Road trip from Belgium to Earthship India @eco-alex

in #travel7 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

Nice one. I hope there is more to come.
I would love to see pictures of your place.
I have been to India a few times, first time in 1992 for 9 months, so I am also interested in how you manage to stay there long time.
Also stories about your build would be much appreciated,

Thanks likedeeler, not much more to come i think, no plans on blogging on history, love

Wow @bubke !! That is so awesome and inspiring. Well done for following your heart and dreams - and doing it in such amazing style.
It'd be great to hear more of your adventures, especially about the trip to India in that incredible psychedelic truck.
Resteeming this - hopefully it may bring a lead to your next destination...

Thanks for the resteem @stillgideon, the next destination is absolutely not clear yet although it is absolutely clear that change is in the air, exciting times ahead...

you know one of our passengers is headed to portugal to help build a new eco community?! ;-)

who is that and where? I'm very interested. A chance to catch up with ecotrain passangers and Build ??? Yes please where can I sign up ?

check out @markwhittam .. hes doing many amazing things.. and soon will hear to portugal..

Inspiring story! I really enjoyed reading it :) sometimes the 'usual' or 'normal' path isn't the one for us, and your story of just letting life take you was very cool to read. Thanks for sharing!

Also, really cool vehicle! It definitely stands out (and looks amazing) haha. Any plans where in Europe you will move?

Thank you for this beautiful comment maha devi, the real path is no path i guess. Things are happening in Portugal, Spain, lots to check out...

Any place you end up will be a new adventure and experience which is the important part!

I haven´t been to Portugal yet, but Spain is nice and got lots of anarcho stuff going on. In Europe I also like Greece because of the many islands.
What I don´t like about them, is that they are in the EU and Eurozone and because of this there are many problems. So if I would leave Germany I´d rather be outside of the EU, Asia or South America I guess.

Outside is always the Visa issue, very annoying, i plan on posting something about that tomorrow in light of the ecotrain freedom subject

That´s true, but freedom has its price. :-)
I don´t know if you are familiar with EU rules and regulations, but for me it is just an annoying bureaucratic, lobbyist, corporate cesspool with tendencies towards totalitarianism and not exactly conducive to freedom. And if this monster wasn´t enough, they created another one with the Eurozone.
But I found that Panama or Paraguay for example have reasonably priced residency programms.
Georgia is another rising star (the one besides Turkey)
Looking forward to your freedom post.

Wow, @bubke. (I want your life!) What an amazing and inspiring story. Not to mention the Love Van. That's how life should be. That's the best use two university degrees can be put to.....FREEDOM. I want to be under that waterfall and hope we're going to see more. South Europe? I'd do Portugal but can't wait to see where you guys end up.

Ha, freedom, that's the next topic... Thanks for your beautiful comment. By the way, i have my 100% naughty vegan recipe post ready, how to participate?

I think you might be talking to @clara-andriessen here, @bubke :) But 100% naughty vegan recipes are always welcome in our house too :)

This is exactly the way to go. Don't hang on to the path you 'should' follow, tracked by society and make use of your degrees until you are allowed to retire. Life's short, life is to the fullest. I'm gonna follow you on your path

I see you get the point @arnoldus-k, will follow you too

Oh wow, I had no idea you`ll ever like to leave paradies! :-)

I dont want to, my children want to :-). @Blueperegrina, i see your name everywhere, do we know each other?

Oh, i forgot being incognito on steemit. Yes, have been at Karuna for the little earthspip, build for the tibetian workers. I had pizza at your house, and i remember you've been the cook, making this extrodinary meals for us. But, as i have been one out of many, you might not remember me. From Germany (if it helps).

Your name might help, a picture might help :-)

have a look at facebook, hihi, perhaps it helps.

I am a bit biased, but I highly recommend the north of Spain, that is where I cme from and where we are moving to on Jan 2018. We are seeking to do something pretty much along the lines of an Earthship and we know there is a budding sustainable community that we would love to nurture. The planning is not as lax as in India but it is definitely more ameanable to this sort of thing than the UK is... There are many abandoned rural homes with 1-5 hectares of land for about 60k Euros.... Plus look at the place! This is MY paradise. Mountain and beach within 1 hr drive of each other.



Image sources; 1, 2

BTW, this is our initial design. Will plan to make the top floor out of straw bale, we are researching the feasibility of mixed construction methods.
Turret so far.jpg

Husband is a heating engineer so he is playing with different heating systems if we find temp is not quite what we hoped, and we are planning to introduce a rocket stove mass heater that will incorporate underfloor heating and a hot water tank in that small understair cupboard to charge the thermal battery further in the winter.

Hi Olayer, Where in the north of Spain if I may ask?

Asturias of course! ; -)

Hi @olayar, i never replied to your amazing pictures and plans for Asturias. It looks astonishing there and i am following you now in the hope of getting some 2018 updates on this! Love from India

What an inspiring story! I have been researching earthships for a while now and am trying to figure out if I can make a small one for a "storm shelter" and avoid the problems with building codes.
I will follow and check out your other links as well. Also I am resteeming this.

Thanks for the nice comment and the resteem @stillwatersart. If you want to know more about earthships, you should really check out @eco-alex, he is currently blogging earthships from start to finish. Love.

Yes, I am already following @eco-alex His blog is great!

Had a look at your blog, some very nice posts, a bit too much resteems but following you for the "hippie at heart" :-)

Thank you @bubke. I was away from home for 3 days over the weekend and wasn't able to create much content, but plan to do better this week.

Thank you for sharing your story! What a great journey and I'm interested to read where you will head next with your family.

Mostly welcome, I am also interested to know where we will go next :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63