TODAY IS NATIONAL ROTISSERIE CHICKEN DAY!

in #todayis6 years ago



Every day provides us with opportunities to celebrate. Today I invite you to celebrate Rotisserie Chicken.

Chicken and pan roasted potatoes and vegetables.

CHICKEN WITH A SPIN

Chicken with a spin,
brown and crispy skin.

Plump and moist,
it must be rejoiced!

The chicken must be prepped,
to achieve this effect.

A dry rub seasoning,
taste is my reasoning.

A day before,
to flavor it more.

On cooking day,
I put it on a tray.

Then I do stuff,
with more than enough,

With orange wedges and spice,
the flavor is nice.

Then chicken I truss,
to eliminate fuss,

After the grill is lit,
I secure it to the spit.

On the grill it goes,
to be cooked slow and low.

I watch it spin,
and begin to grin.

A temperature of 225,
Is for what I strive.

I manage the wood fire,
to achieve what I desire,

Chicken with a spin,
brown and crispy skin.

Plump and moist,
it will not disappoint.

When it is done,
off the spit it does come.

I let it rest,
so, it tastes the best.

With the first bite,
the smoky flavor is a delight!

Chicken with a spin,
brown and crispy skin.

Plump and moist,
it must be rejoiced!

I smoke my Rotisserie Chicken. I generally use a mixture of wood, including oak, hickory, pecan and apple. I cook it slow and low, I shoot for a grill temperature of 225F. I use wet wood chips to help control the temperature.

The day before I cook the chickens I prep then with a dry rub. Here is my rub recipe:

1/4 cup of Kosher course salt.

Zest from a large orange (save the orange to quarter and stuff in the cavity with fresh spices- Rosemary, Sage, and Thyme.)

1 tsp brown sugar

1 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp grated garlic

1/2 tsp black pepper

1/4 tsp ground clover

Rotisserie Chicken on a Gas Grill.

Video source


You might enjoy reading my previous poems written for my TODAY IS series:

TODAY IS DONUT DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL SMILE DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL CREATIVITY DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL PAPERCLIP DAY!
TODAY IS MEMORIAL DAY!

I fully support @valorforfreedom, who is a witness for the Steem blockchain. He is dedicated to the community and helping others achieve success on Steemit as evidenced by his creation of Steem School. If you want to support him, he would appreciate your vote.

More FREE Upvotes: Steemfollower
FREE Daily Crypto: Swift coins

Sort:  

Yummy 🐤 🐔
I want some!

I love eating rotisserie chicken with rice. They sell it at my job, I buy one every Friday for my family. Mmm good eating 🤣

I love it too! I'm not a fan of rice, unless it is wild rice. I make a cornbread and wild rice stuffing, mashed potatoes and a veggie when I make rotisserie chicken.

I also make chicken stock from the bones and leftover meat . I use this to make soup. I love the soup I make, since I smoke my rotisserie chicken, it has a splendid smoky flavor.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-02T18:44:45
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 60.25/100.00
Total Photos: 10
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63744.49
ETH 2639.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77