TODAY IS NATIONAL LOST SOCK MEMORIAL DAY!

in #todayis6 years ago

Image source

Every day provides us with opportunities to celebrate. Today I invite you to celebrate the lost sock and it remaining sole mate!

Lost Sock Memorial

It’s Lost Sock Memorial Day.
My respects I do pay.

You were my favorite pair,
that I loved to wear.

I wanted you clean,
so, into the washer machine.

Then into the dryer you went,
which led to the tragic event.

When the dryer cycle was done,
matching the socks had begun,

I was horrified at first,
I thought the worst.

It was true one sock had gone,
to the great beyond.

If only I hung the socks on the line,
everything would have turned out fine.

As a mismatched sock,
never again will you walk.

Alone without a mate,
what will be your fate?

Will you become a sock puppet,
or get tossed in the rag bucket?

The Lost Sock Challenge.

Video source

How to make a sock puppet.

Video source


You might enjoy reading my previous poems written for my TODAY IS series:

TODAY IS NATIONAL NURSES DAY!
TODAY IS WORLD PASSWORD DAY!

I fully support @valorforfreedom, who is a witness for the Steem blockchain. He is dedicated to the community and helping others achieve success on Steemit as evidenced by his creation of Steem School. If you want to support him, he would appreciate your vote.

More FREE Upvotes: Steemfollower
FREE Daily Crypto: Swift coins

Sort:  

I don't mind wearing odd socks. It takes too much effort to find a matching pair from the giant laundry pile that needs sorting. But these spring/summer months, I wear sandles as much as I can to avoid socks.

I hate matching the socks too. I tend to buy the same colors and styles so I can just grab them from the pile. I spent 20 minutes today matching socks, because the pile was becoming a mountain.

Who thinks up all these National Days? Does the lost sock appreciate that it has its own day? Does it feel better knowing that someone cares enough to write a poem about it?

Thanks for the great questions and your continued support. I will be answering these question in a separate post in a day or two.

Thanks a lot.

hahaha Lost Sock Day. And you even wrote a poem about it! You must feel pretty strongly about your missing socks. :-)

I like that you even included a video on how to make a sock puppet. lol

Yes, I appreciate socks. We often take them for granted. Socks in general have a thankless job, They keep our feet warm, some of them have to deal with stinky and sweaty feet (not my socks of course.) I've even had socks that were religious (I know this because they were holey.)

bwahahaha :-D

I didn’t know there was such a day. You have a very unique and creative series here on steemit. I lost something today but it was not a sock

Thank you. I hope you find what you lost.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35