In time the clouds will pass - but do we even notice?

in #timelapse7 years ago

I have had this idea a while, to create a time lapse of the sky. I've always enjoyed pictures of the sky, and the various cloud formations they can contain.

This is a time lapse of the sky above me today, it's quite amazing to see the clouds moving in this way. Full video if you wish below.

But I wanted to put a unique twist on this, I still can't decide if this is pure genius or insanity - better try and fail then never try at all.

Time lapse of the sky while moving, certainly different.

Now take the time lapse out of the equation, just video of the sky is a bit different.

It's always above us, but do we ever take notice.

I'm quite sure the simple static time lapse of the sky works well, with different sky conditions it could produce some very interesting results.

With a bit of a break in the clouds and blue sky, it takes a different twist on the move.

So that is my idea anyway, let's call it Sublime Sunday sharing those little bits of madness we come up with - which could be amazing to some - and to others an @saffisara in a small lift.

For a bit of extra fun, anyone who correctly comments below how I took these time lapse videos will get a little extra comment upvote from me. Regulars on my weekly vlog should have no trouble with this.

If you enjoyed my post don’t forget to leave an Upvote, feel free to comment on what you liked or where I can do better even. Follow @c0ff33a for regular and varied posts, photography, my weekly VLOG, posts on coffee roasting and brewing - just follow and see.

Join Steemfollower and get upvotes in return for upvotes. It’s free, simple, easy to find new content to upvote and get your own content seen by more users and possibly upvoted.

For more upvotes and content sharing join the GuideSteemit team discord

All photos are my own, taken with my iPhone. All my steemit posted pictures can be freely used by other Steemit users in their own blog posts - all I ask is that you follow me and credit @c0ff33a linking to my post you took it from. You can also follow me on Twitter

For Steemit to grow we need to post rich content - interesting and unique posts that encourage others to join in and share their experiences. If you feel your own posts are not doing well look at what your favourite content creators are doing - if you like their work they are doing something you could do as well - think of way to do similar things with your own unique twist.

The picture to the right kindly sketched by the wonderful @bridget.art , be sure to check her incredible art out https://steemit.com/@bridget.art

As Steemit grows making your content stand out gives it a greater chance to be seen and enjoyed, I try to work on making one post a day - but making it as big and content rich as I can. I don't know if this is the right way, but I enjoy the most big content rich posts - and a wise man on Steemit once said to me - make your content like the content you enjoy.

!steemitworldmap 53.766547 lat -1.801500 long Bradford, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom. d3scr

Sort:  

Once I wandered, lonely as a cloud
cloud.gif

I do like these. We have always talked about putting up a time lapse of the weather of the sea, we are lucky enough to live on it, so we have toyed with using a small camera and maybe a rasberry pi to record like 24 hours sunup to sundown.

I am a new follower, I found you in @techslut comments. I love finding people that way.

Thank you very much, time lapse can produce some amazing results - I think you could indeed make something quite amazing with a time lapse of sea weather - i will definitely look out for that one. How fantastic you find me through @techslut comments, I do love her work she produces some very high quality blog posts - and of course @mistress is just the most compelling read.

<3 <3 <3

This is why I love steemit. THIS.

And of course that Gina Bot is fantastic...either that or your stalking my comments all day long lol 😜

Gina. She's my Steemit BFF and I would miss everything if it wasn't for her.

The clouds are a combination of cool and strange. :)

I would have to say that you used a dash cam in the car, just pointed upward.

Tip!

That's pretty neat i love looking up the best photos turn out when your pointing up and clouds and sunsets i love looking at. Thinking maybe you used a Go-Pro on a selfie stick holding outside a car window...haha ...just a guess !!

Thank you, yes the sky can hold some remarkable views when we care to look at it. You are close, the full answer will actually be revealed in my next blog post.

Haha...cool will be looking for it :)

There seems to be a kind of mystique surrounding the videos with the clouds dancing.

My guess is that you pointed your dash cam upwards after getting an idea from one of my previous comments in another post here, advising you to move it downwards!

Thank you, yes the clouds move in mysterious ways - and sometimes their dance can be quite alluring. You are close, and I did see your suggestion - I'm going to move the mount further forward on the dashboard so the camera can look down more without just seeing the car bonnet!

Before I do a time lapse of clouds, I need some actual clouds in the first place. Best come to England in the summer them. :-D Maybe I'll do some animation with cotton wool instead.

Oh I'm sure life is such a struggle living in that scorching heat, cloudless sky. The endless struggle of having to wear light clothing and sun hats. It's -1 degrees and snow heavy in Yorkshire Today, I had to break the ice on the toilet at work to have a tiddle!

It bloody cold up north. Being from the Torbay, I found that the temperatures were a few degrees warmer than everywhere else. Bristol was cold though. It is brilliant in the UAE in the winter, but the summer gets far too hot. I've survived real feel of 50 degrees. That is an experience.

I like the idea as I like sky time laps, especially with cloudy sky. Although I have to admit the second and third Gif cause a pain in my eyes.
Regarding video, my first choice as the best would be the first one. The last video has nice music but the shooting angle has been changing too much for my taste, while the third video in the row (7 minutes long) is a bit too long for me.
So, I will stick with the first one as my personal winner (Gif & Video)! 😉🙂

Cool videos. Sky is always above us and we couldnt live without them. I think you took it while driving bike or been driven in car and edited it in sony vega or any software and sped it up :D

Thank you, you are very close but you will have to see my next blog post to find out the answer. I appreciate you taking a look at my post and leaving a comment very much :-)

So this is a challenge you are going to host...and its to do about the little bits of minutia that some people may find interesting?

I want to get it right, coz I want to promote it. Its a bit late on Sunday here now, plus the Super Bowl is going so will you remind me of it next week! I think I have the gist of it :)

I'm not really that sure Paul, I had the idea to do some timelapse of the sky - then I thought about trying to take timelapse beyond static shots - which if I'm honest just turned out a bit weird. But then while creating the post I thought pushing the boundaries would be an interesting post challenge - and Sublime Sunday sort of fit so I threw it in
giggles.gif

this kind of posts deserved to be upvoted at 100%, when I was a kid i have a hobby of lying down on the grass on a vacant lot that usually a playground for the all the kids, and while lying down I have a habbit of staring the clouds moves and it felt very relaxing. This post made me reminisce those moments. Thanks a lot for sharing this

Thank you very much, I though only I did that when I was young! And sometimes at night to look at the stars. Thank you for your support and taking the time to comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59351.18
ETH 2529.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42