You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If I was a rambling man

in #thoughts5 years ago

Investing into socks on the hope a company will do well is quite different to investing into building a business in the hope that the work pays off.

I suppose you wanted mean stocks. But yeah! like a veteran gambler I like socks better. LoL

Sort:  

lol.. I have edited now. I am not great typing on my phone...

All good my friend!! :)

Alright, now seriously. Great post taraz, one more of yours with which I can identify myself a lot.

Maybe this is the other reason I don't gamble. I trust myself more than I trust leaving it all up to chance.

I've already said this so many times before, somewhere, that as for pure luck or chance leaving it all in the hands of the 'providence' to win something, I am one of those that if I was purchasing the 99 tickets from a checkbook of only 100 numbers in a raffle, I have no doubts whatsoever that the wining number would be the one printed that stayed sticked in the checkbook that I didn't purchased. Go figure!! :)

Therefore I concur with you, and it's a winner bet that both you and me have never really been in a position with available extra cash where we'd be willing to put a bet on and happily lose it. Simply, because we have never had anything left over in life as to risk it irresponsibly. :)

And yet, none of that has prevented me from becoming a formidable gambler. For example as a professional pool player. Or even, as an occasionally 'awake & alert' poker player sometimes. And also the closer activities to pure luck outcomes to put bets on horse's races long time ago when I was young and horse racing was a national 'sport' over here in my country. ;)

But yeah, all those witty gambler's shenanigans in me, always have had something in common. I always had some tool to play in my favor. Whether it was a bit of human psychology knowledge or authentic mechanical skills like an unique technique to play pool or a whole lot of patience and math knowledge to decipher beforehand the book statistics of each and every horse in a race to make my bets. I never could afford delegate my luck only and exclusively to the blind providence. };)

On other hand, seems like the automatic corrector in your phone made a splendid job adding some embellishment and rich 'cryptography' similar as mine on your regular prose on this post. That in my opinion, although it has always been otherwise intelligible, I bet it has not always been easy to sink the tooth so easily with the tiny teeth of our brains from time to time. Hehehehe

Cheers!! :)

I have no doubts whatsoever that the wining number would be the one printed that stayed sticked in the checkbook that I didn't purchased. Go figure!!

I don't think I have ever won anything from a ticket bought. =)

Simply, because we have never had anything left over in life as to risk it irresponsibly. :)

All gone to the essentials, booze and women.

I always had some tool to play in my favor. Whether it was a bit of human psychology knowledge or authentic mechanical skills like an unique technique to play pool or a whole lot of patience and math knowledge to decipher beforehand the book statistics of each and every horse in a race to make my bets. I never could afford delegate my luck only and exclusively to the blind providence.

This is the thing, having a learnable tool is a different thing, then there is a skill too.

one day I will win the lottery... then get hit by a bus the next day.

I don't think I have ever won anything from a ticket bought. =)

And as someone old enough that is already ahead in your future, standing at a distance of more than half of the years that you've already been wandering until now in your whole life. I can assure you, that is not gonna change!! };)

All gone to the essentials, booze and women.

And the occasional box of chocolates to lure those succulent females to share those elixirs of youth tightly together with us. LoL

This is the thing, having a learnable tool is a different thing, then there is a skill too.

Exactly!! as far as games of pure luck go, if you don't have at your disposal a whole bag of tricks under your sleeve, it's game over. ;o)

one day I will win the lottery... then get hit by a bus the next day.

Knowing us so well... without a doubt my dear friend!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64081.52
ETH 3398.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62