Travels With Connie #79 Headed Home

in #travel6 years ago

Sometimes I know exactly where I am going. In that case it’s easy, pick a route and go.

More often I have an idea where I’d like to end up, and generally speaking a direction to go.

Once in a while I just follow the front wheel and see where it takes me.

Woods1-1.JPG

I'm ready to leave Florence, Wisconsin and Sam. That means from here on I'm headed for home. Not directly, you understand, but headed for Yuma. I'm way past halfway on my trip.

Gone Walking-1.JPG

Sam and I walked every day. At first, he'd wait for me, he needed to show me "the right way". By the time I'd been there a few days he would just head out in typical Sam style.

Welcome2-1.JPG

My attempt with this post is to show how fond I am of this place. I can't exactly capture it with pictures, but this is a really good spot for me (for Sam too). The sights and smells and feel of this part of the 'Nort Woods' is just soothing to me. The way too early trip plan for 2019 includes a stop here. Maybe two.

Misty Morning-1.JPG

It's peace and freedom and absolutely no required actions except water the garden when Erv and Nancy are gone. It's a time to rest and recharge, even though I'm doing my favorite thing, riding a motorcycle in unknown country. It's like I'm just able to step away from stuff here. That qualifies it as a cool place, to me.

Osprey Nest-1.JPG

This Osprey nest was on my road headed south and west. I spent the first day away from "lonley Pines" wobbling through rural north eastern Wisconsin. I stayed pretty true to the directions but avoided cities at all costs. It was a good ride, and I even had a good rain to ride in late in the day to start me on the way home.

Garden Sam-1.JPG

It's not like I'll forget this place, I have the pictures and memories, but it's time to ride. I have more stuff to see.

Thanks for coming along for the ride!

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse

The STEEM Engine

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

Very nice. I like the way you said Nort Woods. Being from just South and East of that area, I couldn't help but say it in my head with the same accent and inflection one of the natives would. When you head back that way again you should make a side trip to the Apostle Islands. I haven never been there but the pictures I have seen look fantastic!

I've never gone there either, but it's on the list.

I can't help it. Those are the Nort Woods to me :)

Looks a peaceful place. Thanks for the travel. Lovely!

It is a lovely place for me. If you can't ponder the meaning of life in a deep forest, you probably can't ponder :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 13 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 125 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thanks for taking us on the ride with you to the Nort Woods, looks lovely! Enjoy your travels, Sam & the bike is leading you to amazing places @bigtom13 ;)

Thanks Lizelle. A huge part of what I find is because of my riding style. I am generally speaking not required to be anywhere so I can stop and look everywhere. It's a lot of fun.

That's great!

It is easy to see why you are attracted to that place, who couldn't be? Thanks for letting us ride the back seat.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 297 (10/30/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60345.08
ETH 2986.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81