Travels With Connie #62 Stroll About The Grounds

in #travel6 years ago

Sometimes I know exactly where I am going. In that case it’s easy, pick a route and go.

More often I have an idea where I’d like to end up, and generally speaking a direction to go.

Once in a while I just follow the front wheel and see where it takes me.

Maryhill grounds1.JPG

Sometimes I can't help myself. This title is a direct reference to Simon and Garfunkle's "Mrs. Robinson" from the movie of the same name. "Stroll about the grounds until you feel at ease..." I don't really need a stereo on Connie because I hear the music inside my head.

Maryhillgrounds2.JPG

We are still at Maryhill Museum, but on the outside this time. The most impressive part of the place may be the setting, high up in the Columbia River Gorge. Not to mention the surprise sculpture scattered about. All of these are done by regional contemporary artists.

maryhillgrounds5.JPG

There really are spectacular views of a huge stretch of the river. I can certainly see why you would want to put your home here...

maryhillgrounds9.JPG

My father and I looked at a farm that a friend of his was selling just on the Oregon side and upriver about 30 miles. It was a beautiful set up and absolutely ripe for development. I sometimes wonder about the consequences of the decision not to get it and how my life would have been different. But I digress...

groundsart2.JPG

The grounds of Maryhill are, in their way, as impressive as the building or the collections inside. It's a pretty impressive package.

Note the barge string on the river in the photo above. A storm was predicted for the area so the tow company put this string 'on the hook' in a relatively safe spot and took the tug to protected moorage.

maryhillriver3.JPG

We are going to leave Maryhill. Not because there is nothing left to see, but hopefully we have showed enough to entice you to visit if you are in the area. Remote and beautiful, just like it's a part of the magnificent river it watches.

Thanks for coming along for the ride.

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse

You want some real motorcycle travel? Check out Velimir. That’s some kind of motorcycle writing.

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

Your journeys are always wonderful and entertaining. They also increase our knowledge. I'll wait for your next journey also. Have a great time ahead.

I love the traveling, and I love reporting on my travels. Makes for a good combination for me.

Nice trip! If you ever think about the past, do it only to learn. You could never know what would have happened for better or for worse.
The past is past. Sure, I might be wrong, as I don't have that much of experience as you have.

I was always been thinking that the border between Washington and Oregon was much more greener, as people say Portland is one of the greenest cities in the US. I was till now, only in the South and East part of the US. :)

Oh, I agree about looking at the past. I'd have surely enjoyed the project and the challenge of it. Had I taken that path I wouldn't be right here right now. And right here, right now is pretty damn good!

The river changes character completely in less than 50 miles. The mountain range that divides east from west also divides the rain. The lower end of the river is incredibly lush and green from the onshore winds off the Pacific. This is my end of the river, the part I grew up with. Most prefer the lush green part.

Thanks for stopping by, Alex. Always a pleasure to see you!

LOVE that the Maryhill Museum displays local artists throughout their scenic walkways! It's always good to feature local talent.

Looking forward to your next adventure!

They have some local talent featured inside, too. There is some Dale Chiululy glass and at least one artist from Seattle. There is a really intriguing piece on the grounds that I didn't get very good pictures of. Actually, the photos are fine, I just didn't catch the perspective to show it. I am really sorry about that, maybe the reason I go back the next time I visit my brother.

Thanks for stopping by.

Sometimes some of the most impressive views are on the outside. I like the architecture of the building. The slanted roof reminds me of the war museum building here in Ottawa. What a great visit that is if you ever get the opportunity. I know what you mean about not needing a radio. The music is always playing in my head.

Yeah. Cue the music!

I have a thousand dollar box right here in my office space. It contains more than a thousand dollars worth of failed attempts to add music to a motorcycle :) And the truth is, when I have music there it gets in the way of my thinking!

Thanks for coming by my friend!

Spontaneous travels are often the best and most interesting.

Even the most carefully planned of my travels seem to somehow end up being spontaneous. I'll see something shiny and go look.

Your journeys are always wonderful and entertaining. I'll wait for your next journey also. Have a great time ahead.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-06T10:41:54
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 145.45/200.00
Total Photos: 23
Total comments: 9
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 13 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 12 SBD worth and should receive 92 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @bigtom13! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@bigtom beautiful trip, I used to do that with my husband, took the car and stopped at any place, my husband sings wherever he goes, and Mrs Robinson is one of his favorite, the music is a good company

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.62
ETH 2642.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59