You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitcoin to $15k in March, $8.5k by June, then $30+k by Q1/2019?

in #trading6 years ago

Perhaps we’ll get a chance to collaborate in the future. I’m also a programmer.

What programming languages do you know and how much experience do you have? As it so happens, we at BuildTeam are looking for strong developers to join us in building out applications for Steem. We have plans to develop an investor oriented portal for Minnowbooster that will include such things as ROI analysis, charts & graphs showing past performance and other things that might make our services more attractive to outside investors. With the experience evidenced in your blog, you might be a good fit to help out with that. If you want to discuss more, join our Discord server and send me a DM there: https://discord.gg/NempMy5

Consider this an open invitation; we are always interested in potential collaborations even if now is not a good time for you.

Interestingly you’re invested in SteemVoter, but I don’t think Steem’s voting model is the model that will prevail as a basis for decentralizing the Internet.

Right now Steem is one of the only crypto projects that has actually succeeded at appealing to mainstream users, many of whom have never heard of cryptocurrencies before signing up for Steemit. This appeal to regular people gives it much potential. And Steem has many opportunities for passive income. It's currently one of the cornerstones of my portfolio and has performed extremely well for me since I bought most of my Steem Power at $1 or less. But that said, I recognize there are many problems with its current incarnation and I'm sure it's not the final solution. I'm curious, what is your take on EOS? I believe it will be a great evolution on the underlying technology of the Steem blockchain, and some social media platform built on EOS could supplant Steem's position in the future. I'm heavily invested in EOS and BuildTeam intends to explore the development opportunities it offers once we have the bandwidth to do so.

(Did you see the blog Dan Larimer wrote debating me on that subject in response to to the blog I wrote about consortium blockchains not being economically/politically scalable?) I wrote a Gist about centralization of ledgers that you might find technically interesting.

No, I didn't see those posts but I am interested in reading them. Will take a look when I have time, thanks for pointing them out.

Hey why do you say your math minor is useless? Afaics, math is very relevant in so many ways to computer science.

Indeed it is, but I find that the basics are sufficient for most of the work I do. The advanced calculus, abstract geometry, etc that I learned for the minor would have been useful if I had pursued an academic career but have had little practical everyday use for me. I've since forgotten most of that stuff (use it or lose it the saying goes).

You should realize your dream to quit your office commute soon.

My crypto portfolio is already sufficient to quit my day job, but I'm currently trying to get permanent residency in Japan and immigration requires a job for that. As soon as I get my PR (should be another 2-3 months for the application to be processed) I intend to quit and devote all my energy to my work with BuildTeam.

I would not sell too much BTC at $15k. I think we’re still going higher into the end of the year after retest of support near the start of summer.

I was thinking about selling half, then buying back on the dip. Which actually isn't that much; BTC only makes up about 2.5% of my entire portfolio. STEEM, EOS, and ETH are my largest holdings. I also have a decent amount of ADA (Cardano) and bought into the Tezos ICO.

P.S. Regarding your blogs, Doritos (and most processed foods with HFCs and other nasty chemicals) are incredibly unhealthy. And extreme sleep deprivation leads to brain damage and burnout. And I agree with the guy who suggested that day trading destroys productivity and reduces gains. Instead of caffeine I employ exercise and a Warrior diet to keep my energy level high at age 52.

Haha, sound advice. Yes, I know I have lots of bad habits. Hopefully I can change those with time. I trade much less now than I used to; mostly I go for value investing and hold for the long term. I've been trying to cut back on the snacks lately and intend to get much more sleep once I can dispense with the day job.

I appreciated the information transferred by the photos of life in Japan that you shared.

Glad you liked them. I really need to start writing my blog again; I haven't posted anything in a long time much to my regret. Maybe I can pick it up again after quitting the day job. I'll have so much more free time then.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59128.17
ETH 2522.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48