or even captains from time to time on journeys they have planned. And how to get connected with them.

I'll give you the links I gave to my Friend...
http://www.crewbay.com/find-boats/Sailing+Boat
https://www.wvyc.ca/racing/crew-bank
http://www.sailingvancouver.com/htm/sv_findcrew.htm
http://www.sailnet.com/forums/sitemap/f-11.html

  • there are many more if you care to search. Either to browse offers or post what you are looking for.

The very first night I repied to just the first 3 posts on I think it was sailnet. I had 3 replies that night.So accepted the first reply and flew to Florida a few days later.
There are too many variables to even begin to touch upon here.
I'll blog someday about these Adventures & Miss Adventures LOL

  • In closing, My only advice is to spend some time with anyone your going sailing with before going off shore. ( Getting drunk with them is my prerequisite ). I like to know whats laying just under the surface, of the sea and my crew.

There are no secrets among sailors and you had better be closley matched in personalities or very accepting of people's differences. The Captain is your God at sea ( Period ) And you must be able to agree to disagree and accept unpopular decisions before leaving.
Nuff Said

  • I'll always be here to give advice if you contact me, And I'll do my best to not let you down.

Maybe even join you?
I only do tropical these days, Thanks

Typing is tireing for me and I'm now Thirsty

Hope you enjoyed this post
Replies and support always Cherished :-)

My Signature Post ---> Hop on My Love Train ( with music )

Life is Good @ steemit.com

Sort:  

I never sailed captain! Big hug from Switzerland! Steemitri the mannequin

You can learn, It's not hard. Most sailboats run on auto pilot and only need eye's to watch for traffic ( No sleeping on your watch ) LOL every boat needs a good cook too. plus mechanically inclined people. When I'm running a boat, I do everything but cook ( usually ).
Big Hug back and a follow for your fine reply :-)
Cheers

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by codypanama from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I love the idea of going out for long trips. In a different life I would have. With a stay at home spouse and four children, it just isn't in the cards for me. Knowing some captains though in case I never need one never hurts though, right? ;-)

I went out from Cape Cod once on a 42 footer. The ocean was rough, and we were rolling up and down 10'. It was a blast! None of it scared me, but maybe it should have.

Boats float by their very design and will not sink if left to do just that, even in a hurricane. you strip the decks of everything, put all your cushions on the floor and lay down on them till it passes. If you hit anything like another boat or land that's a different story altogether. LOL

It sounds like fun to me! One of these days I'll get down there, and I'd gladly go out to sea with you. :)

I gotta tell ya the story of my good friend, Bugs (not his real name, it's Robert)

Bugs is/was a sailing nut... he loved it and his dream was to sail the Pacific. He joined the Merchant Marine and saved his money. When he wasn't at sea, he took courses in celestial navigation. There's (or was, this was in the mid 70's) a place off of India- Goa I believe, where you can but beautiful sailing vessels 50-60 feet for around $15,000 made out of incredible exotic woods (teak, ebony, etc). Bugs bought one and sailed it back to the US and sold it for 6 figures. He paid off his crew and they went back and bought another bigger boat.

Bugs wound up sailing the Pacific and making a fortune doing it.

Oh Ya ! If you use your head plenty of money to be had on and under the sea :-)
Great story my friend
do what you love and the money will follow
Cheers

I've had Styx stuck in my head for a week! Now it's a different song!

swap between Crosby stills and nash " southern cross " for variety.
It always gives me goosebumps LOL I've named 2 of my sailboats MUSIC :-)
Cheers my friend

@codypanama, I've been sailing twice in my 67 years. Both times I was enchanted. The first time the sail boat (and I use that term loosely) was a surf board with a sail, meant for 1 but my cousin talked me into trying it with her. We were sailing off Hiannis, and the boat went down. No problem, just stand on the rudder and it uprighted itself.
The second time I was out with my younger sister and a friend in a boat large enough to have a cabin. We were out in the Gulf of Mexico, off the Texas Coast. The trip (some 6 hours long) was wonderful and so peaceful. My only complaint was the top of my feet got sunburn. If I lived near a body of water I would probably do more sailing, but alas, you can't go very far in a stock tank.

The larger the boat the more stable it is. I'm a fan of catamarans & trimarans, they are light fast and don't heal very much just go faster :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60988.21
ETH 2373.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55