Goodwill Outlet Income Experiment - Thrifting, Picking, & Finding Profit Day 16 - Vintage Software!

in #thrifting6 years ago (edited)

Adventures in thrifting income from the pay per pound Goodwill - Day 16.

Well, today was a busy day! I had to work a 12 hr shift, but I was able to take a longer than normal lunch. During that time I drove home (I only live a few minutes from work) and continued to judge the submissions to my @steemitbasicincome contest.

I had hoped to finish the judging on Sunday, but during the time I allocated towards that effort was the time that Steemit wanted to take a nap. Oh well, I should have time tomorrow to finish the judging and proclaim the top 10 winners!

Due to me working longer hours today, I only got to the Goodwill Outlet with 45 minutes to search. That is about half my normal time spent pickin', give or take. Let's see what I managed to find in that time!

Today is April 2nd and it is day 16. Let's see what I found this Monday.


IMG_5627.JPG

Pretty much all media! My favorite stuff to dig through. I'm only keeping the PC game Dark Star One. That is because I didn't waste time checking what it sells for on eBay, I just tossed it in my cart. It doesn't sell for much, but it is ok, it now has a home.

I bet you notice all that old computer software. Am I crazy or what? Who would want that stuff? Hold on, first things first.


IMG_5628.JPG

Let's see here. I found some real estate investing courses, those are usually good sellers. There is another Beach Body DVD set, this time Tai Cheng. A big box vintage PC game, Comanche.

Oh, and a couple CD/DVD sets from Joel Osteen. Man, he really fucked up not allowing people shelter during the Texas floods back in September. His stuff still sells, although slower and not for much.


IMG_5629.JPG

Wow, this is some old stuff. Before Windows 95.

This is IBM's operating system that basically lost to Microsoft. AND they are super heavy because they are full of manuals and stuff. So why did I buy it?

Well, I am seeing that there are now serious vintage computer geeks out there. People running old systems from the 80's and 90's - and they need/want this stuff.

And while it might be heavy, this qualifies for the special Post Office media mail rate.


IMG_5631.JPG

Some more old software. But WTF is that - AMISH software? But the Amish don't use computers. Is it a joke software - a gag? A quick search of google just says that the software has been abandoned by the developer. Plus, it is still sealed so I can't snoop around in the contents.

Oh well, maybe someone wants this. It is rare after all.


IMG_5632.JPG

This is just a box of K'Nex parts. Maybe it is the whole set, I don't know. But, like Lego, K'NEX can be sold by the pound.


Sales!

Sales Day 16.jpg

Another big day of sales. All the smaller stuff is adding up.

Plus I had another instant sale, that real estate investing course. The second Beach Body Insanity that I got yesterday is gone now too.

A few more bits and pieces, but let's talk about the car radio. Man I F'd up again. I really, really, thought I put $12.95 shipping on it. It sold without any additional shipping and I ended up losing a bit of money. That shipping was going to be the profit on my end.

I lost 73 cents. I'm a dumbass...


Day 16 Totals

  • Total Spent Today: $27.92

  • Running Total Spent: $277.80

  • Total Listed Price Today: $337.85

  • Running Total Listed Price: $3374.76

  • Total Sales: $886.60

  • Total Profit: $519.85

As always, tomorrow is a new day and a new thrift!

Follow me to see how much I can earn in one month from the Goodwill Outlet.

Sort:  

You already have broken the half way mark, and there are more and more items on ebay. So the chances for a sale are increasing.
Darned I did miss your SBI contest, lots of catching up to do. It is something which will fit you! I also had a sbi contest last friday with reaction than I could imagine, due to being Easter and so I did decide to sponsor an SBI share to all contenders! Will take a while before I do have enough Steem to sponser them all!
Edit: I did see the contest. Oeps

Oh, that's great that you also had a contest for SBI.

Yep, really wanted you to get in. But because I like your posts about money so much and it’s fits your idealistics I have added you to me lists of people to sponsors!
It make take 2 weeks before I do have enough Steem to sponsor the complete list but you will get one!
Edit: I don’t even know if you are following me . But I don’t require it! I prefer that people do follow me voluntarily!

Aw shucks, thanks :P

I did sponsor you a share! Enjoy it!

Looks like some pretty cool stuff @getonthetrain! Good luck with your sales, they are really adding up!

Thanks, JB! I always invest my hustle money. This will all be going towards a silver investment.

working 12 hours is certainly a lot man, what is your job?

And what is that basic income contest you mentioned?

That k'nex item will surely be easy to sell, it could also be a gift if you have young family members

Aircraft mechanic. The contest was announced about a week back. You can see it in my blog.

Yeah, the K'NEX could always be a fun gift to my kids when they are older.

I'd really like to know what that Amish software is :D

Haha, me too. I guess we will never know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66618.20
ETH 3498.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63