Who, What and Where I am at my Life Now.

Ok so I saw @surpassinggoogle's post about untalented talents of @steemit : https://steemit.com/steemit/@surpassinggoogle/steemit-s-untalented-is-in-beta-participate-freely-because-every-participant-in-this-contest-will-win-something-no-losers.
All flaws are included heheh. It will be like another intro of oneself more in depth. Like him I am no writer but I write with what I feel and want to, my feelings and emotions.
So ok about me that some may not know. I am an only girl in a family of 4 kids the 2nd from the eldest. My dad was in the US Navy so we were called Navy brats because we would be moving from place to place. We did not go to any foreign places except for the US. We lived in Hawaii so I learned to dance the Hawaiian and was good at it.
My Dad was strict but I am grateful for that because it enabled me to learn how to stand on my own 2 feet. I learned how to cook, clean and do the laundry with ironing at a very young age (9 yrs old) because we had no helpers where we were and being the only girl it was my duty and obligation to help my mom.No problem because the boys had their chores too.
Being the only girl I was not spoiled or pampered. I learned my way in life. But there was one thing my Dad had wanted. He never wanted to cut my hair. Just trim the ends and care for it. So my hair grew long and thick and straight till I was 18 yr old. My Dad died in an automobile accident when I was 17 and he just turned 50 yrs. old. I was in 2nd year nursing then, the first batch of the 4 yr course. I was having a hard time waking up early to shower then dry my hair, braid it then pin it up. It took 23 hairpins just to keep it up with the help of my friend because I was living n the dorm. So I asked permission from my mom to have a bob cut, easeir to manage just below shoulder length. I also told my Dad in prayers so he would understand. Here I am at 15-17 with the still long hair, as you can see it went below the butt heheh. My friends in High school and college would pull my hair and make a long strand of hair by attaching the ends and some also added their hair.
![935021_10151726858960280_321566713_n-horz.jpg]..()

Growing up with 3 brothers my Daa would always play basketball with the 2 older boys and since they always lack another player, I would be partnered with my older brother and my dad with the junior in the family. So in High school here in the Philippines and in college I was a basketball player, My dad did not really like it but I was athletic when I was younger and not really academically inclined. Tether ball, basketball, tennis, badminton and bowling were my sports. I was in good shape then, too bad I became poor in maintaining it.
basketball.JPG

One of my dreams was to graduate and work . To earn my own and to help my mom. So I took up Nursing and graduated not with honors but from a prestigious school here in Iloilo - St. Paul College then but now known as St. Paul University. I was also proud to say I passed the nursing board exam first take.
10527776_10152505365825280_7561472709167384552_n-horz.jpg
The smile of the Graduate
1069324_10151725752970280_1153116764_n.jpg

After that I went to the US to work as a nurse but then came home after 5 1/2 years because my brothers wanted to leave too and no one would be left with my mom . Also that time I was pregnant. Being a single mom those tomes were hard. People would stare at you and talk. Especially since my mom was a pillar of the catholic community. But when they saw I was accepted and loved by my family, they slowly accepted me and even said they applaud my being strong to be not afraid to show and accept my child.

That is my past. I may not have achieved all I want in life but I do not regret all the hardships I have encountered. People say we are rich, maybe we would had my father been alive, his pension would be big enough but my mom being the survivor gets only 1/3 but it is ok.

The world is round so we have been up and we have been down now in between.
I am a quiet person unless I am provoked. I think I am strong because when I feel hurt or get depressed, feel sad sometimes suicidal; I just pray, close my eyes and go to that quiet peaceful place in my mind. Then later I am able to go back to my usual life.

Things I would have liked to do are a lot. I wish I could have traveled. I am frustrated singer, artist, photographer and model (joke just wished I had maintained my figure heheh).

I love to cook. I check out recipes and more. I love to read and watch movies especially suspense. I love to blog even though I may not be the best. Writing is one of my way of letting out my feelings, a stress reliever. I love t collect things. like in my last post, you could see some of my collections. https://steemit.com/tilphillipines/@purpledaisy57/assorted-collections-my-pride-and-joy.

My daughter is my real pride and joy. Now she is in the US working with her husband and expecting their first baby, my first grandchild and a boy!
553097_10151772956755280_1037676427_n-horz.jpg

Another thing I love are dogs.I have had quite a few. Most stay downstairs and watch the house especially at night. They seem to be not around much during the day but at night I can here them barking and watching. The guard dogs are Jack, Jackielyn (his daughter), Samantha (mixed Belgian Malinois) Princess and Snow White. Jack is a mixed retriever/bulldog. So with these big and small dogs the people are afraid to just come in. The hose pets are Chabita (almost 8yrs old mixed terrier/corgi) then Queenie (also 8 yrs old mixed Spitz /lab), also Putot (Chabita's son). The new additions are Thor a purebred dachshund piebald marking and Freya mixed shitzu/spitz with 1/4 german shepherd. The last 2 are my own special babies Freya was given to me for my birthday this year. Most of them are 3yrs old and above Jack 3, Jackielyn 2, Putot 4, Princess 4 1/2. Samantha, Thor, Freya and Snow White are not yet 1 yr old.
DSCN1465AA-tile.jpg

I like to help people if I can. But sometimes it can be depressing. Not that I want anything in return but a simple thank you would be suffice.

So now I am alone with my 92 yr old mom at home. But we have a lot of companions here. They are like family to us and they are all related. Brothers, nieces,nephews and the dad all live with us so we are all one happy family. It makes me feel safe too.
NCP_6573-horz.jpg
Me and my Mom when she was 90 and 91 yrs old

The whole house hold heheh one big happy family. I love having the kids hearing them laugh, play and cry.
DSC03488.JPG
This was taken when we clebrated my daughter's 31st birthday even if she was not here.

Oh and a few more things about me. I may look strong but really am not. I am afraid of the dark, I can not sleep if the the room is pitch black, there must be a night light or the light in the hallway of the bathroom in the room is on. Bugs and insects especially the spiders and beetles, coconut beetles makes me squeamish I usually call one of the helpers to get it or kill it. I also have a high pain threshold. I still have a lot of insecurities.

So at 57 years young I think I have reached my peak. The on other thing I have wanted most will be happening soon. I can't wait to be a grandmother. Would I want to have lived my life over the same way?? Yes but only do better.

background-14211_960_720.jpg

Gosh this is so long more than my intro. Hope you like it @surpassingoogle.

thank you.jpg

ALL PICTURES ARE OWNED BY ME

Sort:  

As if I have read a short story of your life purpledaisy57!

so now you know the 57 years of my life lol

Wow you are so beautiful. Sad to hear that you loss your dad at an early age. On the other hand, it Seems like your mom is still very strong at the age of 92. And oh,you have a lot of dogs. Yay. Interesting story of your life. ❤

thanks took a while but this seems to be my life now

Nursing 1st take hahaha..i remember planning to jump over Pasig river if i fail ;)
Your dogs are awesomely cute..all brown???
Enjoy your mom..mine is 90 y/o.

haha review was so strict and the sisters had eagle eyes. Yes most are brown and white had 2 black dogs one died the other was given to a friend, black and white ones too. I am also grateful to have my mom here now just taking care of her

Eastwest?? My mom doesn't like her carer..she got dementia.

my mom ha Alzheimer but still healthy and can do her own things just need to watch her so she does not wander and just keep answering her repetitive questions

Mama isn't use to using her cane so she doesn't wander..if she do, sa garden lang sya.She's a bit paranoid so ayaw meet iba tao.
It's great shes healthy at 91 and she have you. Dami kids!

we are only 4 the 3 boys are in the US just me and my helpers she does not want to use her cane either

Oh i meant mga kids sa pic..ayaw ni mama ng maingay. I got mama that 4-point cane, ayaw nya. Like nya un kawayan na ginawa ng manong ko eh madulas coz ginamit sa porch ayun..wala kc rubber. Bute ala fracture.
Malakas pa talaga if ayaw nya ng cane..pagbigyan mo na lolsss

yes but she uses the cane when we go out to the city and she does not mind the kids at least we know there are people in the house.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @purpledaisy57 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

I guess, this will be curated again. Your pretty before and now @purpedaisy57

hahah I think there is a limit but maybe another will do it. Thanks for the compliment

Your so beautiful outside and in..

Good to know you po. :)

thank you hope to be able to read some of your post followed you

Nice one mam daisy. You look great then an now.

haha I look better younger heheh

The same lang po. Beautiful regardless of size and age.

thank you for the nice compliment appreciate it.

You're welcome po. :)

Yes that contest by @surpassinggoogle was great and it can help many steemians to discover their talents and by rediscovering who they are. by the way it seems you're very lucky living a very colorful life. @purpledaisy57

looks like it but reality suck heheh but trying my best

Haha, good luck and godbless ma'am

very exciting at colorful pala ng buhay mo ma'am.nakakaingit kasi di ko naranasang magawa nga gusto ko noong kabataan ko..cute din ng mga alaga nyong aso ,andami nila :-)

thank you colorful but still hard especially when your dad is gone 3-4 moths a year and see him for only 1-2 months

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74