Bafuss #1 | Art Club and "El Ángel de la Independecia"

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

The beginning.

Some years ago, I found myself partying in a house of international students in Monterrey, Mexico. It was the beginning of the semester, the house was full of people from different countries, pre-drinking before the official University's welcome party. As we were getting to know each other, there was a lot of "how do you say this?" or "how do you say that?" in your language. That's how I happened to learn the word Bafuss (Barefoot in german). I really liked the way it sounded, was a funny word in my head. By the end of the night, after several bottles of tequila, I was yelling Bafuss to everyone that I met that night.

Around this time, there was a fancy club in Monterrey named Art, a three floors building in the city centre. The first floor was a regular club with a bar, music and a place to dance. The second floor was like an art gallery, it had everything that a bunch of drunk people needed to draw (mainly penises). Finally, the third floor had a photo studio where you could put on costumes and take pictures in a set with lights and everything.

On one of this Uni Thursday; that can only end up with a big party, some friends and I went out to the Art. When we got to the second floor we started to paint Bafuss everywhere we could. After some time, people started to realize that a group of people, mainly blonde girls and french guys were painting this strange word everywhere. It didn't pass much time before people started to asked what was Bafuss? We just answered "Bafuss is Bafuss..."


18534_250951618203_4246013_n.jpg
People started to write it on their bodies. Image by @cnandofer


18534_250951508203_1378552_n.jpg
People started to write it on their bodies. Image by @cnandofer


As we kept telling people "Bafuss is Bafuss" to a club full of drunk people while writing Bafuss every where, the drunk people were more eager to know the meaning of this word (or maybe they were just trying to get lucky with the blondies). People was intrigued about this Bafuss and at some they were asking to get Bafuss painted in their body.


18534_250951493203_6482961_n.jpg
Picture that doesn't proof that I've paint the window. Image by @cnandofer


18534_250951543203_6514386_n.jpg
The poor guy that had to clean the mess. Image by @cnandofer


Sadly, I spent that night mostly running away from the bouncer of the club, going from one floor to another, because I may have or may have not, painted Bafuss in a very big window of the club. After that night I started to play with this word every time that I was going out, I printed little papers and started putting it everywhere, was the best way to start a conversation with unknown people anywhere that I was going.


23599_334191948203_6464416_n.jpg
I've no idea of who is this people... Image by @cnandofer


23599_334191958203_390444_n.jpg
Two of the biggest Bafuss ambassadors, with a random guy* Image by @cnandofer


With the time, I travelled more and more and started to take pictures of the places where I was with the word Bafuss, it became something personal to me to the point that people started to see it like my brand, signature or whatever you want to call it. From time to time I receive pictures from friends from around the world with Bafuss on it which always puts a smile in my face. Sometimes is hard to move from place to place leaving friends behind, at least ever time that I receive a Bafuss picture it lifts my spirit to think that someone was thinking about me and took the time to give me this little gift.

I've collected several pictures and I didn't really know what to do with it until I joined Steemit. I'm gonna start sharing this pictures with a little description or a short story of it so I will like to start with this one:


El Ángel.

7687_10151707258647540_1576668616_n.jpg
El Ángel de la Independencia. Image by @cnandofer


Officially known as Monumento a la independencia, was built in 1910 by Antonio Rivas Mercado to commemorate 100 years of the beginning of Mexico's war for independence. Is probably the most important landmark of Mexico City, It has been for years the place where Mexicans congregate to both, celebrate (when the soccer national team wins) or protest.


angel-map.png
Source


Inside of the column there is a statue of William Lamport, Irishman that claimed to be the bastard of the king Phillip III of Spain. He named himself the king of the New Spain and tried to start a revolution against the Spanish Crown. Of course, he was arrested and sentenced to death by the Mexican Inquisition. He was burn a live (because that was the way that god wanted them to execute him...) in 1659 after 17 years of imprisonment.


bafuss #2 | Waikiki
image by @cnandofer

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cnandofer from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57913.08
ETH 2452.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36