The Life of Chris: a dutch travelling student

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Hellooooo my fellow Steemers! Whales, upvotes, loads of "hi steemit" photos and a whole bunch of successful people sharing inspirational stories? I have spend my first day on Steemit and I'm sooo amazed by this whole thing. It still feels like a dream to me to be able to share my passion for travel and adventure with thousands of other people.

My "hi steemit" photo

Anyways, I am Chris, a 21 years young student and I'm trying to live a passion full life. Here is my "hi steemit" photo, which should be proving my actual existence! In this post I will share photos of some of my weird habits during my past adventures!



Mountains

It might sound quite weird but I am freaking obsessed by mountains. My biggest dream is to climb Mount Everest one day. To hike or climb a mountain gives me this feeling of achievement and freedom. It also makes me feel one with the nature. It's such an exhausting activity but in the end it is so satisfying!! I was on top of Mount Kinabalu in Malaysia, the infamous mountain where some australians and a dutch guy were posing naked last year. One week later they were arrested for indirectly causing the earthquake that killed over 10 people on the mountain. The local people assumed these people had insulted the gods. Another interesting aspect of this mountain is the shape of one of the summits. After a 2 day climb from the jungle to the summit, I was able to observe the Urang Utan face shaped summit  in detail! This picture was taken in 2012:


Waterfalls

Waterfalls are so overwhelming and a swim in the ice cold water is relieving. To swim in this water makes you feel clean and refreshed! Most of the time you can even drink the water as it flows down from the mountains. On Lombok in Indonesia, I went to the Rinjani Volcano and down there was this beauty of over a 40 meters high:


Marine life and oceans

Oceans and marine life are so intimidating. Ocean depth really scares me. The idea that there might be 5 kilometers of water below me is terrifying. Despite that, I keep challenging myself to not run away from that confrontation. For example, the waters surrounding Nusa Penida, an island west of Bali, was very deep. It was also home to a nice family of Manta Rays. I was there, in the water and once I spotted one of these Mantas, I instantly forgot my fear of depth and followed and photographed this 4-meter large giant:



Monkeys

Spoken of intimidating things, monkeys...... Believe me, scary as these creatures are, I always try to befriend them. I often thought monkeys were some kind of mentalists because their stare can be so intriguing. Let me tell you this one thing: never show your teeth, make noise and stare into a monkeys eyes at the same time! Avoid that and they might aswell become your friend!



It is not too late to upvote my previous blog post! Yesterday I have posted this first blog: click here
Let me know if you enjoyed reading this. Support is more than welcome!

Until next time folks!!

Sort:  

You make us all wanna pack and go travel the world. Thank you

No problem eyass, I advice anyone to do so!:)

love the pics - will watch out for more of your adventures

Thank you! Will post more soon:)

I wish you luck,Welcome to the Steemit :)

This is genuinely a great post....I liked reading it. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43