Travels With Connie #47 The Salton Sea Then and Now

in #travel6 years ago

Sometimes I know exactly where I am going. In that case it’s easy, pick a route and go.

More often I have an idea where I’d like to end up, and generally speaking a direction to go.

Once in a while I just follow the front wheel and see where it takes me.




This area was once a part of the Pacific Ocean. A vast inland sea covered much of Southern California. During the Pleistocene glacial melts the Colorado River formed a huge delta in the area that eventually carried enough silt to the ocean to block it entirely. Since then, the area of the Salton Sea has seen a 4-500 year cycle of dry to freshwater to high salinity as the water evaporated.



The breach of the Colorado River in 1905 gave us the New River, the Alamo River and the Salton Sea. Since then the lake has been shrinking, leaving it with extreme salinity and highly polluted. After a heyday of recreation in the 50s and 60s, the lake has been largely abandoned. Settlements around the lake are primarily related to agriculture, and exist in spite of the lake.


What is to be done?

I have good news and bad news. There is a sizable fraction of the people of Southern California that don't give a hoot about the Salton Sea. The good news is that the environmental community is not only aware but actively pushing for solutions to the crisis involving birds and the Pacific Flyway. As agriculture expands and thrives in the valley, the stop offs for migratory birds decrease. Particularly successful has been the cooperation with the local Rice growers who water on a specific schedule all winter to allow huge areas of fresh water to the birds.




In the end, the lake might save itself. There are a couple of dynamics that might force the issue. As the lake level receeds there are big patches of polluted sand exposed that used to be lake bottom. The Santa Ana winds blow that sand right up the Cochalla valley and into Los Angeles creating dust pollution AND a health hazard. Likewise the twice yearly stench from the dying fish drifts all the way to LA. So it would be much in L.A.s best intrest to do something positive with the Salton Sea.


The Plans

Multiple plans have been officially introduced to the State of California to save the Salton Sea. The easy answer would be to divert Colorado River water to it, but every single drop from the Colorado is spoken for, for the next 100 years.

Right now, the Sea is at a very critical stage. The agreement with the local Irrigation District that required replenishing water be diverted to the Sea expired in 2017. Since that time the shrinkage of the lake has increased.

Currently, the State has 11 proposals that would increase water flow to the Salton Sea. There is no official 'favorite' out of these, but the ideas are flowing if not the water.




Possibly the most exciting proposal to me is from a commerical company that would entail 20 miles of salt water canal from the Gulf of California to the Salton Sea. There the water would be desalinated using Solar and Geothermal energy and sold to Southern California water districts, to the tune of 1,000,000 acre feet of fresh water to be sold. The salt water could be easily diverted to Salton Sea which would vastly lower the salt content of the sea and provide increased water surface for the birds and fish.



Rather than the sunset of the life of the Sea it is possible that a new day is dawning. I sincerely hope so.

Thanks for coming along for the ride.

All words and photos in this post are mine, for better or worse. I relied heavily on Wikipedia to get historical and current data.

You want some real motorcycle travel? Check out Velimir. That’s some kind of motorcycle writing.

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

Perfect place for travel @bigtom13. you are great photographer thanks

Thank you. Coming from you that is high praise.

Having been here for part 1 , I had to come back for part 2. It sounds like the lake has a chance with running a line and bringing in desalination equipment, but that more than likely would be 10 years away or more with all the environmental studies that would have to be done in these times. Maybe they just seed every cloud that even is remotely close to there and hope for the best.

There aren't even many clouds in this part of the world :) Some of the environmental impact work is done, some is being wrapped up. The big thing will be for the State to choose a plan and go. The biggest hurdle right now is budgetary. California is always right on the edge of bankruptcy, so the billions of dollars is a monstrous commitment. Particularly when they have a much bigger catastrophe laying in wait in the Sacramento River Delta with all it's Salt Water channels that are above ground level.

But like I said, the lake may save itself. That sand that heads for LA at least twice per year is a pretty good reminder to the folks that pull the purse strings. I'd sure like it if I'd live to see the level go up instead of down...

If they'd give the go ahead a sea water canal could be built pretty quick. The technology and equipment are right here, right now. And with one smallish exception it would all be gravity fed. A 60' deep cut through 2 miles of berm would be all it would take to start the action.

Yes, you have to have clouds before you can make them rain. Maybe the sand blasting will get their attention like you said. How big of a pipe do they think they need?

wow!!!
so amazing clicks 😍
you are too good photographer 👌

I've never heard of the Salton Sea (more then likely because I am not from the area) but still.. to see such a beautiful place failing is saddening.

GREAT history lesson and background about this location. Hopefully people who care about it will have success in saving the natural beauty of the sea.

Something will be done, because this might be the most important stop on the Pacific Flyway. It certainly is the most prolific, over 400 species are seen there every year. I seriously hope that they can see a way to not only stop the damage but reverse. The salt water canal really excites me...

This was a great follow up to your last post on the Salton Sea. I have found both of them to be very intersting reads. Hopefully they can pick one of the solutions to make the area thrive again. Sustaining the bird migration is a big deal that would have far reaching impacts. Great pictures as usual!

Thank you. I think they will get something done at least for the birdies. I actually have hope right now for the first time in several years.

I love this spot. did you go to the abandoned town?

Many times. I have a hard time photographing those places, it feels like I'm violating some one, some how. I love to go there, though.

You should take pictures. I've only been past it once but it was before I was the picture taking type.

I need to go soon. A friend asked me about Love Mountain and the simple answer is I don't know. I haven't been there since the preacher passed on. I can eat a really good burrito on one end of the lake or the other and check some stuff out.

Superb photos, and nice bike bro.

I took all the photos, but that bike isn't mine. It's a good friend who is a real photographer. Much of his work is centered in Yosemite. Anyway, it's a cool bike (maybe not as cool as my red one) and was parked in the right place at the right time.

Thank you!

Not seen your red one as yet & bro, this is a cool bike. 😂

P1110055.JPG

Like shees peering into the distance: "Where shall we go next"..
Lovely shots!

I like that image. Run right up to the edge and then wonder where to.

Thanks!

Gosh, that reminded me so much of the time I went for wild camping at Oman. That was extremely thrilling and I love it! Your post definitely reminded me of those good old times :) Good work Tom :)

Thank you. It is 'solitary' country around there, and the campgrounds are horribly underutilized. It is just a gem in the desert.

The best travel @bigtom13
I am very motivated to do what you do.
I am proud of you
Stay Blessed and Steem On !!

Thank you. I am blessed to be able to travel like I do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68293.69
ETH 3899.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69