Why Do So Many Steemians Feel The Need To Insult Others? Cyber Bullies, Please Grow Up.

in #thoughts5 years ago (edited)


Whether directly or indirectly, I generally view insulting others as a repulsive sign of weakness. I also see it as projection of one's unhappiness on others for temporary relief or superiority that does no good for anyone.

After witnessing a few toxic Steemian conversations recently (and over the years), I wanted to post this to get my thoughts out on the table. This is mainly to spread this important message, and also to create space for the positivity that should be there.



Is Steem a breeding grounds for cyber bullying?


Stop The Bullsh*t

I rarely find the need to insult anyone. If I do, it's almost always going to be in my defense, somewhat in jest, and I usually regret it later. I get nothing from it. I also know how to apologize if someone's feelings got hurt. I'm not special, but I generally don't feel the impulse or need to bring others down, whether it's to their face, or behind their backs. I get my happiness from within, not from projection or trying to force my opinions down people's throats until they cave just so I feel "right."

When I see behavior like this on Steem or in its affiliated chat rooms, this bothers me a great deal. I don't enjoy seeing miserable people hiding behind their screens talking trash, especially when I know they'd never have the balls or ability to do it in person. Ironically, many are "anonymous avatars." While trolls exist, I'm not just talking about them. It's the people who feel comfortable putting others down and mocking them, insulting them directly or subtly, and being sarcastic and verbally/emotionally abusive. God, that's all so lame. What cowards.

Social media has made it all too easy for the abusive or socially inept to act this way from behind their curtains. There are no repercussions. There are few ways to combat it. It's spun into entertainment and fun to get other impressionable people involved. This toxic influence irks me to no end.

While arguments and normal teasing happen, it takes an exceptionally weak person to consistently put others down and/or make fun of them. This is a blockchain, yet some people treat it like freshman year of high school. The bullying, the gossiping, the drama, the immaturity... This is not Jerry Springer. Get some class and respect! As I learn more, some of these Steemians are actually embarrassing to know in hindsight, especially since I'd never associate with them in person.

In the real world, people would get an ass whooping for this behavior. Steem has developed some cyber bullies: some with faces, some with avatars, some guys, girls, and maybe some AI... All of them repulse me, especially when they try to normalize their behavior by bringing others into the discussions. The two-facedness of some between their public persona and off-chain activity makes my skin crawl, but I try to take the high road.


To those who may fit this bill, please work on yourselves if it's that hard to be a balanced and positive human being who respects themselves and others. Bringing others down and encouraging your buddies to join in really has no place here.

Meanwhile, nice stable people are forced to witness this garbage, and the bad energy doesn't help anyone. To this lot, please don't be afraid to stand up for what's right and protect people who are getting bashed or abused here.

If you have a problem with someone or something, have a direct chat about it, or pick up your damn phone like an adult and call them. Stop hiding behind your walls.

Please spare the Steem blockchain or chat rooms from your issues and negativity. Do us a favor and find some inner happiness so you stop seeking it at the expense of others.


I needed to vent on this tonight. Some people act like they wear a halo or are God's gift to Steem, but I'm not so sure they realize how transparent their act is.

@steemmatt


It's all about respect. Respect yourself and it'll be fairly easy to respect others.

Sort:  

I went all ghetto, wit da clapping hands on stomping feet on ery syllable! Say 👏 it 👏 to 👏 my 👏 face 👏

Hahaha. Now that's the feedback I was looking for.

Great point of view and vent buddy. Lately its the downvoters that I have found to be hard line individuals trying to force you to do their way of posting.

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad you could relate and I'm not alone! Safety in numbers!!

I agree, however some people deserve to be called out and have justly earned what can come across as insult. It seems to me that part of the problem we have in society now is no matter the degradation or amount of parasitic behavior going on around us, we are expected to tolerate and embrace it.

One of the assets of the community is its ability to correct behavior damaging to its members.

It's all about respect. Respect yourself and it'll be fairly easy to respect others.

Respect is earned (as is disdain).

I didn't think of it this way. Thanks for an alternate point of view, especially the disdain line.

I just avoid certain rooms and/or conversations right now - it's not worth it, some groups are just there to reinforce each others trolling and there's nothing you can say or they'll make you their laughing stock :-)

Great post, needed to be said <3

Hiding behind a keyboard empowers people it seems. I don't think it's isolated to steem alone. It's pathetic.

Posted using Partiko Android

You're right x3. I don't really use other social media, so my focus is on this platform and the chats for now. With Steem though, it's mind-numbing how people can act so foolish, sensitive and childish here. I hope it's not a reflection on the direction society is moving as a whole, because that'd be terrifying.

Many feel that their bullying of others increases self-worth or value and makes them seem funnier, more intelligent, interesting or whatever...What it makes them look like is insecure wankers. But they'd never see that in themselves.

Unfortunately I believe it's the way many in society are moving. I don't know why. Ego and hubris possibly.

Totally agree.

If you wouldn't say it to someone's face, then don't say it at all...

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @eonwarped.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Fuck sake Matt, I will kill you. You elephantine leaf!!

Could the audience at large please let me know if an "elephantine leaf" is a compliment or diss?

I think in tree circles it's very complimentary... :0D

Cool, at first it seemed like you were barking at me.

Oh!! Oh!!! I see what you did there!!!!! :0D

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43