Bafuss #2 | Waikiki

in #travel6 years ago (edited)



Image by @cnandofer

The sunshine of the Pacific Ocean.

I had a 12 hours layover in Hawaii, arriving early in the morning and leaving in the afternoon. So why not go to the beach and have some beers? I took a cap from the airport, the driver was a very nice guy (I wish I could remember his name) he even took me to his house so I could keep my big backpack there while I enjoyed the sun and the beach.

As soon as I left the airport behind, I was immediately captivated by the number of houses with solar panels, looks like everyone is going solar in the Oahu island. As my polite cap driver told me:

"We have tons of sunlight all the year, would be stupid not to use it to power our houses"

There is a lot of technical and economical issues to address when implementing solar energy in a big scale but is nice to see that there are places in the world where they have been doing it for a while now. You can read more about Hawaiian solar energy in Wikipedia if you're interested in that stuff.



Image by @cnandofer

Beers and bikinis. A cloudy day.

Sadly for me that day was not a sunny day, it was cloudy and with intermittent rain. In the other hand, there was a USA Beach Volleyball tournament so I decided that I wouldn't be annoyed by the weather and spent my day in the beach drinking beers and watching some attractive girls play volleyball. I could have tried renting a surfboard but I found Waikiki very expensive in general and it would have been a bad idea after the third beer anyway.



Image by @cnandofer

My recommendation.

If you're gonna flight from North America to Asia, Australia or NZ (or in the other direction, doesn't matter), you should definitely try to squizz a layover in Hawaii for as little or as long as you want it is a very nice, relaxing place. It may be a little bit expensive but you will enjoy it. There is a lot more to see and do that I didn't do because of the time I had but I will definitely go back to this part of the world someday.

Pro Tip: Look for Hawaiian Airlines, they were very cheap in 2014 when I bought my ticket. I'm definitely not sponsored by Hawaiian Airlines nor want to fill this with ads, just an advise.


....................................................................................................

Bafuss #1 | Art and "El Ángel de la Independencia"
Bafuss #3 | The Inca Empire

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 19:50:25
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cnandofer from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57558.50
ETH 2437.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35