#01 How To Learn Russian - A mutual guide for the intelligent and determined student.

in #til7 years ago

Dear Steemians. This is the first in a series I'm posting to support Golos. I'm a Russophile and I'm tremendously excited about the changes Russia is experiencing.  I hope you enjoy it:

Have you just joined Golos?
Don't speak Russian?
Decided to learn?
Hard isn't it?
Even Vladimir agrees... 

I'm in the same boat. I'm an almost total beginner.
But take heart my friends, because I've been here before.
That is to say I previously taught myself another language, up to the level of professional translator, without any lessons.
I intend to do it again with Russian, and I'm happy to share the experience with any of you who want to join in. 

Before I continue I should clarify. I am going to show you practical tips which, if followed, should propel your language learning and keep you psychologically primed. This generally isn't the sort of advice which you're taught in lessons or courses.

Let me offer an example.

Let's take first difficulty for learning Russian as the alphabet. 

Until they try to read a foreign script most people have no idea how much work our brains do for us automatically when we read English. This part of our brain is like a smoothly oiled engine, running perfectly without noise or resistance.

In contrast, when a newbie to Russian looks at a Russian word, things in the brain begin to seize up. A new part of the mind, with the efficiency of a granite millstone being dragged through a swamp, is put to use. Very quickly the effort is translated into tension. This leads to fatigue. Things slow down and eventually many people give up.

Courses generally don't focus on this. My advice is a bit different.

To read Russian script comfortably you have to do the hard work of forcing new neural pathways. It will take time.The millstone has to get through the swamp. There is no way around it. To learn Russian you have to spend some time staring at squiggly words whilst nursing a headache. Why do you think Russians smile so infrequently? Because the poor creatures are having to THINK in Russian 24/7! 

That last part is not strictly true. However you do have to drag the millstone back and forth through the swamp. But there's nothing stopping you from doing a tiny bit each day. And each day it will become a tiny bit easier.

Here's how I'm approaching it:Learn the Russian alphabet.
Here it is: 

And here's a link to the alphabet with sounds provided by @Mughat

http://www.russianforeveryone.com/RufeA/Lessons/Introduction/Alphabet/Alphabet.htm

If you're intelligent you should be able to master this in an evening.

Then, using google translate, pick 5 Steemit tags and translate them into Russian. Read them phonetically. Do more if you feel like.
The next day try again. Read 10 tags.
If you've forgotten any of the Russian alphabet, learn it again. It'll be easier this time.
The next day read ALL of the tags.
If you've forgotten any of the Russian alphabet, learn it again, but notice that you're forgetting less.And already you'll have begun to build the foundations for easier recognition of the Russian script. Your brain will slowly prepare itself to do a share of the work for you.Mastery is simply a question of hours invested. 

More text time....

Sort:  

Как же они жили без Русского... Не завидую=))

Бедняги ! Пусть учат ! Скоро он у них станет государственным и основным ! :))

Это мы-то редко улыбаемся ??? :)

Yes I think so. I was under the impression that smiling in public without reason was a sign of madness in Russia. No?

Нет , вы ошибаетесь ! С каждым годом , мы улыбаемся всё чаще ! Особенно сейчас ! Благодаря умному и грамотному президенту Путину , и санкциям США и западных стран , уровень жизни в России очень сильно поднялся и люди рады этому ! Россия вернула звание " Сверхдержавы " ! Поэтому нам есть отчего улыбаться и чему радоваться ! Поздравляю всех с Новым годом ! Желаю всем Мира , счастья и добра !

No , you are wrong ! Every year , we smile more often ! Especially now ! Thanks to clever and competent President Putin , and U.S. sanctions and Western countries , living standards in Russia have risen very strongly and people are happy about this ! Russia regained the title of "Superpower" ! So we have something to smile and something to rejoice ! Happy New year ! I wish you all Peace , happiness and good !

I'm glad to hear this. Putin has rescued Russia from the clutches of the western banking elite. Every year he takes more steps to purge the influence of Washington from Russian politics. I see Russia as the future for free thinking people. When Putin rewrites the constitution to give Russia control over its own central bank the economy will fly to the moon!
Happy New Year to you too!

Eh Spacyba (you get it...;))! Learning russian is also on my list ;)

HAHAHAH That moment again when I wreck my brain , how do you do it man ,

always crack me up , Russian soul must be a dark place :D ,no smiles :D
Anyway I will follow your рубрика , and use my cheats too see how much faster you learn Russian compared to me , with all my past knowledge in the field, from the mother tongue I was given.

Also I'm stealing that line keep that in mind

Mastery is simply a question of hours invested.

Upvoting and already following , Love to see you around, Gratz and Good Luck also some of those rhymes from @lucyridingmoosey rubbed off here.Maybe show her some love before she rides off :D ,.

AAAND maybe do a block on Rasputin next , just a suggestion , or Putin for that matter. I'm having laughing seizures when I try to speak in Russian don't know about your headaches, It's taxing still , but it's worth the daily dose.

Thanks for stopping by and making my day @nikflossus @glyuk

In my mind we need speaking and writing lessons , that is all it takes , for me personally I'm just warping my mind around and using old skills. And what I've picked up from listening Which is very important! ! ! But I can't translate the words to phonetics ie. my pronunciation sucks


Check meh posts and my latest 4th one :)
https://steemit.com/story/@j3dy/having-fun-on-steemit-c30-d3-week-recap-work

https://steemit.com/life/@j3dy/water-and-light-d4-challenge30-play-2

This is a fantastic post. I am new to golos and am trying to learn. Will follow these tips!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15