My Sublime & Beautiful Sunday. 'Music by the Beach.'

in #travefeed5 years ago (edited)

'Music by the Beach.'

(This is my contribution to #beautifulsunday by @ace108 and #sublimesunday by @c0ff33a)

On the first weekend of every month, the township of Scarborough, Qld, Australia hosts a Music Festival. I don't need to put the date in my diary to remind me to attend because if I am home, I can hear them testing the microphones half an hour before the free concert starts.

'Scarborough Originals' is the name of Festival and it is held on the foreshore of Scarborough Beach Park. It is a crowd funded event and although it is free to attend, donations are welcome. Raffle tickets are sold throughout the performances, food stalls are available as is, face painting for people of all ages.

I thought I'd begin this blog with a digital image and end with one also because, as my steemit friends who follow me will know.......I just can't resist 'Doing Digital!'

cwd57lkrkp.jpg

The volume is amping up. Car parks are getting full. I give them a little more time to tune up, then I slip, slop and slap (Aussies will be familiar with this term) the suncreen lotion, don my sunhat and glasses, pack my camera and off I go. Two minutes later I merge into the crowd gathering on the grass and under trees, sun umbrellas and gazebos, and then the fun starts.

I walk down the ramp towards the beach and as you can see, the sun is shining and it is a perfect day for a Music Festival.

sosr53xw0t.jpg

The shady spots are becoming hard to find, but as this is event lasts for a few hours many people come early, have a swim, play soccer on the beach, cricket on the lawn or make use of one of the many barbeque facilities scattered around the park.

fby9rv340t.jpg

csvzx91jlp.jpg

The 'Boat Shed' is a just across the road from the waterfront and this couple obviously believe that fish n chips is the ideal lunch to have at the beach whilst listening to the music and watching the activity happening all around them. I can personally vouch for the quality of their meals although I haven't been there for ages. Perhaps it's time to rectify that situation......but NOT while there is a Music Festival in full swing and my camera is fitting snugly in my hand, with a full battery, her lens cap off and ready to do her job.

v3uy5ehsfc.jpg

7dd53zfxqd.jpg

6h4nnqn1wd.jpg

It was a very hot day but the closer you got to the beach, the better the breeze was, as this group will probably tell you.

7pbops3w1x.jpg

A musician checks his drums prior to his performance which is coming up soon. Throughout the afternoon their gigs are shared by about four groups, so the crowd enjoy an eclectic variety of music.

mksof1xxef.jpg

What do you think of this beautiful drum? She sparkles like the teal sea in Moreton Bay just behind her. The ocean provides a superbly inviting backdrop to this event.

zw2x3u7tjf.jpg

Meet Jason and Jason. No.......this isn't a test to see if you are concentrating. And the beautiful girl's Christian name isn't Jason......like her brother, but being siblings, of course they share the same surname. Hence the name, Jason and Jason.

Jason Daniels, (singer/songwriter) and acustic pop artist from the Sunshine Coast, teamed up with his sister and together they created beautiful harmony and personally, I loved them. Their wide repertoire included catchy ballards, melodic folksong and country pop.

d0goafo6nx.jpg

This drum set belongs to next artists.

5cyh3z3e67.jpg

This is Rick. I didn't catch his surname amongst the noise of the crowd but he also did a darn good job of entertaining all of us who had the pleaure of attending the festival.

qsvq61nnuj.jpg

There seemed to be a constant line up at the face painting tent. The fresh, young faces of dozens of little girls became the smooth, blemish free canvases for the artist who made their day with creative and colourful designs.

hukutktg8d.jpg

This little girl is too frightened to move in case the lady messes up her make up.

aig3a1hc2k.jpg

Here is a glimpse of the finished work of art. I think the smile on this girls face portrays exactly how she feels about her new look.

8i76vdt2j2.jpg

And whist I'm on the subject of creativity; I couldn't resist taking a shot at the long, blonde locks of this young woman.

qe7yjiokur.jpg

Did I mention that the music was cool? This brave gentleman was the only one up and dancing for a while until he bribed his partner to join him on the grass covered dance floor to groove with him. Is that a can of 'dutch courage' in his hand?

of6imihbj9.jpg

His companion looked a little reluctant at first but very soon the pair of them put the couch (or cooch, in this instance) potatoes to shame by zoning out to all but themselves, and the music. I liked their style!

yy4rlkxpp7.jpg

Just behind me, a young couple were enjoying a game of chess. I'm usually reserved by nature but when I really, really want to capture a photo, another 'me' walks up to my subjects and asks for permission to take a few shots. Generally, I receive a favourable response whch may have something to do with my trusting blue eyes and funky grey hair.

So, the deal was, I could take a few candid snaps and then enjoy their performance a little later in the day. That's what I call a 'Win, Win' situation. I win on both counts. (lol)

fqkp4eorei.jpg

hfp62kfc83.jpg

I asked who was winning and this image will provide the answer.

e41yz7roxz.jpg

They happily posed for this photo and I really love it. So chilled and relaxed........ and very cute too. I couldn't wait to hear them sing. But I waited and waited, And it was getting hotter and hotter, and sadly I had to return home. Oh well.........there is always next month, when this live, music event will return for yet another, entertaining and enjoyable few hours.

wr8dl6o3gv.jpg

So Rick, (the muso without a surname) and I, will say, 'Good-bye' for now. We hope to bring you another mix of talent at the same time, same place, four weeks from now. Cheers.

va2uyz5rgw.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

Posted using eSteem Surfer

Sort:  

You made awesome gallery

Thank you very much @ylike. I'm glad you enjoyed this blog.

You welcome dear

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Dear @trudeehunter,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Hooray, your story is now listed in our project publication, you can check through our progressive report either from our @fundition project page or @archisteem account. We will be sorting out the seasonal shortlist authors and make an announcement soon for the seasonal reward.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Thank you @archisteem I hope this makes up for my last stuff up. (:

Oh no, already the last batch of stories from you? We are still looking forward to more from you, keep it coming even after the summer (you are in Australia if we are not mistaken). Steem on @trudeehunter.

You most definitely haven't heard the last from me @archisteem Yes, I live in Australia and we are heading full steam ahead into a hot and humid summer. Which means I will have to venture out early in the morning or later in the day for taking photos. I do have plenty on file though so if I have to hibernate because of the heat I will still have many resources available.

That is a good news from you then :) We would definitely want to curate as much stories as possible from quality authors like yourself. Take care in the crazy hot summer of Aussie (heard that it may heat up to 40 degree Celcius).

Thank you @archisteem for your kind words. It certainly is extremely hot today as it was yesterday. I'm fortunate to get a sea breeze but suffer with the humidity when I have to venture outdoors in the middle of the day.

Take care @trudeehunter and have a great day!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trudeehunter
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-sublime-and-beautiful-sunday-music-by-the-beach-1c919981252b3est


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You know what? Just going to work, it is foggy and cloudy morning here, pretty much depressing Monday morning. Reading your blog and seeing these beautiful sunny photos you make me feel so much better. 😀

Awww....... then this post was worth every minute it took to prepare @nelinoeva. I'm very happy to share some of our sun and warmth with you today. xox

All we need is a little warmth to start the day and things look better then. 😀

So true Neli........even if the warmth is generated from our hearts. (:

After a few beer, anybody can be brave. :-)

So true @ace108 It was good to see him enjoyng himself. Many thanks for your visit and wonderful support.

You're welcome. I once heard a colleague told me, you cannot go wrong with buying shares in a brewery company because... when you are happy, you drink, when you are sad, you also drink. :-)

Your colleague sounds like a typical Aussie bloke @ace108 He'd get on well with a lot of Australians. (lol)

Especially when there Aussie beer to share. :-)

Looks like a glorious day for the festival, Trudee. Your candid photos make me feel I was right there watching. U&R. ❤️

It was a lovely day Jo. Many thanks for your loyal support and encouragment. I'm glad you enjoyed this post.

You got a 42.74% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @trudeehunter!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses

Wonderful.......thanks so much @ocdb

Chess with live music that includes a drum set? That sounds like an additional challenge in concentration! Looks like a fun outing, though!

I know what you mean. The volume was 'Up There,' but it didnt seem to put this couple off their game (:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60166.58
ETH 2964.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79