Weekend Trail Wandering

in #trailrunning6 years ago

Bike Trails

This weekend, I found myself once again on the trails near home. I am lucky to live amidst hundreds of acres of conservation land, and most weekends I can be found wandering on the trails in the woods or by the river. This weekend, I was fortunate enough to have a companion for my Saturday morning run. An old co-worker and friend has recently just gotten started with trail running, and so the two of us headed out for a few miles in the morning. Most of our time was on trails by the river, but we ended up on the winding trails that are used mostly by mountain bikers. These trails often feature these little log bridges.

34102349_2241410686082345_7638661024551272448_n.jpg

Path not Taken

On Sunday morning, I again visited the river side trails. On the back side of the run, I was on a segment of trail known as the Upper Loop, when I ran past a trail that I've gone by countless times, but never taken.

2.jpg

How often do we do this in life? We move through our lives on auto-pilot. Traversing well worn paths with nary a thought at times, moving through old grooves we've repeated again and again. Next time you come across a path you've not yet taken, I encourage you to rethink your patterns, and take that detour.

Happiness is a Cool Riverside Run

I finished up the run in one of my favorite places by the Quinapoxet river. On early humid summer mornings, hunting herons by the banks. And on this day, a cool breeze moved through me and the trees as roots and rocks eased on beneath.

3.jpg

As always, grateful that these places exist.

Sort:  

Good post friend.Want to see more posts on future.Good luck @rdnblogs

Congratulations @adamm9! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @adamm9! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62641.44
ETH 3343.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47