The Most Powerful Lessons I’ve Learned From Traveling

in #travel6 years ago

Anya and I are traveling this week since it’s Thanksgiving in America and we are going to visit family out of town. I feel like every time I travel I learn so much from so many different people so I figured I would share with my wonderful Steemit friends.

To Be Patient

When traveling, you meet people from literally all over the world and each is from a different background raised with different morals and values. What may be important to me may not be important to someone else so I have learned to be patient with others when traveling. If I try to enforce my will upon others, it just creates hostile situations and increases tensions. And that doesn’t create a very good environment.

Wear Versatile Clothing

I have seen so many people in my travels and I have studied their clothing to determine what styles work well for traveling and what styles don’t work well. In this, it depends on how long you will be traveling for and which class of accommodation you have secured for yourself. If you are flying first class on a plane, it really doesn’t matter what you wear because you will be comfortable regardless. The size of the seat allows you to spread out as you need.


Photo by JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

If you are flying coach class, you have to be prepared for anything. Sometimes, the area is hot and other times its cold. Sometimes, you are shoved up right next to the person sitting next to you and other times you have a little bit of personal space. So, Anya and I dress in layers and bring a small blanket with us in the event we need it. Dressing comfortably and in layers has saved us so much hassle during our various trips!

Learn the Local Customs

I had to learn this one the hard way during my first few trips overseas and I wouldn’t recommend traveling to another country without first learning the local customs. The last thing you want to do is tick off the locals! One such custom is to not cross your silverware on your plate when you are finished eating. Or don’t show the bottom of your shoe in public. Wear button up shirts in some countries and cover your face in others if you are female. In some countries, local men will not directly speak to foreign women and local women will not speak directly to foreign men.

Each area of the world that you travel to has their own way of doing things and you should be mindful of the local customs before you even leave home.


Photo by Paolo Nicolello on Unsplash

Plan for the Unexpected

I plan for every occasion when traveling because Murphy’s Law applies and if it can go wrong it may go wrong so you may as well have contingency plans. We always arrive to the airport very early to make sure we have enough time to get through security and we always double and triple check that we have all the necessary paperwork we need to travel. I take an Uber or Lyft to the airport and don’t ever leave my vehicle in the long term parking while we are away. I made that mistake once and won’t ever do it again.

What lessons have you learned while traveling? I would love to hear your thoughts!

Thanks for reading!

Jeff

Sort:  

Congratulations @ascorphat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48