Vertigo At The Howick Waterfall. (Featuring @thegoldencookie as Author)

in #topics8 years ago (edited)

Looking down made my heart race, my fear of heights overpowered me and my head swam with dizziness. The earth seemed to sway, but I knew I was safe. I was in the arms of the man I love. Besides I had to see if the rumors were true...

enter image description here
Image credit

So, today I thought I would share my experience with you I had at the Howick Falls as well as some interesting facts and stories I have been told.

enter image description here

Before Monday 6 September 2016 I have never been to the falls. My aunt suggested that Daniel and I pack a picnic basket and go on a date. The only problem is that she never told me that heights would be involved. So after our weekend in Johannesburg and exhausting drive back we decided that we were going to take her advice as we needed to go to Howick anyway. We packed our cooler box with salads, South Africa's signature biltong and some strawberries & cream for dessert. Arriving at the falls it was so hot that we decided against taking the hike down to the water as dehydration is not a good way to enjoy a date so instead we walked down to the top lookout point. The views were spectacular. However the falls were a little disappointing as there has been a drought for a while (I was told that we could get wet from the spray, in this heat that is exactly what I wanted) but it was still breathtakingly beautiful.

enter image description here

enter image description here

At the falls we learned that the waterfall was called KwaNogqaza (Place of the tall one in Zulu) and rumors were that a large snake similar to the Loch Ness monster lurks in the deep pool under the waterfall. (Does anyone else think of the movie Anacondas?) Many have claimed that they have seen this large snake. Attempting to conquer my fear of heights I decided to look down into the pool. This was a big mistake as my fear conquered me instead and thus I was unable to see if the rumors were true. This was not going to spoil or romantic date however. We got our cooler box and sitting down in the shade started eating.

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

Once we had devoured our delicious meal we walked through the vendors' stalls where they sold fantastic craft work of wire, wood and bead. I probably looked like a tourist with the amount of photos I took on my phone.

enter image description here

enter image description here

I would highly recommend taking the time to go to the falls while in Kwazulu-Natal and to those afeared of heights: rather take the hike down to the water because looking up is less scary.

Till next time
xoxo
@thegoldencookie

(All Images without Image credit where taken with my Samsung S3 mini)

Don't forget to follow @thegoldencookie!!

@crazymumzysa features authors to promote new authors and a diversity of content. All STEEM Dollars for this post go to the featured author.

Sort:  

It really is. I saw some of the pictures of the falls on the internet and I think once it rains it will be even more so.

Thank you. It was really fun and such a beautiful place. Made for a really romantic date.

Great travel story. I love the waterfalls.

Thank you so much. I'm a big fan of waterfalls as well, actually a big fan of water in general.

Thank you. Do you live in South Africa?

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65