Iceland: A song of Ice and Fire - Part III- Icelandic adventure begins

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

This is the story of our honeymoon in Iceland in the month of December 2016, the is the third part of the blog. If you are interested you can check out the first part : Iceland: A song of Ice and Fire - Part I and the second part: Iceland: A song of Ice and Fire - Part II.
We flew off Oslo to Reykjavik crossing the Norwegian Sea it was cold icy and dark below, my better half is scared of water and she was occupying the window seat. Though I was thoroughly enjoying the visuals she was darting her nails into my skin till we touched down.
Iceland_air_1.jpg

glacier.jpg

Just as we were about to approach the Reykjavik airport we were flying at a low altitude over arctic ocean, which was pitch dark, and according to my wife she could see whales breath in water. She was praying to god that even if the plane crashes may it be on land as she doesn't want to end up in the tummy of a shark or a whale☺

landing-at-iceland.jpg

Nothing of that sort happened and we landed safely at Reykjavik . At last we had arrived to the place where we wanted to be for so long, months of planning seems to culminate into this beautiful experience. Next we headed to the Hertz counter to get our car, we had specifically asked for a manual transmission 4x4 Toyota RAV 4 or similar. The attendant at the counter informed us it was a Renault Kadjar that was assigned for us. Took copies our papers and handed us the key and relevant documents. Told us to find the car in the parking lot, in the parking lot we came across this beaut:
IMG_20161202_061827.jpg
IMG_20161202_061853.jpg
I was finding it difficult to figure out the on board navigation and get out of the airport, the google map was throwing wrong direction and I was going round and round about the dark empty parking lot. We could see nobody around to ask the direction. I was getting tensed as to whether I had taken a wrong decision to do a self drive trip and mar experience of honeymoon for the person I loved most, I was sweating in the freezing weather. At last saw a grayline bus exiting the airport and decided to follow the same. Once out of the airport it sped off. Being new on this car, as well driving LHD car for the first time, I was driving cautiously and cars were speeding by me on the freeway. We finally reached our hotel Reykjavik lights thanks to google map and comforting hand of my wife over my sweating hand over the gear knob all the way from the airport to the hotel. We checked in, grabbed a bite, took a shower and went to sleep not knowing what tomorrow holds. Will I be able to complete our journey across a country when I was finding it difficult to reach hotel from airport? Will tell about next bit of our Icelandic adventure in next part

Sort:  

Congrats on finding the hotel :)

I am sure that from now on you had a smooth ride and were enjoying your Iceland experience.

Followed

Thank you, hope to get at least one reader(you) hooked :)

Very good post. I hope people find it and do justice to it. Cheeers!!!!

thank your for your kind words, appreciated !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58097.21
ETH 2581.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41