Driving on the Blue Ridge Parkway

in #travel7 years ago

The Blue Ridge Parkway is a highway that runs from Virginia (VA) into North Carolina (NC). It is a 469 miles long, and stretches through 29 counties combined within VA and NC. It is located in the mountainous part of both states. Many people like to drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway because it has the best views. There are some areas to pull off on side of the road to look at the views of the mountains, rivers, and waterfalls. In 2013, my husband and I road on part of the Parkway in NC; however, many parts of the parkway were closed because of the road conditions. It was early March, and parts of the Parkway were still covered in snow and ice. Most people like driving on the Parkway when it is autumn and the leaves are changing to bright yellows, reds, and oranges. Regardless of the time of year, it is worth cruising and enjoying the scenery.

blueridge4.jpg
One of the places we stopped at off of the Blue Ridge Parkway was called the Pisgah Forest. Above is a photo of a river that ran through the forest. Here is a photo of my husband and I in front of the river.
blueridge10.jpg
We ran into a woman who was willing to take a picture of us. A scary thing that happened, was on the rocks near the water was a green algae that was slimey, and I slipped on it. It really scared me because we were so close to the river and it had a fast moving current. I am glad I caught myself and did not fall in.

This was one of the overlooks of the mountains. The picture does it absolutely no justice. In person, it is captivating.
blueridge1.jpg

Here is a photo of a waterfall we found on the Blue Ridge Parkway. Quick trivia: There are over 250 waterfalls in North Carolina altogether!
blueridge2.jpg

My husband sat on this rock next to the waterfall for awhile. It was really peaceful, and a nice place to take a break and just enjoy the nature around you.
blueridge7.jpg

I have shared this overlook of Cold Mountain before. There is a book, and movie based off the book that stars Nicole Kidman that is titled "Cold Mountain." The setting of the story takes place in Cold Mountain, NC. However, I found this overlook on our drive through the Parkway.
blueridge5.jpg

I also found this overlook of the French Broad river. It may not be the most scenic photo, but I liked it because it showed our level of elevation.
blueridge9.jpg

I wish when we went on this vacation, that it wasn't so cold. We found this cool place called Sliding Rock. When the weather is warmer, people come and slide down this rock because it is sloped, and makes a good water slide.
blueridge.jpg
Here is a Youtube video, I found that someone else took when they were at Sliding Rock. This is not my video, and I do not claim any rights to it. I just want to show what it would have looked like if we could have slid down the rock.

North Carolina is my lovely home. If you have seen my other posts, you know how much I love it. I hope you all get a chance to experience it's beauty one day. :)

Sort:  

Those are some stunning views!!

Many cool places in your hometown. It's interesting to know that there is real Cold Mountain and not just a movie title. Maybe I'm just focusing on one scene in the movie that's why I never thought where the title came from. hehe

Thank goodness that you were never slipped into the river, that's a really scary. I had one experience like that before. It's a company outing, we went to a nearby beach here in the city, it was a bad weather, as soon as we arrived at our destination, I was awed by the ocean that I can't help myself going nearby. Before you can come near the beach, you have to come down from a makeshift concrete stair. Never thought it was slippery,as soon as I made my first step, I slid all the way to the last step of the stair and hit the tip of the ocean. I was hurt and wet at the same time. hehe

A lot of films have been made in North Carolina. Some people called Wilmington, NC the Hollywood of the East Coast because many filming projects are done there. We had a governor who kind of hurt the film industry here though. He put a tax on it, and then he started a law that transgendered people cannot go into bathrooms of their preference, but have to go into the bathroom of the gender they were born with. It pissed off a lot of celebrities and people in show business, so people actually start boycotting filming here for a while. Let's just say that governor didn't get voted back in. A lot of works were taken down to Georgia instead, and I feel like Georgia maybe the new place to go to film on the East Coast.

That was a terrible experience for you. I hate to hear that you had an experience like that. I hope you didn't get hurt too badly!

Your post was selected to be included in my "Diamond in the Rough" series. It's goal is to promote high-quality posts made by new steemians (red fish and minnow) thereby helping them get the exposure they need to grow and thrive within the Steemitverse. You may check the related post Diamonds in the Rough @sandalphon.

Thank you for selecting my post for your series. I appreciate that you find quality posts and share them with the community. I will follow your page to try and keep up with other Steemians with quality posts. Thanks again!

I can't imagine you falling into the water. It must have been freezing! I used to hunt for any waterscape near our area because I like taking photos of them and the sound they make is therapeutic, whether it is thundering or just a quiet flow. It might take me double the time to travel that road just because of stopping to take pictures lol!

I'm sure it would have been freezing. Luckily, I did not fall in. I just got close to falling in lol. You are right, being near the water and hearing the sound is very therapeutic. I love it. That is the best part, to stop and enjoy the scenery and take some captivating photos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58474.85
ETH 2500.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39