The beauty of Taranaki Mountain!

in #travel6 years ago

I had promised to show you two big oil paintings I did of Taranaki Mountain. So now I must keep my promise.

Time to paint in:

We were in New Zealand for just less than two and half months. And in that time I had promised to paint two oil paintings of Taranaki Mountain, for our family that lives there. So I fitted in painting time in between our travels in that wonderful exciting country. 

Getting things together:

  1. First, they bought two canvases, some paint tubes and turps in Palmerston North. I had brought with me from South Africa some brushes, palette board and dipper wells. 
  2. Our son and his wife took us all around Taranaki Mountain, so that we could get just the right composition and angles of the mountain they hoped would suit their impression of what they wanted most.  
  3. That took quite a few days travelling here and there, before settling down on what scenes were the best to use. 
  4. The room that was given to me to paint in didn’t have the best setup for light. But since I’m used of painting in unusual places for doing demos, I made the best of it. 
  5. Our son saw I needed an easel and went downstairs to his garage and within about an hour returned with a lovely easel he had made there and then. I was so amazed that he had made it in so short a time! 

Working in stages:

If you are an artist, you may appreciate how I painted the oil paintings of Taranaki.  

I normally build up my oil paintings in sequent layers: 

  1. First a light wash of raw sienna and turps as an overall undercoat of yellow. This unites the upper-coats and gives the impression of sunshine permeating up through the topcoats. 
  2. Next I used a small brush to outline the main composition shapes and contours. This helps to originate and position the elements. Afterwards I can shift or re-shape the items within the composition as I please. 
  3. The next stage is the blocking in of the basic colours and tones of the different items and surrounding background.  
  4. Usually working from the top and left side of the canvas, so I don’t smudge the paint. No detail is put in with each stage. 
  5. Later I can always lighten and darken where necessary. Those creating form. 
  6. In the last stage or layer, you make the final little adjustments and add the finer details. Like highlights and adjustments of contrasting tones and colours. 

Working a day here and a day there:

With each of those stages, work on the painting is only done when the previous layer of paint is dry.  

And remember I was working on two canvases. So working on one, one day and then the other the next day alternately, depending of cause on the length of the drying periods.  

And while it was drying time, we were taken out visiting folks or seeing the splendid beauty of New Zealand.  

When the oil paintings were basically done (before the final detail stage) we travelled down to and through the south island of New Zealand. As you saw and read my blog series, we had a grand time there. 

Finishing off:

When we got back to the north island again, it was time to set up the paintings and put in the last finishing touches. 

I decided to create greater impact and dramatize the scenes. But that was when I realized the brushes I had brought with me from South Africa, weren’t the best to finish off with. Oh, dear! 

So here again, I did my best under the circumstances. What I needed to do was to contrast the tones and colours. And where to add highlight sparkles against darker tones. 

Here are the finished paintings:

And by the way, that lady standing next to the paintings is actually me!!! 

Sort:  

Hi @artguru! You are really a true artist. It's a phenomenal and sensational painting. As if I stand in front of Mount Taranaki and enjoy it directly.

Imagery I far fly and get into your paintings ...

Thank you for sharing the beauty and happiness of @artguru! We love you! Greetings super!🙏

Thank you. I tried to give the paintings depth, so I smiled when you said you felt yourself fly into the paintings.

Woah! I’m so glad you shared these with us and I’ve seen! How amazing :)
The first one is very special with the way you have captured the water, it looks so beautiful! The bushes and trees look so realistic I love it :)

I love how you’ve captured mt.taranaki on both images, the snow capped peak is always amazing to look at and must have been so much fun to paint!

Really great job on these ones, I think they could be my favourite out of he many nz ones of yours I have seen over the past few months I’ve been following you :) can’t wait to see more

The first painting for our grandson: The actual place where that was seen from, was high up on a cliff ledge. And when I looked up and saw that view, I know this scene would be a hit. Couldn't wait to paint it.
The second painting was an emotional trip for me to start with. If you had been reading my previous blogs, you would have known how I got an electric shock by touching that fence by mistake!!

Wow ! You are really a great artist 👍
Best thing is that you first visit there feel there and draw the painting.
As you mentioned you don't get proper lighting but in your painting is perfect.
It's look like you captured it.
Incredible 😍

Thanks.
Each time I went back to paint, I had to review how the lighting was affecting the paintings.
I think I enjoyed the challenge.

That was really busy for you and look at the painting it dreamy

Even our son said those two and half months were really busy.
And it was dreamy. Been in New Zealand was like living a beautiful dream!

Thats much impressive i likes it

Wow! Wow! Wow!

Oil paintings are very beautiful and very pleasant to enjoy. You paint with extraordinary abilities. I have never seen Taranaki Mountain directly, but you have introduced it very fantastically @artguru.

Thank you for sharing and you have fulfilled your promise. You are a very extraordinary person and we admire.

Greetings also for your son who is extraordinary @artguru.

I also hope our son sees his and his son's paintings on Steemit!?

you are a good artist.this oil painting just fantastic.again you showing this painting taranki mountain.its really amazing art and you describe doing this art very properly.your introduce style skills always perfect.we can seen very good place nature to visit your blog..thanks to sharing for your extraordinary thought post.you always fullfill your promise..thanks to sharing for your awesome creativity..very well done..stay blessed always your son and you.. may god bless you.. my good friend.. @artguru

I appreciate your kind words.

Wao so great awesome fabulous painting i really like it....so great work very hard work...you are a great artist...thanks for sharing...

Thanks. I loved sharing the experience we had in New Zealand.

Most welcome dear...great experience...

So you have fulfilled your promise that you made earlier. Thanks for this wonderful painting. I had read your earlier blog regarding the visit to Taranaki mountain and i found it really interesting but in it you painted a picture with a small stream and some grey rocks. I wondered why you didnt make the mountain. Perhaps you were waiting for that promise. The painting really was worth all the wait. Genius build up and a great finish.

Yes, you are quite right. I didn't show a painting of the whole Taranaki mountain because I was waiting to show those paintings towards the end of the series, when they were completed at the end of our trip.

Congratulations dear Guru ji for sunni g the heart of not only your son but mine also, this is really a masterpiece of your art work and you poured your everything in this beautiful landscape art and I happy ghat I am your student and follower so I will learn alot from this and use on my own art work so it will improve very slightly thank you for your awesome efforts.
God bless you.

With love and respect.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76