A Chinese/Asian Girl's Thoughts on the United States of America 我对美国生活的感受

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

webwxgetmsgimg-2.jpg

First of all, I will have to clarify that I spend most of my time living in New York in the United States of America, and for rest of my time, I travel everywhere in the state. Therefore, my experience will mostly be influenced by the culture of the NYC.

首先要声明一下,我被美国纽约文化影响最大,所以一下的总结可能并不适用与每一个美国州。

People:
People here do not normally know much about China or Chinese people. But almost everybody likes the Americanized Chinese food here because it is delicious and cheap. Asian people are often taught to be humble and polite, whereas the people here are taught to be confident. Americanized people talk with louder and more enthusiastic voices, a lot of gestures, and more facial expressions. Americanized people are more likely to strike a conversation with you when you guys are in a line or say hello to you when you walk by each other on the street. In Asia, people might think you are crazy if you smile at or say hi to them on the street.

这里的人吧,大都觉得中国很神秘,在美国也听不到什么关于中国实际的消息。在美国中餐大都非常美味而且便宜,美国人基本上没有不爱中国菜的。中国人大都被教育要谦虚礼貌,讲话时候也相对西方人淡定。怎么说呢,美国人讲起话来声调上上下下,手势很多,面部表情更是开挂一样停不下来。在街上走的时候,在中国要是有人迎面走来超你笑或说嗨,你肯定吓死。在美国,那是再普遍不过。比如你们刚好一起在排队,他随随便便就可以扔给你一句话和你聊起来。

Greeting:
In China, people do not greet you with kisses on the cheek or hug you. They simply say hi to you or shake your hands. In a family, most of the Chinese people do not hug each other either. Take myself as an example, I do not hug or kiss my parents, and my parents do not kiss or hug each other either. Whoever holds their hands in public will be considered as a couple as well. In the U.S., it is completely different, family members say that they love each other very often, and they kiss and hug each other. They greet you with kisses or hugs or hand-shakings. They can hold hands, kiss, or do anything other things in public and still will not be considered as a couple. Lol.

In China, girls hold hands and are intimate with each other in public, but they are not considered as lesbians by doing those. While in the state, it is the opposite. Once I was hanging out with a tall Chinese girl who looked a tiny little bit manly and got asked by a shop assistant if we were a couple. I know, it was odd.

搞笑了,在中国大家见面基本say hi或者握手,在美国,有亲你脸的,有上来直接给你个熊抱的,当然也有和你握手的。在家里的话,很少有中国人和家人亲亲抱抱的,在美国,家里人会说啊我爱你,也会经常亲亲抱抱。在中国你看街上手牵手的基本上都是情侣,在美国你公众下亲亲抱抱也不一定是情侣。在中国,女孩子走路的挽着手腕,或者牵手,靠在一起呀等等,都很正常。在美国,no,no,no,你们俩直接会被认为是同性恋。哈哈哈这文化差异很有趣。

Relationship:
In China, guys tend to be very submissive to their girlfriends. They take care of and buy things for their girlfriends. For example, it is most of the time a guy pay the bill when a couple hangs out together. A couple will tell each other "I love you",
whereas it often takes a long long time for a western person to say it to their partner.

In China, a girl and a guy usually become a couple first, then do intimate things like holding hands, kissing, having sex, etc. In the U.S., two people can do every thing together and are still single.

Interestingly, I find it surprising when I know an American person's parents are not divorced and a Chinese person's parents are divorced.

这个更有趣了,在中国,男生对自己女朋友都很好,捧他们如女神,给她们买东西,出门买单等等。而且也是甜甜蜜蜜的,会说我爱你。但是!在美国,一个人会花很长很长时间对对方说出我爱你,他们非常重视这个“我爱你”。在中国,两个人基本会成为情侣,然后再说一些亲密的行为,比如牵手呀,亲吻呀,爱爱呀等等。在美国,呵呵呵,很多人神马都做了,两个人还是单身!在中国,家庭大多数都是完整的,离婚率也没有美国那么高。在美国,要是我听到某个朋友父母是没离婚的,我反而是会感觉很惊讶的!

IMG_3168.jpg


CLICK TO UPVOTE MY PREVIOUS ARTICLES:


Hope you like my post and give it a bigggggggg UPVOTE! 请给我一个大大大大大大的赞!

Sort:  

Funny how that similar relationship culture existed in the U.S. over 50 years ago and has since vanished. Blame American television! I now live in the SE Asian region and that old culture is slowly disappearing here also.

Very interesting! ha

Cool photo! It reminds me of the film "Boss Baby". :) Upvoted! I'm also a Chinese living in America. My husband is American.

I upvoted you back. You guys are so cute haha

Awesome! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63887.77
ETH 3417.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56