Serenity & beauty of Lake Te Anau!

in #travel6 years ago

It was like been in the Switzerland, with snow and swirling mist on the Alps, giving it a thrilling chilly countenance.

Where had we come from?

We left Invercargill and were travelling to the town of Te Anau. If you check out the map, Te Anua is near the bottom and on the west side of New Zealand’s south island.

 

As we traveled I took photos from our moving car, of the passing scenery.

Arriving in Te Anau:

Because we were a bit too early to take possession of our booked chalets, we crossed the road and parked under the trees, which were close to the shores of Lake Te Anau, to wait our turn.  

Considering it was lunch time, we made a picnic of the food stored in the boot of one of our cars. When the rain started to threaten we packed up and decided to checked-in with the chalets. 

Our chalet:

I really liked the chalet that was allotted to my husband and myself. It had a happy feel about it, even though it was small. Perhaps because it was cosily decorated with two lovely biggish windows that let the light in and gave you surrounding views.  

It held a double bed and side tables opposite the entrance door. On one side of the door, were open shelves for clothing and luggage. And on the other side there was a wall unit desk and a kettle.  

We made hot drinks with the kettle. And I used the desk later, to catch up and transfer my photos from my camera to my laptop. 

With the fine rain having stopped, we took the chance to… 

Exploring along the lakeside:

Everyone rushed off, leaving me to take a slower causal walk, taking my time to photographs. I really enjoyed this time to myself, to soak-in the serene beauty of the scene all around me. 

I watched the gulls and birds doing their thing and took note of the little things. Like how the moss and different types of grasses grew between and over the off-white and grey stones. 

It’s fun to check the different fora and flora of a country. Here things were so different to the rest of New Zealand, perhaps because it’s closer to the South Pole, and near the fjord land reserve area and snow-capped mountains. 

Here are some photos I took of the Lake:

 

Here is an oil painting I did of Lake Te Anua.

 

Notice how the water seeps out from the higher ground. Some places there was more water running down and into the lake than others. This seepage is what must create the moss. 

There may seem a lot of white in this painting. But you can’t avoid it, because of the reflection of the mist upon the water and glistering water on the stones.

Photos don't always do justice to paintings!

  • In the painting the mist over the mountains looks rough, but I had gradated and subtly blended the colours!
  • In the original there isn't any golden yellow in the upper sky. That was caused by a shadow, while taking a photo of the oil painting! 

The round-up of the day:

At last I caught up with the rest of our party, and walked back together to our lodgings via a pathway alongside the tarred road.  

We were all in a happy mood and soon were enjoying a braai. That’s a South African name for cooked meat on a fire. The family had brought their own portable braai box with us. 

We gathered round the fire and had a lovely social time together that evening. It was like been home from home with everyone laughing, talking and sharing.  

Then putting everything away, we took time out to shower at the provided ablution block. It was some distance from our chalets, over very stony ground. Not so pleasant, especially when you’re half-awake and have a need, in the middle of the cold dark night! 

Warning: 

When travelling, before leaving your shower cubicle, you need to check to see you have gathered all your personal stuff. For example, if you leave your shampoo bottle, there are too many people lodging in holiday resorts to know who it really belongs to.  

That is what happened with my husband. It wasn’t there when he returned straight away. It had vanished and there was nothing he could do about it! 

To Bed and to dream

The next day we would be on our way to Milford Sounds and take a tour of the fjords in a huge touring boat. The whole adventure there and back was so exciting and profound.  

Now… that, you will hear more about in my next few New Zealand blogs.  

Sort:  

Looks like an amazing journey in that part of the world. The pictures are really great and what's even more amazing is that you took them in a moving car. I also like to do that, get away from the group for a while and take some photographs . Guess that's what you call passion.
And the most beautiful of all this is the oil painting, it is completely breathtaking. I had to look twice to check if it was really a painting.
You've got amazing skills, the name artguru suits you perfectly ;)

Well I've had practice taking photos from moving cars. What you do is: Get the tone & lightening ready for the day, general setting. Then while the car is moving, look ahead to see what's coming up next. Take your chances that you won't get a signpost or a bunch of trees in the way. And when shooting, focus more on the background. In one of my future blogs on New Zealand, you'll see a shot of blurred foreground... I just thought it about time I was proving I was taking it from a moving car!

Practice is what is important. I can take decent photographs but in a moving car I really struggle

Amazing journey again, though I must appreciate your skills to capture the nature in the moving car, you got a great eye..I love the way you end up your story with a earning too which is so relevant to travel journey's as we tend to forget something's as we bagpack.I have been a follower of your posts for sometime now, but to be honest I take a lot of inspiration from your write up and I try to mould it in my write up's...Thank you :)

Good to hear that, you taking inspiration from people, I know how much you have in you, just keep patience and give your best, your time will come too bro

Time will come sooner or later what he has to do is to be patient.

U5drraxManRSRK33uitdarPSParM1pw_1680x8400.jpeg
I saw the beauty if anau ...it is breath taking but what i am much more concerned about is painting ...being an artist i see true beauty in there ...the work , the time , the passion , the detail , love with art....you really have made it different from anything .....perfect use of colors ....it must have took more than 4 hours i guess...it is really mesmerising ....great art work....
I personally know what painting is like....i myself have been sketching for almost 3 years now....but i havnt deared to go with painting..it really needs skills....and @artguru has got it...

What I do is to prepare several canvases with a wash of raw sienna as an undercoat and leave it to dry. Then select what I what to paint and fill in the basics. When that's dry I finish off the last coat of paint, usually with the final details. So most times it's three stages.

And people here just take a look and say great work....if they come to know how much time and accuracy it needs moreover the patience to keep going....they wud be like really you are a creator and wud kind of respect you the moment they see you..

Wow your life is so much fun. You travel all you want. Anyways it's true that we shall not cease from exploration, and the end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started and know the place for the first time. Anyways the pictures you captured are fabulous and that too from a moving car, absolutely amazing. And the oil painting, I think you are one of the best artists I have ever seen. This is some incredible stuff. And I love the birds, they look real and alive. It's always great to see from you. Thank you.

Only the first two collages were from the moving car!
And there really were gulls flying about when I was walking along the store.

the amazing scenic beauty of "Dal Lake" in Kashmir, have a visit... IMG_20180311_184904.jpg
i_s_h_f_a_q_-20180311-0001.jpg

Hey @artguru...Great article ..Very wonderful journey....again again and again...amazing hill tracts ..I always appreciate your photography....What a beauty in newzealand....It is the most tourism country ....
Thanks for sharing your enjoyable moment wit us...enjoy your journey and keep it up @artguru..

Travel is the most interesting part of your blogs. Judging by the map of the Fiordland National Park just huge. You were so close to him.
The landscapes you photographed from the car are delicious. It is difficult to choose words to describe all this beauty.
The lake is very interesting for its diversity. You are an excellent photographer and you know how to convey the atmosphere.
It is also worth noting that you once again created an excellent picture. Personally, I would like to have one of your paintings in my room. I really respect creative people and manual work. Can you play one of your paintings for your followers?
I liked your journey. The incident with your husband will be a lesson for us. This can happen to everyone, so you need to take away your personal belongings.

Now… that, you will hear more about in my next few New Zealand blogs.

I look forward to continuing. Thank you

I plan to sell my New Zealand's paintings on my website: www.adafagan.co.za ...one of these days.

New Zealand for sure is a natural beauty that everyone must see. The mountains the greenery every bit presents a fresh feeling. You are lucky man to travel and visit New Zealand.

I thought that and still do. It was so fantastic! A powerful experience... but wait till we get to experience Milford Sounds, now that was/is something you'll forget.

All i could say is have a great time ahead... Do share some memories with us also.

very beautiful scennery sir......

Amazing man @artguru ...seems a wonderful journey of yours and explained very well. .... The photographs are perfectly captured ,reflects overall nature... Thankyou

My two greatest loves are painting and swimming. When I travel I always take my camera with, so I can collect scenes to paint, such fun, It's like taking an adventure, each time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58445.33
ETH 3158.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22