Goodwill Outlet Income Experiment - Thrifting, Picking, & Finding Profit Day 17 - Sales Bonanza!

in #thrifting6 years ago (edited)

Adventures in thrifting income from the pay per pound Goodwill - Day 17.

It was a little bit busier than normal at the Outlet today. I saw at least three 'Pros' digging through the bins. When I see that, I try to figure out which way they are heading down the bins and jump ahead of them to get 'first dibs.'

I mean it is a dog eat dog place, you gotta claim your territory.

Today is April 3rd and it is day 17. Let's see what I found this Tuesday.


IMG_5734.JPG

Nothing for me today, everything is for selling.

Look! Another of those Masterpiece board games, this one the more modern version from 1996. Also another manual crank pencil sharpener, which is a decent find as they are making a comeback.

And one more NERF gun for the big lot I am collecting for.


IMG_5735.JPG

Some low volume items, except for the DeLORME Topographic map software. If you see this stuff, grab it - even if it is older. I've found a few of these in the past and they always sell.


IMG_5736.JPG

The Masterpiece board game. Last time I forgot to add shipping, not this time. I just jacked up the price and put in free shipping like I normally do.


IMG_5737.JPG

Even though these are cassettes, they still sell. I've had a few of these Pimsleur language learning courses on cassettes before and made good money from them. As a bonus, they can be shipped media mail which really saves you money on shipping.


IMG_5738.JPG

This is probably the most interesting thing I found today. I think these College pennants are pretty neat. What do you guys think about them?


Sales!

Sales Day 17.jpg

Do you remember yesterday when I found all those old software stuff? And I said it was a hustle that very few people know about? So I am always happy to see this stuff, as someone, somewhere will want it?

Just take a look at these sales today! 11 items, mostly that old software. HUGE supply/demand imbalance. I think most people at home don't know the value and just toss this stuff in the trash.

Money can be found in the strangest of items.

Other things that sold are the 14 packets of goose biot feathers, a remote, a pencil sharpener (good thing I found another), the real estate investing CD/DVD's, the big box Comanche PC game, and the Beach BodyTai Cheng DVD set.


Day 17 Totals

  • Total Spent Today: $9.75

  • Running Total Spent: $287.55

  • Total Listed Price Today: $167.86

  • Running Total Listed Price: $3542.62

  • Total Sales: $1151.45

  • Total Profit: $694.63

As always, tomorrow is a new day and a new thrift!

Follow me to see how much I can earn in one month from the Goodwill Outlet.

Sort:  

I see you are trying to corner the market on Masterpiece.

The feathers sold? What was your asking price?

And that OS2 stuff is rare. Its as if it never existed.
You can still find many of the DOS games.

The feathers sold at a bargain $19.99. 😊

A bunch of people - each one I sold went to someone different. It wasn't just one person buying them all up.

Vintage tech operation is becoming a much larger hobby. So it isn't just software, hardware is in demand too.

I guess someone really needed some amish software. Although, you probably should've framed it and hung it over your desk. Would've been badass. Although these days I would be concerned someone would find something offensive about it, so then again not a good idea.

It's ok to poke fun at the Amish online - they shouldn't ever see it!

Yeah those College pennants are looking really nice.

I also saw an age of empires expansion CD, old game, but one of the best of its kind without doubt.

I recently installed Civilization VI and its great, although a bit different than AoE

I haven't got around to civ 6 yet - too busy hustling!

This Goodwill store gives you a rush, and is kind of intense, but you can leave with some treasures for a cheap price!

You got that right - thrift on!

That Nerf gun you bought is a really good one. One of my sons has it! Can really hurt 😁
You were capable of selling that Amish thingy? Great!
Like I told you the bigger your store the more chance on selling items.
Aren’t you a pro yourself at this point?

I thought I was a pro already?!

Then we agree on the fact that you are a pro from now on! I will grant you this title 😂😂👊

@getonthetrain You are just Killin' it......Thank You for sharing all of these Jewels for those that are paying attention......................

I am a wealth of knowledge! 😉

As you said that you were busier. Two hour ago i search you but i didn't find your post yet.I was worry somthing happened with you. And I missed your post. When i see your post I am happy. Oh, @getonthetrain was so busy that he can't post at his time post.
And I know you will be a winner, cause your concistency to thrifting ang post on steemit, As steemian I am so glad to know that your thrifting always make money...
SWEET SELLING, GREAT POST

I got a lot to do before I post!

I have to work all day. Then get home and change for thrifting. Drive there (20 min each way) and search for profitable stuff. Then clean, photograph, research, and list all the items on eBay. Then pack all the sales. Then I can make my Steemit post. 😛

I see. you do everything about thrifting after your main job.

I typically walk right past the software at the thrift store. No more, now that I know there is a market for the old stuff. Good stuff!!!

Check out what Windows 1.0 sells for!

Amazing!! I had no idea those old technology items would sell well. I will keep my eyes peeled for things like this and see if I can turn a profit as well!

It's an up and coming hobby - vintage tech!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66824.20
ETH 3503.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62