Cryptocurrencies that I’m IntosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #trading8 years ago

Here’s a list of all the cryptocurrencies that I currently hold and trade and some brief reasons for why I’m into them. I mostly trade or hold some type of proof of stake coin because I feel like this is much more energy and resource efficient. I used to mine coins with GPU’s and specialized computers but I’ve found that my investments haven’t paid out too well doing this. If we all went to proof of stake a lot of energy could be saved.

I run my computer all the time mining coins and make more value from the coins I hold and mint than the power used. By minting coins I’m talking about generating new coins from holding them in your wallet as a reward for maintaining the block chain. Trading these coins is important to keeping up their utility and value. I try to trade them too.

Just for clarification many of these coins use some variations of proof of stake that you may want to read more about if your interested. I’m not adding to much detail here in my list and using the term more generically.

Abstract view of my dual monitor desktop I use for minting new coins, fun projects, reading and blogging
Screenshotfrom2017-01-1307-26-21_DAP_Monet_cc596c.jpg

Bitcoin (BTC)

Mostly I hold this on exchanges as a result of selling other coins. I keep a little in semi-cold storage on my laptop too. I generally don’t trade this around or move it much because of the fees and slow variable time in moving it. I prefer to trade into some other coin to move value from one exchange to another.

Steem and SteemDollars (SBD)

I keep Steem in my wallet on-line powered up to earn interest. Mostly I’m into earning from blogging and curating. SBD is a good hedge in case I think the price of Steem might go down. A very fast coin to move and trade around.

Truckcoin (TRK)

I like to trade this and mint new coins in a wallet running on my computer. The interest rate, block reward cap and community support seems to be doing a pretty good job keeping the value up at the moment. This coin runs only under proof of stake but there are enough wallets minting to keep things going well.

Hobo Nickels (HBN)

I mint new coins every ten days with this running the wallet for a couple days or so to generate new coins with proof of stake. Trading is done on a couple of exchanges now. This coin is one of the original proof of stake and proof of work type coins. I had fun mining this on CPU, GPU and gridseed type computers at one time with proof of work.

Genstake G3N (or GEN)

This is another PoS (proof of stake) PoW (proof of work) hybrid coin. I like this one because it is fun to mine and I can still get a few blocks on my gridseed mining solo. It operates very well but trading is limited. You can find it on several of the smaller exchanges though.

Quotient (XQN)

I got into this one because of the potential for AI on the block chain. That kind of fizzled out but the original developer made a nice wallet. It just runs on proof of stake but the block reward cap keeps the inflation rate down. I like trading this one around and minting new coins.

Magi (XMG)

I mine this on the CPU using PoW and mint coins in my wallet using PoS. This is a PoS/PoW hybrid coin too. Great community here keeps me trading this coin around. It is on several exchanges now.

Greencoin (GRE)

This is a PoS coin now with a non-profit foundation behind it that pays half the block reward to solar power producers. I got into it because of the way it encourages green power production. Trading has been limited. Minting this coin was challenging for a while but it seems to be running much better now and uses very little resources on the computer to mint blocks .

2Give Coin (2Give)

An interesting coin that I got into that is a type of PoS/PoW hybrid that only makes PoW blocks when someone moves coins. It does this by charging a high transaction fee that is given to the next miner that makes a PoW block. This coin occasionally pegs the CPU when it is competing for a PoW block but in general runs with little resources when minting PoS. This coin is intended to be used for supporting donations and tipping people to encourage the use of the coin. The block chain grows and moves slowly with this one. It takes thirty days for a block to be eligible to mint.

Hyperstake (HYP)

I like minting and trading this coin. It is a pure PoS coin that operates well with a 1000 coin block cap. Trading has been low after it was released by a couple of big exchanges but you can still find it around on the smaller ones. Operates very efficiently for minting coins (low CPU use).

Opal

The mysterious Opal coin. I have some of this but I can’t say I enjoy minting it or trading it much at the moment – it is a pure PoS coin with some potential but the block chain is really slow now.


Many of these coins I run all the time. It is a fun hobby of mine to keep trading them and supporting the block chains by minting new coins. Once you set things up there is really no ‘work’ involved in any of these coins.

You never know what is going to be successful and what is not – it is a fun game for me. Check out these coins more if you are interested but I’m not giving investment advice here.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Great Great post, I came to know about lots of things , I am very much interested on this, but I can not mine properly with my own laptop, can you please help me about this? which one is the best to mine on my own laptop,really I am new to it so I dont have that much knowledge that you possess. but I am willing to learn more abut it.
Thanks a lot @lightsplasher for such a lovely post.

Thank you much, I'm glad you liked it! I've found that one of the really nice things about proof of stake is that usually these will mine on your laptop. You just need to get some coins and make sure your wallet is unlocked and connected to the network to mine.

It does get tricky to pick a coin that operates in a good way and has enough community support. This can be high risk type game but getting started is easy.

I may write some more posts about the details that hopefully will help. I hesitate to make any kind of specific recommendations because there is so much out there and I don't look through every line of code or have a crystal ball that shows everything. ;)

A good place to do some more reading, research and post questions is Bitcoin Talk

@lightsplasher

Looks like you are a big fan of POS. Me too. Think about join'n the TALK pos roundtable https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1718048

Hi thanks! I kind of lurk in that forum and read everything at least. Lots of good things are often posted. I had a bit of trouble trying to build the TALK coin from source code but I might try again.

It is still the original 2014 POS code, so slightly buggish. For some reason, despite no updates, it started operating very smoothly after the hype phase, now after running nearly every flavor of POS coin wallets, for me, it seems to be one of the better light on your memory clients. Maybe I'll start cross posting TALK roundtable stuff here #POS #proofofstake

Nice idea. I think the more information out there the better so people can get a feel for things.

Thank you for your view so you said the PoS coins your running the wallets all on the same computer? I have been thinking about looking into the PoS coins to see the difference and see if they were worth setting up the wallets for them.

Thank you now I have a couple coins I will be looking more into.

Your welcome! Thanks for commenting. Yes, they all run fine together. I have things balanced out pretty well at this point. There are some tricks to getting everything working well together though. I may make some additional posts on some of the issues I've experienced if anyone is interested.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58418.48
ETH 2515.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36