Travels With Connie #73 Logan Pass

in #travel6 years ago

Sometimes I know exactly where I am going. In that case it’s easy, pick a route and go.

More often I have an idea where I’d like to end up, and generally speaking a direction to go.

Once in a while I just follow the front wheel and see where it takes me.

Rocky Outcrop.JPG

Almost to Logan Pass I got this picture that graphically shows the rock layers that exist here, but also how incredibly little top soil is needed to grow lush forest. On the tops there is almost no soil, but after chunks have broken off and ground themselves to sand on the way to a river you will find lush deep soil. Still with water everyplace.

Logan Pass Parking.JPG

Yes, we are here now. This is the Logan Pass parking lot, we've made it to the sun. The highest point on the Going to the Sun Highway. As you can see, it's quite busy, but I discovered that a good many of the cars actually had met guides in vans here at Logan Pass.

LoganPass People.JPG

Lot's of people. They seem to have been in two basic classes. Young people who were the adventurers, the trail takers, the hikers. Old people who were the observers of the mountains and the people.

Visitors Center.JPG

The visitors center is a glorious building that is not obtrusive and fits right into mountain and the scenery. There were some 'motorcycle only' corners around the parking lot, and I really do appreciate them. I zipped into one where two other guys were saddling up. A father and son from West Virginia who were on their last day of eight. Tomorrow morning they'd put their dual sport bikes in a trailer and pull them home. They were sad to be leaving but so glad they came.

Recreation Vehicles.JPG

These are the true recreational vehicles of Glacier. Those tour busses might look like they came out of the 1930s but those are thoroughly modern vehicles piloted by pro drivers. There are hundreds of them and they aren't restricted to the park. Tours to the surrounding area, too.

Headed That Way.JPG

You can see the difference, if you look. We have crossed the 'rain shadow' and the east side is significantly drier than the west. I don't mean sort of, either.

Eastside look.JPG

This is typical of what you will see on the east. Very dry and stark. I didn't take many pictures on the way down, because I was tired AND hungry. Next time I promise to come from the east and do a much better job with the geology and the road through that part of the Park. I'm really sad to be going, but the road goes on forever.

Thanks for coming along for the ride!

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse

The STEEM Engine

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

Amazing view !

Awesome photos! My parents would have been the older people enjoying the scenery when they went. My dad was able to get some awesome shots from their trip. I don't think he has fully showed me all of the pictures quite yet. Thanks for sharing this post!

This is the end of Glacier, which means the Nikon goes back in the hard bag and it's phone photo time, They aren't bad, but not quite what my Nikon will show.

Thanks for stopping by!

I hear you. The sad thing is I think my dad didn't have his DSLR when they went. He was just using a fixed lens camera. I think if he would have had the Nikon DSLR the shots would have been even more amazing. He did some awesome stuff back when he had his F3.

That is really a neat place and those buses are bad ass. I like this spot a whole lot my friend.

Those busses are bad ass. They really look good, and you see them everyplace. Even outside the park. I'm sure that the next time I go to Glacier I'll take some sort of tour just to experience the bus!

And those big vans? They are generally packed with rosy cheeked young people that are on hiking or mountain bike missions.

nice ride! i especially like the shot with the mountain and snow in the parking lot. this is a photo from
this past weekend?

Those were taken this summer, mid July ish. It's just now starting to cool down enough that I can be venturing out with out huge accommodations to the heat. I've got some nearby places to go to and show.

@bigtom13 ooo awesome!!! yeah the heat has been wow this year. it was boiling here in colorado.

Lovely photos @bigtom13, strange to see the eastern side looking so barren!

It's the rain shadow. Both the Rockies and the Cascades (the western coastal mountains) have big rain shadows on the eastern slopes. The moisture comes in off the Pacific and 'rains out' before it crosses. Then it re gathers and rains out later.

Thank you @bigtom13, I've never heard of that, most interesting... never too old to learn hey ;)
I don't think we have anything like that here in South Africa.

What a lovely post! Thanks for taking me along on the adventure! 💞 Some gorgeous scenery.

Glad to. Thanks for coming along for the ride!

I love that roofline on the visitors center and you are right, it does not intrude. In fact the architect was very smart in copying that line of the mountain ridge and giving it a natural colour roof, it blends but also stands alone pretty nicely.
How'd you fare without yesterday's Steemit being up ? :)

Thanks Donna!

I did some not Steemit things. How about you?

I also did a little writing, it's sorta what I do.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 261 (9/18/18)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 15 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 10 SBD worth and should receive 206 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-18T08:13:48
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 216.95/200.00
Total Photos: 34
Total comments: 9
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88