Travels With Connie #44 Interlude: Mountain Valleys

in #travel6 years ago

Sometimes I know exactly where I am going. In that case it’s easy, pick a route and go.

More often I have an idea where I’d like to end up, and generally speaking a direction to go.

Once in a while I just follow the front wheel and see where it takes me.

Look carefully at this photograph. You can see the effects of winter in the grass that is crushed down from the snow. But there is a solid hint of spring: The flowers right behind Connie. You can see a faint hint of purple and a couple of small patches of yellow. It's almost here, spring in the high country.

Then there is this. These two photos are right across the road from one another, but the meadows are not quite synched. One side is late winter and the other glorious spring.

You can see here that the grass really hasn't started growing yet. It will, and it will take over these venues. But right now, the flowers dominate. Yellow first, then the rise of the white, and in places, patches of purple.

The whole palette is quite incredible. There are a wide variety of colors that are available and many of them are exposed here.

When you get to looking at the individuals you see that they are quite delicate and small, but when they are massed together it's another story. I think that is probably the same with humanity in general. Alone or scattered we don't amount to much. When we are all together we are amazing.

One thing I know for an absolute fact: The road goes on. Thanks for coming along for the ride.

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse

You want some real motorcycle travel? Check out Velimir. That’s some kind of motorcycle writing.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

Nice. Wild flowers are the best.

Looks so peaceful. I might have to buy me a Connie. :D

Connie is loyal and willing. Pretty good qualities :)

Aw, this one is gorgeous, in comparison to the previous one. The yellow flowers always look stunning in the nature and under the right light it looks like some sort of a magic just happens.

It is a lot happier than the last, isn't it? I just love those high valleys, I go to them often. When it's 40C here it's only 25C up there.

excellent as always!!!

I like all the yellow! We have mostly bluebonnets over here in TX

I've ridden in Texas in Bluebonnet season. That can be pretty spectacular, too. We have a really short lived purple (Verbena) that is really cool, too.

Those photos look absolutely amazing, there is a certain amount of freedom in them, I love it. 💚

Riding a motorcycle alone IS freedom. Finding the right places to stop is the icing on the cake.

I bet you had fun. Looks cool

I always have fun when I am out and about with Connie.

I always find it so interesting how there can be such differences so close together like you two pictures from both sides of the road. On our street it is funny to watch as spring comes and the snow melts. One side of the street melts so much faster than the other because of how much sun it gets through the day. We are on the good side.

Isn't it something? This area right here is a little lower than the peak altitude and it's way ahead of the top. It's really amazing the difference a couple of miles can make.

On Saturday here, there was a 5 degree temperature difference 20 KM away. Too funny

Such breathtaking imagery and lovely insights. thanks for sharing your adventure.

I love doing the adventures, I really do. But I REALLY love being able to share them and impart some of the joy and wonder that I feel.

Thanks for your kind words. I really do appreciate it.

In life, everyone supposed to have a direction, or track in which the person should focus on to avoid chasing his/her shadow. Thanks for that words of reflection.

I enjoy those valleys year around, but spring is special. Thanks for the kind words.

You are most welcome sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49