Travels With Connie #70 Closer to the Top

in #travel6 years ago

Sometimes I know exactly where I am going. In that case it’s easy, pick a route and go.

More often I have an idea where I’d like to end up, and generally speaking a direction to go.

Once in a while I just follow the front wheel and see where it takes me.

The Long View-1.JPG

The Going to the Sun Highway just amazes me. Just when you think you have to be near the top you turn a corner and go up some more. Plus the scenery just keeps getting more and more intense.

Crag Detail-1.JPG

Sometimes it is like you can look right into the heart of a mountain. From a very good Highway! I was just amazed at every turn, I'd see sights that I only expect to see after a long hike.

The road up-1.JPG

Then there is the road itself. It's high grade pavement and I do not remember a single pothole which is astounding considering the weather extremes that it has to endure. Coming from the west it just goes up and up and up.

The Hills are Alive-1.JPG

I believe that the next time I do this road (and there will be a next time soon). I think that the opposite direction will show me panoramas and sights that I just completely missed this trip. I believe I'll go to Waterton National Park, Canada at that time. It is half of Glacier, and I've never seen it. Which puts me up and into another spectacular place on this earth, The Canadian Rockies.

A River Runs-1.JPG

Always water in every low spot. In this case it's a real river running through an incredibly dense forest. There is no noticible bank for the river, the forest grows right up to it.

SnowBowl-1.JPG

High above there is a falling stream headed to the river. The cycle is endless and everywhere.

Higher and higher we go. Thanks for coming along for he ride.

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse

You want some real motorcycle travel? Check out Velimir. That’s some kind of motorcycle writing.

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

OMG, those shots of the mountains. I could stare at that forever. I have to admit, the more I read about your travels this summer and see these pictures, the more jealous I get. LOL What an amazing way to see the country and I am so thankful that you are sharing it with us.

I am just really glad to be sharing it with you. Next time, I'm going East to West AND I'm going to hit Waterton, the Canadian half of the Park. I'd be ready to go tomorrow.

The views are simply breathtaking! I'd love to drive in there!

And it's an unbelievably good road. Usually when you get to scenery even remotely like that you get a battered road surface. Not at Glacier NP. It's a joy.

Enjoyed as always. Thank you again for taking us to your travel, a pleasure from heart :)
Blessings!

Thank you. It is a pleasure from my heart to have you along.

A person really wishes to have wings when looking at your photos. Wow! To be able to fly over those trees would be amazing but I guess your metal beasty is the next best thing 💚

Oh. Would that ever be the place to be able to fly. Where is Peter Pan when I really need him?

what a road trip the scenery and views are phenominal

Thank you. I took hundreds of photos there and the biggest problem I've had here is choosing the right ones!

i can imagine it must have been an amazing experience

You are getting me pretty high up here Tom, have I mentioned that I am a little afraid of heights? Especially my older brother who's nickname was "big Heights".

We are just about to the top, and it turns out to be less than 7000' ASL. Not all tat high when you consider Denver and it's surrounding area.

I am a flat lander, so anything in 4 digits of altitude is "up there " for me. Plus, I like plenty of oxygen, it is good for the brain and heaven knows mine isn't always functioning at a high level at sea level elevations of oxygen, just think what I might write in an oxygen deprived state of mind? Scary, isn't it?

Oh how I miss the US. I haven't been since 2004 and its been too long. The road from Phoenix to Flagstaff via Jerome.. I'm sure you know it... seeing this brings back memories.

Oh yeah. One of my favorite places, Jerome. I love riding on Mingus Mountain, and up through Prescott. Planning a trip there soon, matter of fact.

Excellent article. I learned a lot of new things. I signed up and voted. I will be glad to mutual subscription))))

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-08T15:54:12
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 197.45/200.00
Total Photos: 31
Total comments: 9
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 7 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 11 SBD worth and should receive 276 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44