Hitchhiking Tales #2 - From Belize City to San Ignacio, the border with Guatemala

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

There I was, without knowing what to do. I spent $10 US more in a ticket ferry I lost. I couldn´t spend $1o more in a bus from Belize city to San Ignacio. People told me I should NOT hitchhike in Belize because it´s not safe, at all. But hey, I´ve hitchhiked in southern México so would it really be more dangerous in this unknown Country for me? 114 kilometers is a long way to go in a Belizean highway, at some parts it gets bumpy and it is a two way road with just space for one car in every direction so that means no more than 80 km/h.

The hell with it. Let´s do this, I thought.

But it wasn´t that easy. To get to a good spot to hitchhike I had to walk like 8 km to the highway and from there another km. In order to get picked up you have to be in a spot where people traveling to another state will be for sure, that´s  why I had to walk to the highway. The thing is, for someone to pick you up they have to think they are your only option therefore I had to get away from the bus stop.

I got picked up from an unknown guy. He just told me to jump on the cabin of his pick up truck. So after a second of doubt I jumped up. 

He was going to Hattievile, just 25 km southwest of Belize city so when we got there he just stopped, got his head out and told in a broken english "Tis where Im going, see ya". So I assumed I had to get down. I didn´t even got say thank you because as I was walking to his window he drove off.

Well, this is new, I thought. But hey, he got me closer to my destination.

I took my shirt off. The sun was at its peak and I was sweating like a pig. I kept walking on the highway and it was just the same drill. After ten minutes a pick up stopped. This time I got to tell this random stranger I was going to San Ignacio. He responded in Spanish "Voy para Belmopan, ahí te dejo - I´m heading to Belmopan, I´ll drop you there" while pointing his pick up truck cabin. Im glad he picked up a random shirtless dude on the highway.

So up the cabin again.

Some cows we ran into in the road :D

I thought to myself: This is pretty dangerous. Isn´t it illegal to drive at 70-80km/h with a person in the back? Any small accident and I´m good as dead. But yeah, I couldn´t spend money on transportation due to being a doofus and losing the ferry ticket.

I got to Belmopan and there I met Nina, this German girl who happened to be waiting for the bus. We started speaking and in 10 minutes I convinced her to hitchhike with me. She had already done it before so it wasn´t something new to her.

We got picked up by Amir and his son Tevin. Amir has mexican parents so we got to speak in spanish. Nina lived in Nicaragua for a year so she jumped in the conversation. Tevin all the way kept firing at us with his water-less water gun.

We got to San Ignacio. Safe and Sound. And thirsty, very.

 

This was very different from my first hitchhiking experience but I learned a lot. I guess that after a few more posts like this I´ll make a "Tips for hitchhiking post"

Safe travels my friends.

Sort:  

looks like quite the adventure!

It is! Im happy you enjoyed the reading my friend! More to come in the near future hopefully hehe

You reached safely.. was it your first experience. Water less water gun...very funny..

Hehehe it was funny when I wrote it. I was giggling to myself hehe. It was my second experience doing it and I plan to do it more across central america! I will tell you how it went, if you dont hear about me in a while, well, you know how it went hehehe.

It's been over hmmm quite a few years I didn't hitchhike. Looks like lots of fun

It was so much fun! Of course like everything that involves some risk, I was nervous at first about hitchhiking in a different country than mine. You should do it some day! To remember the good old days maybe?

Good job @anomadsoul. Loving your adventures almost like being there, but sitting at the laptop sipping tea. Travel well my friend, happy adventuring :-)

I´m so happy to read this! This is the main goal about me writing like this, so people can feel like they are experiencing it right there with me :D

Where are we going next? I wish I was really going with you on this great adventure.

Thanks man! I´m relieved I´m still here hehehe

So cool! I love your attitude. Good to see that you're having fun with all these strangers. I can't remember when I hitchhiked the last time, however here on Canary Islands you could theoretically do it all the time. There is probably no safer place on Earth...
Good to know you've arrived safe at your next destination, too!
Have fun, traveller - and keep us posted 😊

What can I say? Maybe you are missing on some great experiences! Lose the car on sundays and hitchhike to the mall surfer! Safe and sound, at least for the moment.
I´ll keep you posted, the first to find out actually :)

Hey anomadsoul , great post, I also hitchhiked a few times :P. I want to focus especially on newcomers but also on people that are very active. My plan is to build up a community with active users to support each other and creating a curation trail. Looking forward to curating more effectively, would you be interested? Upvoted and following, greetings Lena!

Hey Lena, Count me in. Keep me updated about what should I do. I already have a streemian account but I don´t know really how to use it :S
Danke für for the follow and the upvote! :)

hehe thank you very much :) some people on steemit introduced me how to ground a curation trail, I am also very new in this topic, this is his post, it is perfect explained what a curation trail is https://steemit.com/faq/@acidyo/what-are-curation-trails-and-delegated-steem-power , first step you have to logg in on Streemian and then we can follow each other, upvoting our post and support each other :) thank you very much for replaying !! Feel free to ask for more , looking forward to work together

Perfect, Im already on streemian, so should i just follow you and thats it?

cool thank you yeah that would be cool and I can follow you, too. Just tell me after you found me cause some people have problems to find me there :( :O And I cant figure why, just let me know after you found me there, greetings Lena

Where is God there is the bravest ;) God job. Great that you met Nina, excellent. God hands are everywhere. I love shots and the whole story. The best part when the guy just took you and then just drove away. It seems he did what he needed and the end of story. :) Resteem

Exactly! It feels like people just cross your path to help you and keep growing!

I do know there will be moments when I doubt this, but I do believe that people are good, and that good it is still worth fighting for. Thanks for the resteem Margaret! Im glad you followe my trip very closely, thank you for that.

You are so welcome ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59653.51
ETH 2353.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47