Aguas Calientes, Peru

in #travel6 years ago

AC 01.jpg

Perched almost on the top of a mountain, at an elevation of 2,040m (6,690 ft), Aguas Calientes (tr Hot Waters) is a vision of beauty.

Before arriving here on the train from Ollantaytambo, all that I knew about this town, was that it's where you catch the bus to Machu Pichu from, and that it was recommended to arrive here the day before your pass to Machu Pichu, so you can get a good nights sleep before going.


Obtaining a day pass to Machu Pichu, can often require that you book weeks, or even months ahead, during peak tourist seasons.

The view from the train, on the trip here from Ollantaytambo, was so mesmerising, that we seemed to arrive in no time at all.

The moment I stepped off the train, I kicked myself.

I had just today, to explore around. It was an early start the next tomorrow, for the trip to Machu Pichu, where I would be all day, I would have tomorrow night back, to sleep, then an early departure the following morning, back to Cusco.

I could easily have spent a week here. Aguas Calientes also had the best pizza shop I had been to anywhere in Peru, and as if that wasn't enough, the resturaunt also had its own ice-creamery, and that ice-cream is the best I've had anywhere in the world.

AC 02.jpg

Just one of the dominating views. Visible from anywhere in the town

AC 03.jpg

Of course, being on the incline that it is, everywhere you want to go, is either uphill, or downhill. So steep is the incline, that walkways are stepped.

The top of this incline leads to the hot springs for which the town is named. The bottom of the slope leads to the town central plaza.

AC 04.jpg

Yours Truly

AC 05.jpg

AC 06.jpg

One of the features that can be seen, from anywhere in town, in the surrounding mountains

AC 08.jpg

I am so going to check this out, next time I'm there

AC 07.jpg

A close up.

AC 09.jpg

Try doing this in Australia, without being converged upon by armed state revenue collectors.

It is so liberating to be in a country that allows its citizens, and visitors, to have adult status

Bob Inca.jpg

Sorry, I couldn't, not :P



So, that's it for Aguas Calientes. I hope that you've enjoyed my selection and narrative.

If so, be sure to check out my previous posts, and join me again, next Monday, when I share my selection of photos from the selfie capital of the world, Machu Pichu.

Peace.

Sort:  

ah this brought back memories I was there 13 years ago, I done the Salkantay trek and we stayed for 2 nights in Aguas Calientes, I do remember it being beautiful and I was very happy to go in the hot bath after trekking for 6 days.And that train journey back to Cusco was amazing too. Actually the trek was awesome, the mountains are magnificent we camped in front of a Glacier one night, that was amazing, fecking cold but.

Thank you. My plan is to move to Peru at the end of 2019. I fell in love with the place.
Peace.

Wow mate great place and awesome food aswell thanks for sharing.

Dude, these mountains emanate magic. Just being there was incredible :)
Peace.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=bobaphet
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=aguas-calientes-peru


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

One of the best things I learned while extended travel in SE Asia was to stop moving so quickly and settle in to a place to really understand where you are and what are the daily happenings of the place. Lucky for us we still have time to go back to those places that touched us deeply and take them in in their entirety. Looks like a beautiful place. Can’t wait until I get to Peru myself :)

My current plan is to move there at the end of next year. Build steemit now, take it with me to Peru, it's perfect lol
Peace.

Living the cyrpto dream! We are definitely part of something special man. Maybe we can meet up in Peru when we both get there! Not sure I will make it to your part of AUS on this trip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67