You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitcoin to $15k in March, $8.5k by June, then $30+k by Q1/2019?

in #trading6 years ago (edited)

What programming languages do you know and how much experience do you have? As it so happens, we at BuildTeam are looking for strong developers to join us in building out applications for Steem.

35+ years experience. Assembly code, C, C++, Scala, Haskell, PHP, JavaScript, HaXe, and getting into OCaml, Rust, and Go. Actually I’m designing a programming language right now in collaboration with @keean.

But I’m not available because I’m developing a decentralized ledger to compete against Steem, Bitshares, and EOS. I argue those are consortium blockchains which are not decentralized. I don’t want to put my effort into projects that were launched as illegal securities and which are dominated by the politics of whales. Apology for not being able to join on that. I’d be more interested in collaborating with you on my project, if ever mine (ours) is launched and proves to be superior.

I’d be interested in dropping by sometime in the future to chat about what your BuildTeam is working on. Perhaps after you’re able to quit your day job. I should be further along with my project by then.

Do you realize that promoting an illegal security could get you in trouble according to SEC Chairman Clayton’s recent written warning? If you’re not already aware of the sneaky premine of Steem’s launch which obfuscated that it’s really just a self-issued ICO amongst a group of whales, then you can find that information at Bitcointalk.org (or you can ask the highly respected @smooth).

I’m actually hiring, not wanting to be hired. But thank you for the invitation. Let’s see what transpires over the rest of 2018.

I understand you’re earning more money working on Steem projects right now and already have a team committed in that direction, so I don’t think it would be economical to try to convince you to go a different direction right now. And also I don’t there is any chance in hell of getting me to abandon my project. It’s very important for me to complete it.

Consider this an open invitation; we are always interested in potential collaborations even if now is not a good time for you.

Thank you! Hopefully we’ll talk at the opportune time. I think for now we’re both very busy working on what is in front of us, so we need more clarity about the future first.

Right now Steem is one of the only crypto projects that has actually succeeded at appealing to mainstream users, many of whom have never heard of cryptocurrencies before signing up for Steemit. This appeal to regular people gives it much potential. And Steem has many opportunities for passive income.

Agreed. But I believe we can do much better. I have actually created more than one million user product in my career. This is not something foreign to my experience.

I would have accomplished my goals much sooner (I had the idea for Steem since 2014 and I was there in 2013 talking with Larimer and Charles Hoskinson about ideas/technology/economics), but unfortunately I was set back by gut Tuberculosis and concomitant delirious chronic fatigue syndrome from about 2012 forward (severely ill from 2015 forward) and didn’t even know what illness I had until January 2017 when I was tested for gut TB in Singapore. I completed 6 months of nasty antibiotics and now have cysts all over my liver and spleen as complication, so it’s been a slow recovery from delirium, but I’m starting to get my stride past several weeks. Health seems to be improving finally. Actually when Charles was fired by Larimer, I was invited by him to start a project but I declined due to health problems and so he partnered with Vitalik instead to create Ethereum.

But that said, I recognize there are many problems with its current incarnation and I'm sure it's not the final solution. I'm curious, what is your take on EOS?

I have a Steemit blog on my criticism of consortium blockchains. There’s also a blog rebuttal from @dantheman (aka @dan) to my consortium blog and my debate with him there. Then a recent Q&A follow-up on Medium.

Well I was recently banned from Bitcointalk.org again for expressing my frank opinions about EOS. Firstly, I am nearly certain it is an illegal security and will end up suffering greatly along with the other ICOs in what I predict is a coming coordinated worldwide crackdown on ICOs which I think will cause the coming crypto winter after the coming blow-off peak. The authorities can attack the whales of consortium blockchains and in that way attack the ledger and token value itself.

I suspect that EOS is going to make some major waves first when they launch. A lot of money will be made, but potentially a lot of money will be clawed back by the authorities over the coming years with many crypto people destroyed in the process.

I claim I have a superior technological design that scales better, is more resilient, and is more decentralized. This is not published yet.

So I will go on about my way trying to do it the correct way for the long-term successful outcome.

I don’t think the economic model of voting for rewards out of a shared debasement pool is sensible as a model for disrupting the funding model of the Internet. I have a different idea. For example, decentralized curation instead of divisive negative voting and flagging.

Note afaik, EOS has no onboarding model analogous to Steem’s voted rewards. I think I read something about they expect vendors to give away some tokens to users? I haven’t been paying attention to the details. Do you know anything about the planned onboarding model for EOS?

I'm heavily invested in EOS and BuildTeam intends to explore the development opportunities it offers once we have the bandwidth to do so.

I’m interested to hear your take on why you think it will improve upon Steem? Is there a better economic model?

I understand that smart contracts might enable greater decentralized app functionality. So in that respect I would concur.

Apparently there are many apps being built for EOS? And there is a massive level of development funding to make this happen?

The advanced calculus, abstract geometry, etc that I learned for the minor would have been useful if I had pursued an academic career but have had little practical everyday use for me.

Reading PL design theory papers causes me to have to think in terms of math notation and symbols in order to fully comprehend the presentations. I need to use math to model decentralized consensus algorithms, economic onboarding facets, cryptography, etc.. I agree math doesn’t get used much for daily grind of programming we do for GUIs and such.

As soon as I get my PR (should be another 2-3 months for the application to be processed) I intend to quit and devote all my energy to my work with BuildTeam.

What an amazing change in your life in only a couple of years! Yeah I was wondering because I saw that $0.5 million on your Steemit wallet. :-)

I hope you’re enjoying it. After all, we’re not just doing this only for money are we, although salting away a nestegg is part of the motivation?

Btw, my mother lives in Bellingham, WA. I was last there in 2003. I haven’t been back to the USA since 2006.

STEEM, EOS, and ETH are my largest holdings. I also have a decent amount of ADA (Cardano) and bought into the Tezos ICO.

My concern is primarily a coordinated, worldwide crackdown on ICO issued tokens causing them to crash to 1% of their original peaks. So someone with $1 million in ICO-issued tokens ends up with $10,000 in bags.

Rags-to-riches-back-to-rags.

I don’t know if the next crypto winter will repeat the same effect on the altcoins as the prior one, I will just reiterate that in the 2014 crash, the alts went comatose, no bid. Also if the securities regulators declare that ICO-issued tokens can’t be traded on centralized exchanges, the fiat on/off ramp gets turned off for them and I presume they would collapse in price. I would want to be bit more diversified going into that potentiality.

I mean I don’t want to talk you into missing out on a fortune, so I need to be careful with my words, since frankly I’m also biased against those projects.

I've been trying to cut back on the snacks lately and intend to get much more sleep once I can dispense with the day job.

It’s very difficult because it’s a natural habit when programming or thinking/reading to get the munchies. The only way I was able to successful curb this habit was to do intensive exercise during the day which seems to disrupt that sedentary tendency. But you really like novels and such so it’s your personality and preferences. I’ve been more sports-minded my entire life. If you could at least replace your snacks with ones that don’t have chemicals on them that would help avoid serious health issues. Sorry for sticking my nose in your business. But you blogged about it, so I presume it is important to you and you want feedback.

Glad you liked them. I really need to start writing my blog again; I haven't posted anything in a long time much to my regret. Maybe I can pick it up again after quitting the day job. I'll have so much more free time then.

I like photos and even written descriptions where I can experience some of the everyday lives and experiences of others that are different than mine. But like you, I’m also too busy. Cya. Cheers.

P.S. I added a section to the end of my blog with a critique of charts predicting $100,000+. See also my reply to @rajsallin’s comment, since he’s the source of those 2 additional charts.

P.S.S. I just checked on @smooth’s recent activity and he points out the insoluble racket of what I had predicted mathematically in my blog about Steem’s voting rewards. You’re a prime example that voting rewards will be concentrated and there’s no possible change to the algorithm which could alter that outcome, as I had explained in that blog of mine from 2016. I have followed up with a new comment about this on @smooth’s blog.

Sort:  

Fair enough, I didn’t realize you were so deeply into your own blockchain project, of course you prefer to concentrate on that. Entirely reasonable response. As you say, let’s keep the door open for possible future discussions on ways that our two ventures can collaborate. I think the crypto industry as a whole is stronger when people work together and leverage synergies rather than taking an attitude that projects must always be in direct competition. I am also quite interested in learning more about your project once you are ready to make more information public.

I’m sorry to hear you’ve been set back by nasty health problems. Two sayings that immediately come to mind are “what doesn’t kill us makes us stronger” and “nothing in life worth doing is ever easy”. Imagine how much sweeter your ultimate success will then feel, after overcoming such adversity.

I’m no technical expert on EOS, but my understanding is that it generalizes the Steem architecture, combining the best features of graphene technology (high throughput, low block time, DPoS) with the full smart contracts capability of a platform like Ethereum. Whereas Steem is a blockchain built for a single application (social media), it will be possible to build many different applications on EOS. I’ve heard it said that the Ethereum VM could be implemented inside EOS, as could Steem. What seems really innovative to me is that EOS takes care of all the plumbing such as account management, storage (each contract can have its own database), token management, etc. In that sense it truly feels like the first real “blockchain operating system”). I think its closest competitors will be Cardano and Tezos, though EOS looks to be farther along in its roadmap than either of those other two platforms. Taken together, I feel that offers the potential for the next evolution of Steem to be built on EOS, hopefully one that solves the current problems inherent in Steem such as concentration of voting power and whatnot. I admit I have yet to read your arguments on consortium blockchains though, so will have to go through that and see if it alters my thinking.

It’s sad that you were banned from Bitcointalk.org. Anyone should be free to express their opinions and make rational arguments as long as they also respect the opinions of others. That’s one point in Steem’s favor; you are free to speak your mind here (as long as you don’t care about possible downvotes!). Okay, so maybe that just leads back into a discussion of Steem’s problems as downvoting acts as a tool of censorship, nevermind. xD

I’m not quite as concerned as you are about regulators cracking down on ICOs. I do think it’s worth keeping an eye on regulation and expect we will see a great increase in regulatory oversight in the next couple years, but I’m hopeful some reasonable middle ground will be reached. No doubt we’re in for some turbulence ahead before things settle though. I’m making an effort to keep about 20% of my portfolio in cash so I’ll be able to make it through any crypto winter that may come, and buy things at a discount when the opportunity arises.

I hope you’re enjoying it. After all, we’re not just doing this only for money are we, although salting away a nestegg is part of the motivation?

My primary motivation is simply to live a freer life, able to do what I want when I want, pursuing my passions and enjoying quality time with my family. Money is a secondary concern, in so far as it serves to enable the above objectives. One Steem truism that I live by is “write to write well, not to make money,”. So it is with trading, investing, and many other things in life. Money is just the natural consequence of doing things well.

You certainly have given me many things to think about, and a long reading list of topics to follow up on. I’m glad I stumbled across your blog! Thanks very much for sharing your thoughts.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65