You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Goodwill Outlet Income Experiment - Thrifting, Picking, & Finding Profit Day 30 - The End.

in #thrifting6 years ago

That's an insane amount of stuff to get in one day @getonthetrain.

Why oh why would someone buy Corel Draw? I would never think to buy that and sell it on.

Glad to see you found some more dice. Do you have enough now to sell in a job lot?

I've really enjoyed watching you do this, despite only getting in at the end. Do you have another project up your sleeve?

Have a fun day! 😊

Sort:  

People buy the darndest things. Were you around when I got the huge lot of vintage computer software that nearly all sold overnight?

I'll have to gather all the dice and see. Oh, and my next project is taking care of crap around the house!

Ha, ha, ha @getonthetrain. I'm not sure I so interested in the "taking care of crap around the house" project. When I first started on Steemit (last December) for some reason, I was inspired to do a lot of deluttering which was great and gave me something to post about. Sadly, it seemed to fizzle out. 😂

I wasn't around when you sold the vintage software. Vintage games I can understand because there's a nostalgia element, but software? I just don't get that at all! 😁

Thanks for the links @getonthetrain. I still find that really bizarre. Maybe collectors buy it thinking it will appreciate in value rather than having a use for it. Especially that IBM stuff.

You had a great haul that day. I think your thrift shops are better than our charity shops. It's mostly old tatt here. I used to be able to buy old Lexicon games and Scrabble games with wooden tiles but people caught onto their value and I haven't seen either for a couple of years. 😢

Yeah, British charity shops certainly aren't as good as the thrift shops here.

Though I did pick up a large collection of Warhammer figurines from the British Heart Foundation store.

My best find was at another charity shop though, I can't remember which one. I was buying a Charles Tyrwhitt shirt and noticed two rings behind the cashier. I asked if they were for sale and if I could see them. They were both chunky 18k gold rings. I asked how much, and she said 5 pounds each. So of course I now own those. 😀

Wow. Good finds @getonthetrain. I think the big charities must have professional "checkers" nowadays so the valuable stuff isn't often sold in the shops.

The best stuff I've bought has been stuff for the kids, especially after Christmas!

Since I've stopped doing much crafty stuff i look less nowadays although, I find, they are still very good for leather handbags! 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66618.20
ETH 3498.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63