5 Lightning Quick Thrifting Flips For An Easy 7x In Revenue - DIY Money To Keep Me Retired From The Corporate World.

in #thrifting5 years ago (edited)

These examples will show you the definition of thrift store sniping.

I share these for ideas and to inspire to help YOU make more money for more freedom.

I usually focus on recycling for profit for the bigger picture, but thrift occasionally for kicks. I score good finds with relative ease because I have a lot of experience and a trained eye. This can easily be developed with practice.

Many people say they don't have access to curbside recycling, so here's your alternative. Thrift stores are great for generating additional income if you source wisely.

During my prime, I'd hit 15-20 stores a day on foot/public transportation in my city. Yea, I know how to hustle... and that's why it paid so well.

If you just go to a few stores on a rotation each week, you can easily make a few hundred dollars in profit each month as a complete beginner. That's not too bad. Of course, your success will breed more success, and then it'll be an exciting new income stream.

Buy low, sell high.

Be confident in setting a price you feel good about and waiting for the right buyer to come along. Adjust as necessary, not because you want a quick return.


5 quick flips from some casual thrifting.

Sealed Scrabble game bought for $11, sold online for $95 in my city in under 24 hours.

Sonos media streamer bought for $5. It wasn't working, so I went home, listed it for parts, and took a nap. It sold it online for a "discounted" $75 while I was fast asleep, only 2.5 hours after buying it!

It's worth $200 if it worked, but the fuse on the motherboard was likely melted.

Sealed printer toner bought for $15, sold online in under 12 hours for $80. These almost always sell immediately if priced right.

Popular compact printer bought for $22, tested and sold for $135 in under 24 hours.

Graphing calculator bought for $11, sold for $64 in 12 hours. These sell like water and are almost like finding straight cash.


That's $64 spent to generate $449 in revenue. That's a 7x. Net profit after costs, fees and shipping was $265 for a 4.14x. That's not too exciting for me, which is why I prefer recycling for profit with $0 in costs, and more cash deals to completely avoid fees or shipping.

As you can see, some items are new, some are used, and one didn't even work. Everything has a resale price, and sometimes it can be surprising. That's why you look everything up until you get comfortable with the general items and brands you find on a regular basis.

When you find items at thrift stores, go to eBay's app and scan any barcodes in to see what it's selling for. If you filter on recently sold items, you'll see the actual prices, not what people are asking for it.


Go gettem',
@steemmatt

Sort:  

They keep on coming...

Do you ever get days when you just can't get any good finds?

I have so many examples I've lost track. When it comes to thrifting in my city these days, yes. The prices have risen quite a bit since some stores are getting pressure to hit quotas or research what they get first. Rent is high, so I get it. The goods are still there, but I get priced out when seeking 4x+ to make it worth my time. I have to really look for mistake. I don't thrift much these days, but do drop in a few stores when passing by.

For curb recycling, I almost never get shut out. The only time it's a goose egg would be when it's raining and most of the stuff gets soaked/destroyed to thin out the crop of potential things I could sell.

Check out this crazy post from last week. You won't believe it.

It is incredible what you find. Those gold plated cups were particularly cool.

I think you need some Excel graphs to show off your growing finds... 😃

Given how cheap printers seems to be to buy new (often cheaper to buy a new printer than a replacement ink cartridge) here in Australia, I am shocked at just how well you do out of printers.

Every printer has its own quality/features/benefits. Generally speaking it's nuts. for certain printers, so people will spend $90 on a new print head, when the entire used printer sells for $30 more.

From an environmental waste aspect, I think the printer manufacturers have a lot to answer for. When consumables are priced such that the printer itself, for most people, becomes disposable, surely that has to raise red flags.

Tell me about it. Ironically, I'm currently listing a 60 pound printer that has meltable ink cubes in it I can't retrieve that are probably worth $75 right there, yet the printer with an error will probably only sell for $175 for parts. If it worked, it sells used for $600 with free shipping.

Hi, @steemmatt

Thank you for using the #diy. This post has been rewarded by @build-it.curator with BUILD tokens in the form of an upvote. Build-it is a new tribe on the steem blockchain that serves as a central hub for DIY contents on steemit.

We encourage steemians to post their DIY articles via our website. Have a question? Join us on Discord and telegram

This project is run and supported by our witness @gulfwaves.net. If you like what we do, vote for us as a witness on the steem blockchain.

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!! Keep up with the dorky content for more love!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65174.92
ETH 3530.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51