Travel Diaries: Diving Perhentian Kecil, Malaysia.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Dive Sites.

Quiver Dive Team has a list of Dive Sites on their website.
They offer a range of courses including Discovery (for those who would like to be PADI certified).

I explored Golden Bay, Tokong Laut (“Temple of the Sea” in local Malay) and Romantic.

My favourite?

Tokong Laut, no contest!
It is a pinnacle of rock rising out of the sea, and it’s walls are encrusted with sea life. There’s lots of healthy (colourful) coral, nudibranchs, blue spotted rays, boxfish, pufferfish, (I saw three) Hawksbill turtles, schools of yellow fusilier, and although bamboo sharks are a common sight, I didn’t get to see one. Temple is also part of the whale shark migration route! So if you’re lucky…. (Still on my bucket list)


Us & gorgeous coral; Tokong Laut.


Nemo’s cousins; Tokong Laut.

Perhaps a reason to return? I wouldn’t mind diving Temple again!

Golden Bay treated me with another Eagle Ray, Blue Spotted Rays and a few Black Tip Sharks.
Romantic however, had terrible visibility so I didn’t see a thing. It is a muck dive and the stretch where Romantic's located is called the “Boat Highway”. Watch out for speedboats above you when Surfacing! Boats usually try to keep an eye out for divers, but better be safe than sorry.

I don't have many photos of myself diving (I’m usually the one behind camera- not the greatest, but always learning). I enlisted the services of Dave, a dive instructor and his fancy DSLR (housing and all) to take some of me so I could focus on buoyancy and enjoy the experience. Quiver Dive Team don’t usually have photographers for hire but I got lucky! (it never hurts to ask)


My favourite: Falling into a sea of Yellow.

Being engulfed or drifting into a school of fish; there can't possibly be a better feeling.

You become weightless.

I am always in awe at how they never touch me. All those hundreds of fish, everywhere I look, almost touching but not. Move a muscle, and they move too - Takes 'vibing' to another level.

It was incredible and I wish I'd taken my GoPro.
Blinded by Yellow; also disorienting but you Breathe. :)


*Images belong to me.

Want to know more?

Malaysian Bytes: The Perhentian Islands.
Malaysian Bytes: Perhentian Islands II.
Malaysian Bytes: Afternoons on Perhentian Kecil.
Travel Diaries: Thriving Golden Bay.
Travel Diaries: G’morning from the islands, Perhentians IV.
Travel Diaries: Diving the Perhentians, Malaysia.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing. My wife and I visited Perhentian Island on our honeymoon 18 years ago. We didn't dive but snorkellled said on some beautiful reefs. I remember thousands of anemones with many types of clown fish.

Ohhhh, it must have been a dream 18 years ago! I mean it's still beautiful when diving, but not many anemones in the snorkel areas these days. The reef is healthy though, I snorkelled with a Mama Black Tip Shark and her cubs! There is also a resident Eagle Ray that some lucky snorkellers have spotted. Come back and visit! 20th anniversary vacay! :D

Very nice pictures. I followed some friends who wanted to dive to Perhentian but didn't dive in the end.

nooo, dives are easy and so pretty. would've enjoyed themselves. that's okay, it's a reason to return. :)

So beautiful! Truly amazing...

it is! 🤗🤗🤗

Congratulations on getting your 100th follower @bellekaur!!

thank you!!!
:) :) :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59